Health & Medicine : Alternative Medicine
Databases for Articles
Other Resources Online
Databases for Articles
Databases for Alternative MedicineDietary Supplements Labels Database
This database contains information on the ingredients of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements sold in the U.S. and is designed to help not only researchers, but the large audience of supplement consumers as well. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search every word in over 200 encyclopedias and reference books covering all disciplines, including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics, the Encyclopedia of Cancer, the Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, The Encyclopedia of Sociology, and many more. A complete list of titles can be found here. The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italianb, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu. [more]
Index to Chiropractic Literature Chiroindex
Search for articles in chiropractic journals. From the Chiropractic Library Consortium with funding from the Association of Chiropractic Colleges. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care. [more]
Native American Ethnobotany
A guide to plant derivatives used by Native Americans, including plants used for medicinal purposes. Search by plant name, tribe, or pharmacological action. Includes article references and links to the USDA Plants database. [more]
Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Information in MedlinePlus
Evidence based information on usage, indications, interactions and toxicity for over 100 herbals and supplements. From Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. [more]
The National Library of Medicine’s free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Journals for Alternative MedicineBrowse Journals on Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources Online
Other Resources Online for Alternative MedicineAbout Herbs, Botanicals, and Other Products
Provides evaluative information on herbal and botanical therapies, including potential benefits/problems, interactions, adverse effects and constituents. Patient summaries are also available. From the Integrative Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Free registration required.
Alternative & Complementary Medicine Center, Health World Online
A site with a wealth of resources on alternative medicine topics. Features include a Professional Referral Network for alternative medicine specialties such as acupuncture, homeopathy and holistic health care. This site also offers an online version of Materia Medica for information about herbs.
Complementary and alternatives veterinary medicine (CAVM), including acupuncture, chiopracty, herbal medicine, homeopahty, and nutritional therapy.
American Indian Health
Provides links to Web sites, documents, databases, and other resources of interest to Native Americans. From the National Library of Medicine.
Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
Enviro-Health Links: Dietary Supplements
Links to authoritative information on dietary supplements plus vitamins and minerals, as well as herbs, botanicals and other substances, from the National Library of Medicine’s Specialized Information Services Division. It covers research, use, databases, law and policy, and has links to Spanish-language resources.
A page sponsored by the Alternative Medicine Foundation. Best evidence for effectiveness, contraindications, preparations and mechanisms of action is provided for many common herbs. Some links to journal articles in the PubMed database are provided.
Medical Breakthroughs reported by Ivanhoe
19 channels of medical news, updated daily. News stories from the last week are free; a fee-based alerting service is available as is fee-based access to the 50,000 stories archived since 1995.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
Mrs. Grieve’s A Modern Herbal
Approximately 800 plants with medical uses are described. This volume was first published in 1931,but it still has value today.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
The center offers information for both consumers and researchers interested in alternative medicine and consumer health. Resources for researchers include research funding guidance and research policies.
National Council Against Health Fraud
A non-profit, tax-exempt, voluntary health agency committed to providing information on health fraud, misinformation and quackery. Contains a library of publications on questionable health-related topics.
Natural Health Encyclopedia (via Personal Health Zone)
The TNP Natural Health Encyclopedia contains extensive science-based information on health conditions, their natural remedies, and drug interactions.
A longstanding site that helps to identify fraudulent medical claims. Many alternative medicine topics are evaluated for merit. The site also helps consumers to become more savvy in their evaluation of web sites.
University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Reviews of Therapies
Whole Health MD
A commercial site that offers information on particular alternative therapies. A special “healing centers” section offers strategies for treating certain diseases and conditions.
eBooks / Books
eBooks / Books for Alternative MedicineIntegrative Medicine, 4th ed.
Tips for finding books