Health & Medicine : Epidemiology

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Caryn Scoville

Caryn Scoville
(573) 882-2844
scovillec@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Epidemiology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Epidemiology

Encyclopedia of Research Design Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412961288
  
Also Known as: Sage encyclopedia of research design
An encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed.

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.sage-ereference.com/researchdesign/
  
Also Known as: encyclopedia of qualitative research methods


Statistical Data Sets Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://data-planet.conquestsystems.com/statistical/ip
  
Also Known as: ProQuest Statistical Datasets; Pro quest; ProQuest Statistical Data Sets
Provides data visualization for more than 500 datasets from government and private industry, both domestic and international, including the Vital & Health Statistics Series, the National Cancer Institute SEER data, and the HCUP Health Care Utilization Project showing discharge statistics by disease, procedure, insurance status, and more. Emphasis is in 20th century U.S. economic data and includes diverse subjects such as health, politics, demographics, social services and environmental data. Time spans vary by topic. Charting, plotting and mapping options available. Export data into MS Excel, XML, PDF, or into shape files for GIS. [more]

Journals

Journals for Epidemiology

Browse Journals on Epidemiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD004813
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Epidemiology

National Injury Surveilliance System
http://www.cpsc.gov/en/Research–Statistics/NEISS-Injury-Data/
  
Also Known as: National electronic injury surveillance System ; NEISS ; cpsc ; consumer products safety commission injury database
National estimates of emergency room visits due to injuries associated with consumer products. Patient information is collected from each NEISS hospital for every emergency visit involving toys, vehicles, appliances, etc. From this sample, the total number of product-related injuries treated in hospital emergency rooms nationwide can be estimated. Search by product, body part affected, location of the accident, and more. [more]

SPSS and SAS via Software Anywhere Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://doit.missouri.edu/software/software-anywhere.html
  
SPSS is available to students and faculty using the software as part of their curricula as part of the DoIT Software Anywhere service. On campus users need only follow the links and enter their pawprint to connect. Off campus users need to install the VPN software.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Epidemiology

Epidemiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Gordis:+Epidemiology
  


Jekel’s Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090504424
  
Also Known as: Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health


Medical Epidemiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=12
  
Also Known as: Greenberg’s Medical Epidemiology


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog