Health & Medicine : Endocrinology

Health & Medicine : Endocrinology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Endocrinology

ClinicalKey Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalkey.com


Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult ; clinical key
Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult).


Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=easy&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=coch


Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on “Topic Review” to see the related Cochrane review. [more]


EBM Reviews – Cochrane Controlled Trials Register Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=easy&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cctr


Contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand searches by members of the Cochrane Collaboration. Over 4000 of the trials included were published prior to 1966, and therefore would not be found in MEDLINE. [more]


Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates


A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]


MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd


Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract


The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com


Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]


Journals

Journals for Endocrinology

Browse Journals on Endocrinology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD004704




Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Endocrinology

AMA Doctor Finder
https://extapps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/


A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.


American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Certification Matters
http://www.certificationmatters.org/


Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties ; who’s certified ; certification matters ; certificationmatters
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required.


Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical Medicine
http://clinicalcases.blogspot.com/


Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.


Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor’s Guide Global Edition
http://www.docguide.com/crc.nsf/web-bySpec


Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.


DailyMed
http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm




Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp




MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm


Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]


New Cochrane Reviews
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=titles&D=coch&SEARCH=new.uf.+and+systematic+review.pt.&NEWS=N


New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.


Springer Images
http://www.springerimages.com/imagesMD/


Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.


eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Endocrinology

Diagnosaurus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/diag.aspx


A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]


Endocrine Physiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=507




Endocrinology: An Integrated Approach Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=endocrin.TOC&depth=10




endotext
http://www.endotext.org/


Also Known as: endotext.org ; endo text ;


Epocrates MedTools Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.epocrates.com/products/medtools/


A variety of free add-on programs to accompany ePocrates. Currently includes a tumor staging reference, a bone health assessment tool, dosing calculators, and treatment guides for cholesterol, psychiatry, and hypertension. [more]


Greenspan’s Basic & Clinical Endocrinology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=380


Also Known as: Basic & Clinical Endocrinology


Harrison’s Manual of Medicine
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&prodId=GVRL&eisbn=9780071476829&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&version=1.0




Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=1130


Also Known as: Harrison’s Online
[more]


UCSF Hospitalist Handbook
http://www.meistermed.com/isilodepot/isilodocs/isilodoc_s_ucsf_hospitalist_handbook.htm




Williams Textbook of Endocrinology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090530966


Also Known as: Textbook of Endocrinology; Endocrinology


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu