MU Libraries Course Research Guide: Theatre: Black performers
Books and E-BooksThe African American National Biography and American Theatre Companies are books in Ellis. The other books are online. The African American National Biography is superior to the other sources for biography. It has excellent bibliographies at the end of each entry that can help you find more resources and is more than worth the effort it takes to use it in the library.African Amnerican National Biography
8 volume set. Scholarly, authoritative. Articles have bibliographies.
American Theatre Companies
Three volumes cover period from 1749 – 1986. Search by company name or state.
African American Almanac
Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
CatalogsMERLIN Library Catalog
Searches books and other materials (videos, musical recordings, journal titles, newspaper titles, magazine titles, microformat sets, government documents etc.) owned by the MU Libraries [more]
Journal ArticlesInternational Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance as well as full-text for over 140 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, etc. [more]
Cumulated Dramatic Index 1909-1949
2 volumes of more than 300,000 entries from more than 150 periodicals.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]
American Periodical Series Online
American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]
Reader’s Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]