General Humanities 3120
Are the Mysteries Histories? The DaVinci Code and the Name of the Rose
Instructor: Jill Raitt firstname.lastname@example.org
Librarian: Rachel Brekhus email@example.com
Gale Virtual Reference Library (online) This online set of reference sources contains, among other things, the New Catholic Encyclopedia. You can search within a single source, or across many sources.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (online) Another online set of reference sources. As a rule, entries are shorter than the Gale set above, but there are some useful books here such as the Oxford Dictionary of Popes and the Oxford Companion to the Bible.
Reference: Bible and Religion
Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics – Reference BL31.E4 1961. Multi-page articles with bibliographies. An “oldie but goodie.”
Encyclopedia of Christianity – Reference BR95.E8913 1999 (Multivolume; A-Sh only)
Women In Scripture – Reference BS575.W593 2000. See especially p. 120, “Mary 3″ (=Magdalene)
Cambridge History of the Bible – Reference BS445.C26 (3 vol.; see especially vol. 2, The West From the Fathers To the Reformation)
Cambridge Companion to the Bible – Reference BS 475.2.C26 1997
Interpreter’s Bibles and Commentaries (several books & sets): Reference BS 491’s To use these, start out with a Bible passage you want to see an interpretation of. Commentary is in the same order as in the Bible.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (17 volumes) BX841 .N44 1967 – newer edition online in Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Encyclopedia of Heresies and Heretics (1 vol, located at Reference BT1315.2.C55 1992)
The Papacy: An Encyclopedia (3 vols., located at BX 955.2.D53 2002)
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 vols.) 2-4 page articles, good bibliographies. Reference B51.E53 2006
Dictionary of the History of Ideas, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (2 multivolume sets – one older, one newer) Good sources for tracing the changing meanings of ideas through time. Reference CB9.N49 2005
Reference: Middle Ages
History of Humanity (5 vols., essays in chronological order, located at Reference CB69.H59). See especially V.III, p. 235 “Christianity and the Christian Church Between 284 and 476″ for Constantine, Church Fathers, Monastic Orders.
The New Cambridge Medieval History (7 vols., essays in chronological order, thick, dark red books located at Reference D117.N48 1995) includes extensive bibliographies.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages (13 vols., black with gold writing, located at Reference D114.D5 1982) Entries are several pages long.
Atlas of Warfare: The Middle Ages located at Reference G1034.H6 1996. Includes extensive narration of the conflicts it illustrates, not just the maps themselves.
To find a specific article, go to the library home page and use the “Find a Specific Article/Journal” link.
To find articles on a topic, use bibliographies and library databases.
International Medieval Bibliography NOW AVAILABLE ONLINE (see database list below)
- Academic Search Premier (general, recent, some full text)
- JSTOR (general, selective, 5 yrs old and older, mostly full text)
- Project Muse (general, selective, recent, mostly full text)
- ATLA (religion, recent and older, some full text, can look for articles on particular Scripture parts)
- International Medieval Bibliography (articles and book sections on Middle ages topics)
- LION (literary criticism, some full text, CHOOSE “criticism” in the Criticism & Reference section)
To see all MU Libraries databases : http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/main.asp.
MERLIN Catalog: subject
Subject searches are good for NAMES of people, groups of people, places or events, and Bible parts:
- innocent iii, pope
- mary magdalene, saint
- council of nicaea
- opus dei
- bible n.t. john
MERLIN Catalog: keyword
- crusad* (retrieves crusade, crusades, crusader, crusaders, crusading etc.)
- monk OR monks OR monast* (retrieves items with ANY of those words)
- medieval and witch* (retrieves items with BOTH/ALL words)
- (medieval or middle ages) and witch*
Once you find a good book in MERLIN, check its SUBJECT HEADINGS. They are clickable and may lead you to further books on the correct topic.
Google Book Search: Books “with something about” (Examples: phrases like “priory of sion” and “christ owned”) – use ADVANCED search. Some older books are available in full text, but many will give you “snippets” or a few pages only. Not all books included in Google Book Search are scholarly. You have the option of limiting your results to “full view” (=full text) books.
To find a PARTICULAR book, use the library form. This will perform an automatic search of MERLIN, followed by cross-campus searches if necessary. If the book is not found in Missouri you will be given an Interlibrary Loan form to fill out.
Bonus source: Bibliography from The Crusades: A Short History with links to the MERLIN Catalog, and a few updates to the 1987 original provided by R. Brekhus. Use this linked list to find books, access a few full-text journal articles, and find some good subject headings to use in the MERLIN Catalog.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Contains full-text medieval and other sources. Follow the links on the left margin to Select Sources to various subtopics. Also take a look at the extensive links to full-text legal texts and information for The Name of the Rose material.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
Georgetown University’s site, which is searchable and browsable, contains primary and secondary documents on medieval topics.
Ancient and Medieval Atlas
Europe every 100 years from A.D. 0 to 1500, selected other maps, all labeled in French.
De Re Militari: The Society for Medieval Military History
The site contains full-text articles republished with permission, as well as a good bibliography on medieval warfare.
America Article on Opus Dei by James Martin – “considered to be one of the best articles today on Opus Dei” -J. Raitt
Nag Hamadi Dead Sea Scrolls Exhibit – a source of extra credit and information
H-Net Content Searches allows you to search through scholarly discussions about various areas in the field of history, including ancient history. Sometimes books and web sites are also reviewed here.
For any academic search, you will also want to try out the Internet Scout Report Archives, which is well annotated as well as searchable.
For information on how to evaluate the websites you find, please see: Evaluating the Web.
Citing Your Sources
For guidelines for citing print and online sources in a variety of acceptable academic citation styles such as MLA, Chicago/Turabian and APA, see the library’s Citation Styles page.