ELPA 9404

Inquiry in ELPA

RESEARCH ON MISSOURI

If your research pertains to Missouri, you might want to contact:

Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
PO Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: 573-751-4212, Fax: 573-751-8613
Office Hours: 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. M-F

Commissioner’s Office: pubinfo@dese.mo.gov
Deputy Commissioner’s Office: pubinfo@dese.mo.gov
Division of Administrative and Financial Services: webreplyadm@dese.mo.gov
Division of Career Education: webreplyvae@dese.mo.gov
Division of School Improvement: webreplyimpr@dese.mo.gov
Division of Special Education: webreplyspedc@dese.mo.gov
Division of Teacher Quality and Urban Education: webreplyqual@dese.mo.gov
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation: patsy.helmig@vr.dese.mo.gov

Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
3024 Dupont Circle
Jefferson City, MO 65109-0525
Phone: 573-751-3251
Fax: 573-751-1441
TTY: 573-751-0881


Missouri Department of Higher Education
3515 Amazonas Drive
Jefferson City, MO 65109
Map and Directions

MDHE Office Hours
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Monday – Friday
Missouri State Holidays (State Offices Closed)

Phone: (573) 751-2361
Fax: (573) 751-6635
Email: info@dhe.mo.gov

MDHE Information Center
Phone: (800) 473-6757
Email: info@dhe.mo.gov

DESE has many publications on topics of interest. MDHE may well prove helpful as well.

SELECTED DATABASES

  • ERIC
  • Education Full Text
  • Academic Search Premier
  • Test Reviews Online
  • CQ Researcher
  • Dissertation Abstracts
  • Google Scholar
  • U.S. Statutes at Large
  • Current Research@MU
  • PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
  • Sociological Abstracts

Boolean Logic

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)
    Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Many articles are full-text. Updated continually. Generally, coverage is 1984 to date. Click on “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals” to limit search results to research articles.
  • Dissertation Abstracts
    Is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
  • CQ Researcher
    Provides extensive background information and discussion of the pros and cons of current issues of the day such as home schooling, charter schools, school violence, rising college costs, etc.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
  • Test Reviews Online
    Provides citations to reviews of educational and psychological tests and measurements that the Buros Institute have included in their indexes. Full-text of the actual instrument are not included. You might also want to look at ICPSR http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ and http://library.missouri.edu/guides/data/inter-data/
  • U.S. Statutes at Large
    Is part of the Congressional Universe database. Full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes. Allows user to retrieve an original law and all its amendments.
  • Current Research@MU
    Indexes MU dissertation from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN. For more details, see http://library.missouri.edu/MuchowM/Information_Commons/dissertations/l.

SUBJECT SPECIALIZED DATABASES:

  • ERIC
    Provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
  • EDUCATION FULL TEXT
    Provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Educational Index. Treats education and related subjects areas such as total quality management, computers, culture, religion, athletics, psychology, curriculum, mathematics, history, philosophy, rehabilitation, and parapsychology.
  • PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
    Educational and counseling psychology, intelligence and aptitude tests, behavior, learning, child development, and other education-related topics are subjects in this database. PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. The journals cover psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. Fulltext coverage is 1985 to date.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Searching

For assistance in searching, when you go to the entry for a database, click on more info e.g.

ERIC
Description provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.

Date Coverage 1966-date
Full-Text: No
Updated: Monthly
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:
Truncation: *
Wildcard: ?
Vendor: CSA

ERIC

You can search a specific database or a general area.

You can choose the type of search that you desire.

You can search by time range.

You can use search tools, e.g., Thesaurus.

If you do an Advanced Search, you can make words specific using the pull down menus. (If Advanced Search is not the default search in a database that you are searching, changing to Advanced Search might be helpful since it provides fields.)

Add/remove rows

Bullying and suicide

Turn into descriptor search

Contact information for scholars

Other tabs can refine search

Mark records

Save/email/print

You may pick your citation format, click create, then email the bibliographic record

You can create alerts to update your research

For online assistance, see the upper right hand portion of the screen.
 

FINDING THE FULL-TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES

If you’re looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the finditatMU article linker button next to the article citation. The article will display if it’s available electronically. If there is no online access, you’ll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog.

If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries’ Gateway page and click “Find a Specific Article or Journal” link on the left hand side of the page. Type in the name of the journal or, if you have the citation, a specific journal article. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print subscription to the journal. MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles.

If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using finditatMU article linker, fill out a journal article request form. You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service which is called https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon/l. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.

https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/

Endnote sessions and zotero http://www.zotero.org/ compatible with Mozilla

EDUCATION FULL TEXT

You can customize display

You can search a specific database or a general area.

You can choose the type of search that you desire.

You can search by time range.

You can use search tools, e.g., thesaurus.

Advanced Search is the default search. Use the pull down menus to make specific fields.

You can save searches. Later can return for update or to create an alert (will email you when new items conform to your search enter the database).

FINDING BOOKS

From the MU Libraries’ Gateway, choose the MERLIN Catalog .
Keyword Search :

Think of words and synonyms that describe the topic you are researching. Type keywords that describe your topic into the search box. You can use the asterisk as a truncation symbol. You can use quotation marks to search for phrases. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on one of the subject headings for that book, to retrieve similar books. Subject heading searches generally pull up more relevant hits than a keyword search.

Subject Search :

Try a Subject Search after doing keyword search. For a Subject Search, you need to use Library of Congress subject headings.

Selected subject headings :

  • Education Secondary
  • Charter Schools
  • Single Sex Schools
  • Education Higher
  • Bullying
  • Home Schooling
  • College Costs
  • Educational Vouchers
  • Women School Superintendents
  • Youth Suicidal Behavior Prevention
  • Parents and Teachers Association

If you do not find enough books on your topic, change your search to “ALL MERLIN.” By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, UMR, and MU all at once. Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Union Catalog button. This expands your search to about 70 additional libraries in our network. Most books you find through MERLIN or MOBIUS are requestable online, just click on the “Request Item” link. Books requested through MERLIN or MOBIUS take two to three working days to arrive.

Locate books in Ellis Library (Location Guide)

Determine which floor holds a book in Ellis Library

Use the guide below to determine which floor of Ellis holds a particular call number.

B to HE contains B, BA, BB, BC.. C, D, .. H, HA, HB, .. HE
2 East = 2nd floor of Ellis, East book stacks.
HSL = Health Sciences Library

AC to AZ 4 East
B to HE 3 East
HF to LT 2 East
M to NX 4 East
P to PG 2A West
PH to PQ 2999 3 Central
PQ 3000 to QK 2 East
QL to QR 2 Central
QS to QZ HSL
R to RZ 2 Central
S to SK 2 West
T to TX 1A West
U to VM 1 West
W to WZ HSL
Z to ZA 1 West


My Library Account

Distance Learning Liaisons

Distance Learning Support Services

WEB SITES

Related Sourcepacks

Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis Cohort Program –includes list of juried education periodicals

Tests and Assessment Instruments

Issues in Higher/Secondary Education

Sources of Statistical Data

The International Archive of Education Data acquires, processes, documents, and disseminates data collected by national, state or provincial, local, and private organizations, pertaining to all levels of education in countries for which data can be made available.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.

The National Center for Education Statistics is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research archives a collection of public opinion data. Their polls cover a range of social, business and policy issues.

CITATION GUIDES

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is shelved behind Ellis Library’s Reference Desk on the south side of the first floor. We also have a link list to style manuals online .