Health & Medicine : Family Practice

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Caryn Scoville

Caryn Scoville
(573) 882-2844
scovillec@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Family Practice

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Family Practice

ClinicalKey Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://library.muhealth.org/includes/pushClinicalKey.php
  
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult ; clinical key
Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult). Preview the new version of ClinicalKey, which will go live on Tuesday, September 23.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=easy&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=coch
  
Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on “Topic Review” to see the related Cochrane review. [more]

Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates
  
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]

HSRR – Health Service and Sciences Research Resources
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/nichsr/hsrr_search/
  
Contains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

UK National Electronic Library for Health NeLH Guidelines Finder
https://www.evidence.nhs.uk/
  
From the United Kingdon National Health Service. Search over 600 UK national guidelines, often with links to the complete text. Developed in collaboration with SEEK, the Sheffield Evidence for Effectiveness and Knowledge. [more]

Books and E-Books

Journals

Journals for Family Practice

Browse Journals on Family Practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD011320
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Family Practice

Clinical Knowledge Summaries from the U.K. National Health Service
http://cks.nice.org.uk/
  
Also Known as: PRODIGY ; CKS
Practical advice on managing common conditions in primary care from the United Kingdom National Health Service. Alongside practical, specific suggestions on patient management are links to evidence from Cochrane and NICE guidelines and systematic reviews. Emphasizes practical clinical “pearls” with links to evidence. Notes when there is a paucity of good quality evidence.

DailyMed
http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm
  


MedEDPORTAL
https://www.mededportal.org/
  
Hundreds of faculty-developed, peer reviewed resources to support medical education. From the Association of American Medical Colleges. Free registration required.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

MoRx Price Compare
http://www.morxcompare.com/MoRxPriceCompare/Default.aspx
  
Also Known as: missouri rx price compare ; mo drug prices compare ;
Type in up to six drugs at a time, choose a Missouri county or ZIP code, and compare prices at nearby pharmacies. The prices, derived from retail prices reported by the pharmacies and from Medicaid claims, reflect what an uninsured customer with no discount or supplementary insurance would normally pay.

New Cochrane Reviews
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=titles&D=coch&SEARCH=new.uf.+and+systematic+review.pt.&NEWS=N
  
New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

POEMs
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=titles&D=ovft&SEARCH=POEMS.DT.+and+00004790-$.an.
  
Collected reviews from the Journal of Family Practice Journal Club. Each month, the JFP Journal Club applies the principles of evidence-based medicine to select 8 of the most clinically applicable articles from over 90 journals in every clinical specialty.

PubMed Clinical Q&A
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/bookshelf/br.fcgi?book=ebm
  
Also Known as: Pubmed Clinical Q & A; Pubmed clinical questions & answers
Provides evidence based answers to common clinical questions. Currently the focus is on comparing classes of drugs in the treatment of common conditions such as hypertension, ADHD, asthma, hyperlipidemia, Alzheimer’s, pain, and more.

Self Care Flowcharts
http://familydoctor.org/online/famdocen/home/tools/symptom.html
  
These flowcharts from the American Academy of Family Physicians guide patients and healthcare consumers through common medical problems such as headache, fever, nausea etc.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Family Practice

Books@Ovid
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&NEWS=N&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&D=baov&
  
A collection of major medical, nursing and pharmacy reference texts. Titles can be searched individually or as a whole.

Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory Examinations
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=cm.TOC&depth=2
  
3rd ed, 1990. A PDA version is also available.

Color Atlas of Family Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=678
  


Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=377
  


Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=502
  
Also Known as: Practice guidelines in Primary Care;Guidelines in primary care
Listed under the Guidelines tab in AccessMedicine.

DeGowin’s Diagnostic Examination Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=534
  


Diagnosaurus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/diag.aspx
  
A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]

DynaMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?eou=aHR0cDovL3NlYXJjaC5lYnNjb2hvc3QuY29tL2xvZ2luLmFzcHg_YXV0aHR5cGU9aXAmYW1wO2N1c3RpZD1zODk0NjEzNCZhbXA7cHJvZmlsZT1keW5hbWVkPEJSPjxCUj5UaGlzIFVSTCB3aWxsIGhhdmUgdGhlIHVzZXIgbG9nIGludG8gdGhlIG1haW4gcHJveHkgYnV0IHJlZGlyZWN0IHRoZSB1c2VyIHRvIHRoZSBIZWFsdGggU2NpZW5jZXMgTGlicmFyeSBmb3IgYWNjZXNzIHRvIER5bmFtZWQuIDxCUj48QlI-UGxlYXNlIA**&url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&custid=s8946134&profile=dynamed
  
Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]

Family Medicine Principles & Practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=32
  
The book’s goal is to cover at least 90% of the problems that a generalist encounters in daily practice.

Harrisons Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=4
  
Also Known as: Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine
[more]

Lexi-Interact Online Drug Interactions Program Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://www.uptodate.com/contents/drug-interaction
  
A service of UpToDate, provided by the Lexi-Comp company. Enter a list of drugs to identify potential interactions, or list all potential interactions for a given drug or herb. Results can be filtered by level of risk rating if desired. After logging into UpToDate and accepting the license agreement, Click on Launch Lexi-Interact drug interactions program.

Pfenninger and Fowler’s Procedures for Primary Care Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090498660
  
Also Known as: Procedures for Primary Care; Pfenninger’s Procedures for Primary Care


Primary Care Medicine ( Goroll ) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&NEWS=n&PAGE=booktext&D=books&SC=00140049
  


Signs and Symptoms in Family Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090365514
  


STAT!-REF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=MU
  
A library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. Includes STAT!-Study, a collection of multiple choice questions in physiology and toxicology for self-study and Board preparation. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]

Textbook of Family Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Rakel:+Textbook+of+Family+Medicine
  
Also Known as: Textbook of Family Practice


UpToDate Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://library.muhealth.org/mainSearch/UpToDate/UTD_IPcheck.php
  
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine, Women’s Health, and Psychiatry. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.

E-Books

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog