BLACK IN MISSOURI
John Berry Meachum
James P. Beckwourth
Winny v. Whitesides
Merry v. Tiffin & Mernard
Trammel v. Adams
William Wells Brown
Rachel v. Walker
Jennings v. Kavanaugh
James Milton Turner
Colored Aristocracy of St. Louis
First Kansas Colored Volunteer Infantry Regiment
62nd US Regiment of Colored Infantry
John William Blind Boone
George Washington Carver
St. Louis Palladium
Lehew v. Brummell
Black 7th Regiment of the Immunes
James Langston Hughes
Annie Turnbo Malone
William “Count” Basie
Easter Weekend Lynchings in Springfield
Nathaniel C. Bruce
Homer G. Phillips
St. Louis Argus
1916 St. Louis Segregation Ordinance
Missouri Industrial Home for Negro Girls, Tipton
1917 East St. Louis, Illinois Race Riot
1918 Missouri Negro Industrial Commission
Mound City Bar
Kansas City Call
Charlie “Bird” Parker
Red Foxx (John E. Sanford)
Kansas City Monarchs
St. Louis American
William J. Thompkins
Lester A. Walton
1939 Sharecroppers Strike (Missouri bootheel)
State ex rel Bluford v. Canada
Cleo Wright lynching (Sikeston)
J.D. and Ethel Shelley
Oscar S. Ficklin
Judge Sam Blair
Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, Kansas
Missouri Human Rights Commission
Jefferson Bank Boycott
Missouri Public Accommodations Act of 1965
David E. McPherson
1968 Kansas City Riot
William L. Clay, Sr.
St. Louis Sentinel
Gwen B. Giles
Emmanuel Cleaver II
Freeman Bosley, Jr.
Ronnie L. White
Alice Faye Wattleton
William H. Lawrie
Earl D. Shaw
John Lang, Jr.
Bolivar Slave Revolt
Jean Baptiste Pointe du Sable
Panhandle Slim (Cecil Williams)
James Milton Turner
George Coleman Poage
James Scott (lynching Columbia)
Blanche Kelso Bruce
Hiram Rhodes Revel
George Washington Bush
Robert McFerrin Sr.
Margaret Bush Wilson
Carr Square Village
Soldan High School
Sumner High School
Getting Started: a Sampling of Resources
The African American almanac [electronic resource]
The African American encyclopedia
The African American experience : an historiographical and bibliographical guide
The African-American experience at the University of Missouri, 1950-1994
The African-American experience on file
Black heritage book of trivia
Black women in America [electronic resource]
The complete idiot’s guide to African American history
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history [electronic resource]
Encyclopedia of Black studies [electronic resource]
Missouri’s African American History
(MO State Archives)
The Negro almanac : a reference work on the African-American
Notable Black American men
Notable Black American women
1,999 facts about Blacks : a sourcebook of African-American achievement
Reference library of Black America
Science & discovery : 325 questions
Who’s who among African Americans
Who’s who in colored America
AFRICAN AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS ON MICROFILM
AT THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF MISSOURI
CHARLESTON – Mississippi County
August 18-31, 1934
(on roll with Sikeston Southeast Missouri World)
COLUMBIA – Boone County
Nov 20, 1969 (microfiche)
Columbia Community Voice (hard copies only)
Feb 1994 – Mar 1997 very scattered issues
Nov 1, 1901 – Dec 25 1903
HANNIBAL – Marion County
Home Protective Record
May 14, Aug 20, Oct 8, Dec 31, 1914
JEFFERSON CITY – Cole County
Western Messenger (Baptist)
Jan 9, 1914-Dec 1, 1916
(moved to St. Louis)
KANSAS CITY – Jackson County
Jun 21, 1928-Jan 12, 1933
Jan 27-Feb 17, 1921
(on roll with Kansas City Western Messenger)
Nov 1, 1919; Jan 7, 1922-present
Jan 31, 1986; Jly 24, Aug 14, Oct 2, Nov 13, 27, Dec 25, 1992; Jan 1, Mar 19-Apr 9, 23, 1993-Feb 25, May 6, 1994-present
Aug 1, 1903-Apr 2, 1904
Jan 2-Dec 24, 1903
Missouri State Post
May 21, Jun 4, Dec 31, 1987; Jan 14, May 5, 19, Jly 21, 28-Aug 18, 1988; Oct 18, 1990; Oct 3, 1991-May 7, 1992
Jan 16, 1903-Dec 28, 1907
Dec 7, 1912
Jan 10, 1914-Jun 7, 1924
Western Christian Recorder (AME Church)
Oct 26, 1911-Sep 16, 1915
Western Messenger (Baptist)
August 2-Oct 11, Nov 1, 8, Dec 6, 1918; Jan 2-Dec 19, 1919; Jan 2-Feb 27, Mar 12, 26-May 20, Jun 4, 9, 18-Aug 27, Sep 24-Oct 8, 1920
ST. LOUIS – Independent City
Jly 14, Sept 8, 1949-present
Jan 1, 1915-Dec 13, 1918; Feb 21, 1919-Oct 17, 1969; Mar 6, 1970-Dec 28, 1972; Mar 8, 1973- Dec 23, 1982; Jun 28-Aug 23, Nov 1, 15, Dec 6, 1984; June 26, 1986 (many missing issues)
Jan 10, 1903-Oct 5, 1907
Mar 16 1968-present
Western Messenger (Baptist)
Dec 16 1916-Nov 24, 1917
SEDALIA – Pettis County
May 8, 1903-Dec 23 1905; Jan 6-17, Feb 17-Mar 10, 24, Jly 21, Aug 4, Dec 24, 1906; Jan 7-28, Feb 11-Mar 4, 18-May 13, 25-Jly 15, 29-Aug 5, 26, Dec 9-23, 1907; Jan 6, 20, 27, Feb 10-Mar 9, 23, Apr 5-26, May 11-Jun 15, 29-Aug 31, Sep 14, 21, 1908
Aug 31, 1901-Dec 29, 1903; Jan 21-Feb 4, 1905
SIKESTON – Scott County
Southeast Missouri World
Nov 25, 1939
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)
Index to major journals and magazines in all subject areas. Many articles are full-text. Updated continually. Generally, coverage is 1984 to date. Click on “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals” to limit search results to research articles.
- America History and Life
- America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.
- Dissertation Abstracts
Is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
- Early American Newspapers. Series 1, 1690-1876
Also Known as: Early American Newspapers; America’s Historical Newspapers; Archive of Americana
This collection provides images and full-text content access to a selection of historic newspapers based on Clarence Brigham’s authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and additional subsequent bibliographies.
- Ebsco Host
Indexes about 2600 popular magazines, with complete text available for about 1/3 of the titles. Coverage for most magazines begins with 1993. Of particular interest is the inclusion of the complete text for over 600 consumer health pamplets. Provided courtesy of MORENET.
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women’s issues.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
- Historic Missouri Newspaper Project
Historic Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers.
- Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpointsï¿½ Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics.
- InfoTrac Diversity Studies Collection
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Access provided by MOREnet.
JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance.
- LION: Literature Online
LION: Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals.
- Making of Modern Law – Trials 1600-1926
Making of Modern Law – Trials 1600-1926 contains over 7,000 trial transcripts from Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York give scholars insight on class structure and the making of modern law. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library.
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the premier music encyclopedia. Includes the New Grove Dictionaries of Jazz and Opera.
NewsBank indexes the Kansas City Star and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, as well as news articles about regional and state events and issues.
- North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950.
- Project Muse
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2005) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of these newspapers.
- Race Relations Abstracts
Indexes over 300 publications that deal with race and related topics worldwide.
- Reader’s Guide Restrospective 1890-1982
Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.
- U.S. Statutes at Large
Is part of the Congressional Universe database. Full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes. Allows user to retrieve an original law and all its amendments.
- Current Research@MU
Indexes MU dissertation from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN.
FINDING THE FULL-TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES
If you’re looking at results in one of the databases listed above, just click on the
article linker button next to the article citation. The article will display if it’s available electronically. If there is no online access, you’ll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog.
If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries’ Gateway page and click “Find a Specific Article or Journal
” link on the left hand side of the page. Type in the name of the journal or, if you have the citation, a specific journal article. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog
to see if we have a print subscription to the journal. MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journal titles.
If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using
article linker, fill out a journal article request form. You will need to register the first time you use our interlibrary loan service https://ill.mul.missouri.edu/MUU/logon/l
. Usually you will receive the article electronically via email within a few days of placing your request.
sessions and zotero compatible with Mozilla
Check to see library holdings for periodicals by doing a Journal, Newspaper, Magazine Title Search. .
Check for electronic availability of periodicals.
Perform a subject search in MERLIN using the words african americans periodicals and or blacks periodicals.
Index to the Schomburg clipping file
G.K. Hall index to Black periodicals
Index to Black periodicals
Index to periodical articles by and about Blacks
Index to periodical articles by and about Negroes
A Guide to negro periodical literature
Mizzou Black alumni
Journal of the National Medical Association
Journal of the National Medical Association Archives
Ain’t but a place : an anthology of African American writings about St. Louis
America’s black towns and settlements : a historical reference guide
Behind ghetto walls : black families in a federal slum
Black families of the Ozarks
Black liberation in the Midwest : the struggle in St. Louis, Missouri, 1964-1970
Catfish and crystal
Columbia… our past is… our future : from Douglass School to the world!
The Curt Flood story : the man behind the myth
Finding freedom : the untold story of Joshua Glover, runaway slave
George Washington Carver : scientist, inventor, and teacher
Gone but not forgotten : Quinette Cemetery, a slave burial ground, est. 1866
Heartland history : essays on the cultural heritage of the central Missouri region
Kinloch : Missouri’s first black city
Missouri slave narratives : a folk history of slavery in Missouri from interviews with former slaves : typewritten records
Missouri’s Black heritage
Nathan B. Young and the struggle over Black higher education
On her own ground : the life and times of Madam C.J. Walker
“Our black children” [microform] : the evolution of black space in Columbia, Missouri
Pastor Jenkins said, “Hang on to Matthew 6:33” : autobiography of Robert H. King, Ph. D
People of color : Black genealogical records and abstracts from Missouri sources
Press coverage of lynchings in Missouri : an analysis of the newspaper coverage of black and white lynch
Published in the interest of colored people : the St. Louis Argus newspaper in the twentieth century
Runaway and freed Missouri slaves and those who helped them, 1763-1865
The St. Louis African American community and the Exodusters
Satchel Paige and company : essays on the Kansas City Monarchs, their greatest star and the Negro leagues
Take up the Black man’s burden : Kansas City’s African American communities, 1865-1939
What a grave undertaking : Quinette Cemetery, a slave burial ground, est. 1866
Stories from the heart : Missouri’s African American heritage
Selected Electronic Resources
A grave injustice [electronic resource] : institutional terror at the State Industrial Home for negro girls and the paradox of delinquent reform in Missouri, 1888-1960
African American women, civic activism, and community building strategies in St. Louis, Missouri, 1900-1954
Historic Black communities [videorecording]
Locate Materials in Ellis Library (Location Guide)
Use the guide below to determine which floor of Ellis holds a particular call number.
B to HE contains B, BA, BB, BC.. C, D, .. H, HA, HB, .. HE
2 East = 2nd floor of Ellis, East book stacks.
HSL = Health Sciences Library
|AC to AZ
|B to HE
|HF to LT
|M to NX
|P to PG
|PH to PQ 2999
|PQ 3000 to QK
|QL to QR
|QS to QZ
|R to RZ
|S to SK
|T to TX
|U to VM
|W to WZ
|Z to ZA
My Library Accounts
Museums, Libraries, & Historical Societies
Missouri History Museum
Black World History Wax Museum
African American Portrait Collection
Ozarks Afro-American Heritage Museum
Negro Leagues Baseball Museum
St. Louis Walk of Fame
Griot Museum of Black History and Culture
American Jazz Museum
St. Louis Public Library
Afro-Americans in Missouri
Directory of Historical Societies in Missouri
(Please be aware that there is a Boone County Historical Society
and that the State Historical Society
on campus has an uncatalogued collection of materials on black fraternal organizations.)
Western Historical Manuscript Collection
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
and the MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing
are shelved behind Ellis Library’s Reference Desk on the south side of the first floor. We also have a link to style manuals online
If you have any questions:
168 Ellis Library