Health & Medicine : Biochemistry/Cellular & Molecular Biology

Health & Medicine : Biochemistry/Cellular & Molecular Biology

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

  • PubMedIndex to the medical literature. Also provides access and links to NCBI’s integrated molecular biology databases.
  • SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
  • ScopusIndexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.

eBooks / Books

Databases for Articles

Databases for Biochemistry/Cellular & Molecular Biology

Science of Synthesis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.science-of-synthesis.com/prod/user/index.html


Provides comprehensive information on synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. It includes the complete backfiles of Houben Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry with references dating back to 1835. [more]


Springer Protocols Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.springerprotocols.com/


Also Known as: SpringerProtocols ; methods in molecular biology ; methods in molecular medicine ; methods in biotechnology ; neuromethods ; methods in pharmacology and toxicology
SpringerProtocols is an online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Compiling protocols from the book series Methods in Molecular Biology and other sources, SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years of tested, trusted, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in the lab. [more]


Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.scopus.com


Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]


SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder


Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 – date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. [more]


PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract


The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd


Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


PubGet Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://missouri.pubget.com


Also Known as: pub get
[more]


Journals

Journals for Biochemistry/Cellular & Molecular Biology

Browse Journals on Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://library.missouri.edu/?category=bio.biochem




Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Biochemistry/Cellular & Molecular Biology

HEAL – Health Education Assets Library
http://www.healcentral.org/


A prototype medical education multimedia collection of over 2,000 images, audio clips and video clips covering dermatology, histology, hematology, ObGyn, neuroanatomy, neurology, pathology, biochemistry, and cardiology, Developed with funding from the National Library of Medicine and the National Science Foundation, it is based on digital content contributed by various medical schools, including UCLA, the University of Utah, and the University of Oklahoma. Free registration required.


National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/


Also Known as: NCBI
Databases produced by NCBI include Entrez , OMIM , Sagemap , GeneMap and Locus Link. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources.


Protocols.io
https://www.protocols.io/


Also Known as: protocolsio ; protocols io
A freely available, open access repository of scientific methods.


eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Biochemistry/Cellular & Molecular Biology

Big Picture : Medical Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=761




Biochemistry – Stryer
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?call=bv.View..ShowTOC&rid=stryer.TOC&depth=10


5th edition. Sometimes referred to as Stryer’s Biochemistry. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.


Biochemistry Demystified Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/Doc?id=10246369




Biochemistry for Dummies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/docDetail.action?docID=10232610




Cell and Molecular Biology (Gupta), Revised edition Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/detail.action?docID=10417524


Recommended for PBL.


Cell Biology: A Short Course Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/docDetail.action?docID=10454733


A textbook of cell biology suitable for undergraduates.


Harper’s Illustrated Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=389


Also Known as: Harper’s Biochemistry


Human Biochemistry and Disease Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090602312


Also Known as: Biochemistry and Disease


Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/mrw/advanced/search?doi=10.1002/0471238961




LANGE Educational Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/qa.aspx#tab=2


Search 11 books covering all areas of basic sciences except anatomy. Includes such respected texts as Harper’s Biochemistry, Ganong’s Medical Physiology, and more. Part of AccessMedicine.


Medical Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110076986




Molecular Biology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090019862


Also Known as: Molecular Biology (Clark) Clark’s Molecular Biology


Molecular Biology of the Cell
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/bookshelf/br.fcgi?book=mboc4


The 4th edition can be searched, but not browsed online. The 5th edition and accompanying DVD are on reserve at the Health Sciences Library Circulation Desk. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.


Molecular Biology Techniques Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100671057




Principles of Medical Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090310703


Also Known as: Medical Biochemistry


Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog