Health & Medicine : Gastroenterology

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Gastroenterology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Gastroenterology

Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates
  
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Journals

Journals for Gastroenterology

Browse Journals on Gastroenterology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD005762
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Gastroenterology

AMA Doctor Finder
https://extapps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/
  
A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.

American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who’s Certified
https://www.abms.org/WC/login.aspx
  
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.

Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical Medicine
http://clinicalcases.blogspot.com/
  
Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.

Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor’s Guide Global Edition
http://www.docguide.com/crc.nsf/web-bySpec
  
Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.

DailyMed
http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm
  


Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp
  
[more]

LiverTox
http://livertox.nih.gov/
  
Also Known as: liver tox
Provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements. Also includes a case registry that will enable scientific analysis and better characterization of the clinical patterns of liver injury. Registered users can also submit case reports to the registry.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

Practice Guidelines: American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases
http://www.aasld.org/practiceguidelines/Pages/default.aspx
  
Also Known as: aasld guidelines ; liver guidelines
Recommended for PBL Block 7.

Springer Images
http://www.springerimages.com/imagesMD/
  
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.

Who Named It?
http://www.whonamedit.com/index.cfm
  
An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Gastroenterology

Clinical Evidence Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalevidence.com/ceweb/index.jsp
  
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.

Current Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Endoscopy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=390
  
Also Known as: Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Endoscopy


Diagnosaurus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/diag.aspx
  
A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]

DynaMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?eou=aHR0cDovL3NlYXJjaC5lYnNjb2hvc3QuY29tL2xvZ2luLmFzcHg_YXV0aHR5cGU9aXAmYW1wO2N1c3RpZD1zODk0NjEzNCZhbXA7cHJvZmlsZT1keW5hbWVkPEJSPjxCUj5UaGlzIFVSTCB3aWxsIGhhdmUgdGhlIHVzZXIgbG9nIGludG8gdGhlIG1haW4gcHJveHkgYnV0IHJlZGlyZWN0IHRoZSB1c2VyIHRvIHRoZSBIZWFsdGggU2NpZW5jZXMgTGlicmFyeSBmb3IgYWNjZXNzIHRvIER5bmFtZWQuIDxCUj48QlI-UGxlYXNlIA**&url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&custid=s8946134&profile=dynamed
  
Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]

Gastrointestinal Physiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110067224
  
Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 2.

Harrison’s Manual of Medicine
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&prodId=GVRL&eisbn=9780071476829&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&version=1.0
  
A concise companion to Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine.

Harrisons Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=4
  
Also Known as: Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine
[more]

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
http://www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html
  
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.

Molecular Diagnositcs and Treament of Pancreatic Cancer Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120067592
  


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090393630
  
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy; Netter’s Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy; Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy


Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20091645214
  


Sleisenger & Fordtran’s Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120031663
  
Also Known as: Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease


STAT!-REF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=MU
  
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]

Teaching Files: Gastrointestinal Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090382549
  
Also Known as: The Teaching Files: Gastrointestinal; Gastrointestinal


UCSF Hospitalist Handbook
http://www.meistermed.com/isilodepot/isilodocs/isilodoc_s_ucsf_hospitalist_handbook.htm
  
[more]

UpToDate Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://library.muhealth.org/mainSearch/UpToDate/UTD_IPcheck.php
  
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women’s Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.

Zakim & Boyer’s Hepatology: A Textbook of Liver Disease Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2009039323X
  
Also Known as: Hepatology; Textbook of Liver Disease; Boyer’s Hepatology


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog