Health & Medicine : Hematology

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Hematology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Hematology

Clinical Key Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalkey.com
  
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult
Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult)

Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates
  
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Journals

Journals for Hematology

Browse Journals on Hematology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD006405
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Hematology

AMA Doctor Finder
https://extapps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/
  
A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.

American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who’s Certified
https://www.abms.org/WC/login.aspx
  
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.

Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical Medicine
http://clinicalcases.blogspot.com/
  
Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.

Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor’s Guide Global Edition
http://www.docguide.com/crc.nsf/web-bySpec
  
Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.

DailyMed
http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm
  


Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp
  
[more]

HEAL – Health Education Assets Library
http://www.healcentral.org/
  
A prototype medical education multimedia collection of over 2,000 images, audio clips and video clips covering dermatology, histology, hematology, ObGyn, neuroanatomy, neurology, pathology, biochemistry, and cardiology, Developed with funding from the National Library of Medicine and the National Science Foundation, it is based on digital content contributed by various medical schools, including UCLA, the University of Utah, and the University of Oklahoma. Free registration required.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

Springer Images
http://www.springerimages.com/imagesMD/
  
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Hematology

Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory Examinations
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=cm.TOC&depth=2
  
3rd ed, 1990. A PDA version is also available.

Diagnosaurus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/diag.aspx
  
A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]

Harrison’s Manual of Medicine
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&prodId=GVRL&eisbn=9780071476829&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&version=1.0
  
A concise companion to Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine.

Harrisons Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=4
  
Also Known as: Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine
[more]

Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Hoffman:+Hematology:+Basic+Principles+and+Practice
  


Lichtman’s Atlas of Hematology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=99
  


Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
http://www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html
  
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.

Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=676
  
A concise full color review of the mechanisms of blood diseases and disorders based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course. Hematological Pathophysiology is a well illustrated, easy to absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. Authored by world renowned clinician educators at Harvard Medical School, Hematological Pathophysiology features content and organization based on a hematology course offered to second year students at that schoo.l The book is logically divided into four sections: Anemias and Disorders of the Red Blood Cell; Disorders of Hemostasis and Thrombosis; Disorders of Leukocytes; and Transfusion Medicine.

UCSF Hospitalist Handbook
http://www.meistermed.com/isilodepot/isilodocs/isilodoc_s_ucsf_hospitalist_handbook.htm
  
[more]

UpToDate Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://library.muhealth.org/mainSearch/UpToDate/UTD_IPcheck.php
  
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women’s Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.

Williams Hematology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=69
  


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog