Film Studies 2005: Israeli Film

Instructor: Etti Naveh-Benjamin

Librarian: Anne Barker

Some general tips:

  • When searching authors, put the surname first.
  • Hebrew titles may be transliterated in various ways, so try variant spellings.
  • Literary works and films may be listed by their original Hebrew title rather than by an English translation.
  • Put an AND between words when you want to find all the words: Israel AND women
  • Put an OR between words when you’d be happy with one word or the other or both: Israel and (women OR feminism)
  • Use truncation symbols or wildcards to search for variants: e.g., femin* retrieves feminism, feminist, feminists, feminine, etc.
  • If you get too much, limit your search to subject headings or descriptors.


The Gale Virtual Reference Library
Background Notes: Israel
CIA World Factbook: Israel
Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Profiles & Country Reports
Israel: A Country Study
Encyclopedia of Judaism BM50.E63 2002
Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion Ref. BM50.O94 1997
Blackwell Companion to Jewish Culture
DS102.8.B46 1989
Encyclopedia Judaica Ref. DS102.8.E496 2007
Timetables of Jewish History
DS114.G78 1994
Historical Atlas of the Jewish People Ref. DS117.J8513 1992
New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel Ref. DS149.N6 1994
Atlas of Israel: Cartography, Physical and Human Geography Ref. G2235.K3 1985

Academic Search Premier, Academic OneFile
For magazines, some newspapers, much full text:
Lexis-Nexis-Academic, Factiva For newspapers, all full text:
Gender Watch For searches focusing gender issues:
Newspapers of Israel Websites of newspapers in Israel
Film Literature Index


LION: Literature Online. (Use the Criticism section)

MLA International Bibliography

All languages and literatures, 1963 to the present.
Be sure to use the SUBJECT AUTHOR field to find information ABOUT authors.
FIAF: International Index to Film/TV Periodicals The main database covering international cinema.
Art Full Text Although focused on the visual arts, Art Full Text has a lot of material on film.
Film Literature Index

Academic Search Premier, Academic OneFile
 General databases covering core materials in all disciplines.
ATLA Religion Database Religious studies 1949 to the present. Some full text.
Historical Abstracts In-depth index to history articles and books in publication.
PAIS Covers social science and public policy issues back to 1972.

Sociological Abstracts


Covers sociology and social policy, 1974 to date.

Covers psychology, 1872 to date.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Covers political science publications, 1975 to date.

Click on finditatMU to locate a copy of the article online, in the library, or through ILL@MU.

Finding Books

  • The MERLIN catalog shows materials in the MU Libraries.
  • The MOBIUS catalog shows materials from Missouri academic libraries.
  • WorldCat shows materials from many libraries worldwide.
  • Google Book Search searches the full text of many, many books. It often allows you to preview parts of the books and links to the catalog so you can see if the library has the book.

Finding Films

  • The MERLIN catalog shows the films in the MU Libraries. This page makes it easier to find them.
  • The Academic Support Center has a large collection of films that can be viewed for free at their location or checked out for a fee.
  • WorldCat lists films held by many libraries. We can often get these through ILL@MU. (Note we can’t request films through MOBIUS, but can often get the same films through WorldCat.)
  • 9th Street Video has an excellent collection.
  • The Columbia Public Library has a collection of films, mainly TV documentaries and specials.
  • NetFlix.
  • blinkx is a video search engine, useful for finding clips and trailers.