Health & Medicine : Emergency Medicine

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Emergency Medicine

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Databases for Emergency Medicine

Clinical Key Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalkey.com
  
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult
Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult)

Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Katrina Resource Page Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro/hurricane.html
  
Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine .

Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates
  
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]

LearningExpress Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.learningexpresslibrary3.com
  
Also Known as: Learning Express Library
Online test preparation for a variety of tests, including the MCAT, GRE, TOEFL, GED, and many more. Take practice tests on a variety of subjects, including nursing, pararmedic/EMT, and other health careers. Free registration required. Available to MORENET members through an LSTA grant through September 30, 2009. [more]

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

REMM – Radiation Emergency Medical Management Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://remm.nlm.gov/
  
Also Known as: Radiation Event Medical Management
This NIH database assists health care professionals with easy to follow algorithms for diagnosis and management of radiation contamination and exposure. The site provides just-in-time, evidence-based, usable information for those without formal radiation medicine expertise. [more]

Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)
http://wiser.nlm.nih.gov/index.html
  
Also Known as: webwiser ; WISER
Designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents, WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. Contains information on 390 of the substances included in the HSDB Hazardous Substances Databank. [more]

Journals

Journals for Emergency Medicine

Browse Journals on Emergency Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://ew3dm6nd8c.search.serialssolutions.com/?V=1.0&L=EW3DM6ND8C&list=2&S=SC&C=MHD004635
  


Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Emergency Medicine

AMA Doctor Finder
https://extapps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/
  
A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.

American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who’s Certified
https://www.abms.org/WC/login.aspx
  
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.

Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor’s Guide Global Edition
http://www.docguide.com/crc.nsf/web-bySpec
  
Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/ovid/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Emergency Medicine

Atlas of Emergency Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=48
  


Bioterrorism Sourcebook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=95
  


Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com/public/book/view?title=Roberts:+Clinical+Procedures+in+Emergency+Medicine
  


Current Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=385
  
Also Known as: Current Emergency Diagnosis and Treatment; Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Emergency Medicine


Improvised medicine: providing care in extreme environments Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=666
  
Improvised Medicine is written for healthcare providers treating patients during a crisis situation or in a primitive environment, for diseases and disorders they have little or no hands-on experience with. The book begins with situational analysis and basic needs in a crisis, then moves on to cover specific triage, diagnosis, and stabilization efforts. It then provides medical interventions for surgical and non-surgical problems.

Lange Case Files Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/caseHome.aspx
  
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology


Poisoning and Drug Overdose Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=391
  


Principles of Critical Care Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=76
  


Rosen’s Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20101679059
  
Also Known as: Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice


Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=40
  
Also Known as: Emergency Medicine


UpToDate Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://library.muhealth.org/mainSearch/UpToDate/UTD_IPcheck.php
  


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog