Health & Medicine : Anatomy

Subject Librarians



Darell Schmick
(573) 884-3575
schmickd@health.missouri.edu

Health & Medicine : Anatomy

Core Resources

Databases for Articles

Other Resources Online

eBooks / Books

Databases for Articles

Databases for Anatomy

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Journals

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Anatomy

anatomyEXPERT
http://www.anatomyexpert.com/
  
Also Known as: anatomy expert ; anatomyexpert.com
An online atlas of human anatomy featuring 3D models, artwork, dissection photographs, cross sections, and histology images.

eSkeletons
http://www.eskeletons.org/
  
Display bones from a complete, rotating human skeleton, including information on morphology, insertions, origins, and articulations. Funded by the National Science Foundation.

HEAL – Health Education Assets Library
http://www.healcentral.org/
  
A prototype medical education multimedia collection of over 2,000 images, audio clips and video clips covering dermatology, histology, hematology, ObGyn, neuroanatomy, neurology, pathology, biochemistry, and cardiology, Developed with funding from the National Library of Medicine and the National Science Foundation, it is based on digital content contributed by various medical schools, including UCLA, the University of Utah, and the University of Oklahoma. Free registration required.

Human Anatomy Online
http://www.innerbody.com/htm/body.html
  
A site designed for consumers wishing to learn about human anatomy. Each topic contains animations, graphics, and descriptive links.

Loyola University Medical Education Network (LUMEN)
http://www.meddean.luc.edu/lumen/
  
Contains course materials in histology, gross anatomy, neuroanatomy, rheumatology, and immunology which are designed to “improve the integration of basic and clinical science curricular content”.

MedEDPORTAL
https://www.mededportal.org/
  
Hundreds of faculty-developed, peer reviewed resources to support medical education. From the Association of American Medical Colleges. Free registration required.

Medical Mnemonics
http://medicalmnemonics.com
  
A free, non-profit, searchable database of over 1000 memory aids to help students memorize anatomical, biochemical and clinical concepts. Palm and AvantGo PDA versions also available. [more]

Radiologic Anatomy Browser
http://rad.usuhs.mil/rad/iong/index.html
  
Offers a comprehensive atlas of radiologic anatomy including labled x-ray studies (plain and with contrast), US, CT, and MRI. This site also includes a glossary of anatomical terms linked to the radiologic images.

Springer Images
http://www.springerimages.com/imagesMD/
  
Links to image sites in various clinical and preclinical specialties.

VH Dissector
mailto:neffp@health.missouri.edu
  
Available the M148 anatomy lab and from the M1 medical student labs. Students can buy their own copy for about the price of a textbook. Contact Dr. Carol Ward in Anatomy.

Virtual Autopsy
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.le.ac.uk/pathology/teach/va/welcome.html
  
Case studies including symptoms, examination and test results, progression of the case and an interactive cadaver.

Visible Human Project
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/research/visible/visible_human.html
  
From the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the Visible Human Project includes complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.

Who Named It?
http://www.whonamedit.com/index.cfm
  
An encyclopedic dictionary of eponyms. Aims to ultimately provide biographical information on over 15,000 diseases and medical phenomena named after a person; currently contains over 6000 eponyms. Search by eponym, or by name, gender or national origin of the person.

WinkingSkull.com
http://www.winkingskull.com
  
Also Known as: Winking Skull
A free anatomy study guide. Turn the labels off to test your knowledge.

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Anatomy

Anatomy Atlases
http://www.anatomyatlases.org/
  
A digital library of anatomy information from the University of Iowa. Includes cross sectional and microscopic images. Formerly part of the Virtual Hospital

Art of Examining and Interpreting Histologic Preparations
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://mospace.umsystem.edu/xmlui/bitstream/handle/10355/11237/ArtExaminingInterpreting.pdf?sequence=1
  


Bancroft’s Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090426369
  
Also Known as: Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques


Basic human anatomy : a regional study of human structure
http://www.dartmouth.edu/~humananatomy/
  
An online adaptation of O’Rahilly’s 2004 textbook, developed at Dartmouth Medical School.

Before we are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090604141
  


Big Picture : Gross Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=686
  
Also Known as: Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture


Developing Human Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090604190
  
Also Known as: The Developing Human
Required for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.

Gray’s Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780443066849X5001X
  
Also Known as: Gray’s


Gray’s Anatomy for Students Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110061707
  
Also Known as: Anatomy for Students


Gray’s Basic Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100691760
  
Also Known as: Basic Anatomy


Gray’s Clinical Neuroanatomy: The Anatomic Basis for Clinical Neuroscience Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090373134
  
Also Known as: Clinical Neuroanatomy; Anatomic Basis for Clinical Neuroscience


Gray’s Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090613751
  
Also Known as: Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body


Human Anatomy: Color Atlas and Textbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090602312
  
Also Known as: Anatomy Color Atlas and Textbook


Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100655040
  
Also Known as: The Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams


Human Embryology and Developmental Biology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110053127
  
Also Known as: Embryology and Developmental Biology


Human Nervous System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090027214
  
Also Known as: The Human Nervous System


Krause’s Essentials of Human Histology for Medical Students, 3rd ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://mospace.umsystem.edu/xmlui/bitstream/handle/10355/11238/KrausesEssentialHuman.pdf?sequence=1
  


Lange Case Files Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/caseHome.aspx
  
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology


Larsen’s Human Embryology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780443068119X10007
  
Also Known as: larsens embryology; larsons embryology


McMinn and Abrahams’ Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2009060708X
  
Also Known as: Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy


McMinn’s Color Atlas of Foot and Ankle Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090484770
  
Also Known as: Color Atlas of Foot and Ankle Anatomy; Foot and Ankle Anatomy


McMinn’s Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090542316
  
Also Known as: Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy; Head and Neck Anatomy


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations : Part I, Upper Limb Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090358687
  
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations : Part I, the Upper Limb; Medical Illustrations : Part I, Upper Limb; Netter’s Upper Limb;


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Brain Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2009035847X
  
Also Known as: Collection of Medical Illustrations: Brain; Medical Illustrations: Brain; Netter’s Brain


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Cardiovascular System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090424784
  
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Cardiovascular System; Medical Illustrations: The Cardiovascular System; Netter’s the Cardiovascular System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Endocrine System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090358596
  
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Endocrine System; Medical Illustrations: Endocrine System; Netter’s Endocrine System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Integumentary System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090633936
  
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Integumentary System; Medical Illustrations: Integumentary System; Netter’s Integumentary System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Reproductive System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090358511
  
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Reproductive System; Medical Illustrations: Reproductive System; Netter’s Reproductive System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Respiratory System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C2009035864X
  
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Respiratory System; Medical Illustrations: Respiratory System; Netter’s Respiratory System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090358493
  
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems; Netter’s Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Spine and Lower Limb Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090388893
  
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Spine and Lower Limb; Netter’s Spine and Lower Limb


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Urinary System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090358626
  
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Urinary System; Medical Illustrations: Urinary System; Netter’s Urinary System


Netter Presenter Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://hsllab.missouri.edu/
  
An image library that can be used with PowerPoint. Available only from the computers on the first floor of the library and the medical student PBL labs. [more]

Netter’s Concise Orthopaedic Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090357736
  
Also Known as: Concise Orthopaedic Anatomy; Orthopaedic Anatomy; Netter’s Orthopaedic Anatomy Netter’s Concise Orthopedic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090393630
  
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy; Netter’s Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy; Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Cardiothoracic Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090393642
  
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Cardiothoracic Anatomy; Netter’s Cardiothoracic Anatomy; Cardiothoracic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Neuroanatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090393629
  
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Neuroanatomy; Netter’s Neuroanatomy; Neuroanatomy


Netter’s Atlas of Human Embryology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110081504
  
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Embryology; Netter’s Human Embryology


Netter’s Atlas of Neuroscience Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9781416054184X00015
  
Also Known as: Atlas of Neuroscience; Netter’s Neuroscience


Netter’s Cardiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090357712
  
Also Known as: Cardiology


Netter’s Clinical Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120065167
  
Also Known as: Clinical Anatomy


Netter’s Concise Radiologic Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120004450
  
Also Known as: Concise Radiologic Anatomy; Netter’s Radiologic Anatomy; Radiologic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Musculoskeletal Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090393617
  
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Musculoskeletal Anatomy; Netter’s Musculoskeletal Anatomy; Musculoskeletal Anatomy


Netter’s Essential Histology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100673330
  
Also Known as: Essential Histology; Netter’s Histology


Netter’s Gastroenterology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090598832
  
Also Known as: Gastroenterology


Netter’s Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20110041741
  
Also Known as: Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry


Netter’s Surgical Anatomy and Approaches Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090414260
  
Also Known as: Surgical Anatomy and Approaches


Netter’s Surgical Anatomy Review P.R.N. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090424772
  
Also Known as: Surgical Anatomy Review P.R.N.


Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Colour Text, 5th ed. Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20120032024
  
Also Known as: Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Color Text


Smith’s Recognizable Patterns of Human Deformation Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780721614892X10004
  
Also Known as: Recognizable Patterns of Human Deformation; Human Deformation


Smith’s Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100662808
  
Also Known as: Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation; Human Malformation


Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy , Vol. 1 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20130046889
  
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Anatomy; Sobotta’s Atlas of Human Anatomy


Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol. 2 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20130046919
  
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Anatomy; Sobotta’s Atlas of Human Anatomy


Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol. 3 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20130046920
  
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Anatomy; Sobotta’s Atlas of Human Anatomy


The Human Brain: An Introduction to Its Functional Anatomy Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780323041317X50013
  
Also Known as: Nolte
Recommended for PBL Block 3.

Wheater’s Functional Histology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20090600258
  
Also Known as: Functional Histology; Wheater’s Histology


Wheater’s Review of Histology & Basic Pathology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-B9780702030451X0001X
  
Also Known as: Review of Histology & Basic Pathology; Histology & Basic Pathology; Wheater’s Histology & Basic Pathology


Books and E-Books

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog