Health & Medicine : Ethics

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Caryn Scoville

Caryn Scoville
(573) 882-2844
scovillec@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Ethics, Medical

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Ethics, Medical

BELIT – Bioethics Literature Database
http://www.drze.de/BELIT
  
Search over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en éthique des sciences de la vie et de la santé, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris). [more]

CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher
  
Each week, CQ Researcher writes a detailed, 20+ page analysis of “hot issue” from the news. Each analysis includes pro/con and an annotated bibliography. Many bioethics topics are included, such as embryo research, women’s health, Medicare reform, and many more. [more]

ETHXWeb Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://bioethics.georgetown.edu/databases/ethxweb/index.html
  
Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline. [more]

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=GVRL
  
Search every word in over 200 encyclopedias and reference books covering all disciplines, including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics, the Encyclopedia of Cancer, the Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, The Encyclopedia of Sociology, and many more. A complete list of titles can be found here. The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italianb, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation Database
http://www.genome.gov/PolicyEthics/LegDatabase/pubsearch.cfm
  
Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. Search by state, keyword, or broad subject, including privary, discrimination, commercialization, screening, and more. [more]

Philosopher’s Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/philosophersindex/advanced?accountid=14576
  
Covers books and 300 philosophy journals on aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics; as well as the philosophies of various disciplines, such as medicine, education, history, law, religion and science. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Journals

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Ethics, Medical

Clinical Ethics: A Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=90
  


Encyclopedia of Bioethics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402599999&q=morenetuomcolum
  


Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology : Health and Illness in the World’s Cultures Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX2688799999&q=morenetuomcolum
  


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog