Biochemistry 4974

BIOCHEMISTRY 4974: Biochemistry Laboratory

Instructor: Virginia Peterson
117 Schweitzer Hall

Find Journal Articles

  • Begin at the MU Libraries’ Gateway. Click on BIOCHEMISTRY 4974: Biochemistry Laboratory

    Instructor: Virginia Peterson
    117 Schweitzer Hall

    Find Journal Articles

    • Begin at the MU Libraries’ Gateway. Click on Find a Database and then click on the subject area, Science and Technology.
    • Choose the subject areas Biochemistry or Plant Sciences. Select one of the databases from the list and follow instructions on how to conduct a search. Every database has a slightly different interface, but all have help pages that contain tips and/or tutorials.

    Suggested Databases for Biochemistry:

    • Biological Abstracts
      Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, and biotechnology are also included. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are available in print: Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37 (1926 – 1979)
      To limit to review articles, select Review Articles in the Limits section immediately under the search box.
    • PubMed
      The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE. Coverage is from the 1950′s to the present.
      For review articles, just click on the Review tab immediately above your results list.
    • SciFinder Scholar
      SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service or CAS) contains a comprehensive database of chemical and biochemical literature back to 1907. SciFinder Scholar is available for use on the computers in Ellis Library and all the branch libraries including Health Sciences. To use SciFinder Scholar on your own computer you may either register for web access or download the SciFinder Scholar client software. If you want to use the client version of SciFinder Scholar from off-campus, download the VPN Software first, followed by the SciFinder Scholar Software
      Finding Review articles in SciFinder Scholar client version: After you have conducted a search and have a list of references, limit your results to Review Articles by using the Refine option and then selecting Document Type.
      Finding Review articles in SciFinder Scholar web version: Check the box for Document Type: Review located under the research topic search box.
    • Scopus
      Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.
      To limit to Review Articles, select Review listed under Document Types above the search results.

    Find the Full-text of Journal Articles finditatMU

    • If you’re looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the  finditatMU  button next to the article citation. The article will display if it’s available electronically. If there is no online access, you’ll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog
    • If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries’ homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter  finditatMU. Once in finditatMU you’re given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check MERLIN to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
    • MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the full-text using  finditatMU, select the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy.You can also request an article without using the  finditatMU  feature by filling out an article request form which is available from Request Items-ILL@MU under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries homepage. Usually you will receive the article electronically within a few days of placing your request

    Other Resources

    • Annual Reviews
      Searchable full-text of the entire run of and Annual Reviews series. Includes Annual Review of Biochemistry, 1930-date,
    • Brenda: the Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
      Searchable database of enzyme information including nomenclature, enzyme-ligand interactions, functional parameters, organism related information, enzyme structure, molecular properties and bibliographies. Provides key journal references. Available free of charge for academic, non-profit users.
    • Methods in Enzymology
      Searchable full-text version of the entire run of Methods in Enzymology from 1955 to date.
    • For additional online and print resources in biochemistry go to the following MU Libraries subject web guide: Biochemistry

    “>Find a Database and then click on the subject area, Science and Technology.

  • Choose the subject areas Biochemistry or Plant Sciences. Select one of the databases from the list and follow instructions on how to conduct a search. Every database has a slightly different interface, but all have help pages that contain tips and/or tutorials.

Suggested Databases for Biochemistry:

  • Biological Abstracts
    Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, and biotechnology are also included. Over 6,500 journals worldwide are monitored for inclusion in the database. Coverage is 1980 to date. Earlier years are available in print: Ellis Library Reference QH 301 .B37 (1926 – 1979)
    To limit to review articles, select Review Articles in the Limits section immediately under the search box.
  • PubMed
    The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE. Coverage is from the 1950′s to the present.
    For review articles, just click on the Review tab immediately above your results list.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service or CAS) contains a comprehensive database of chemical and biochemical literature back to 1907. SciFinder Scholar is available for use on the computers in Ellis Library and all the branch libraries including Health Sciences. To use SciFinder Scholar on your own computer you may either register for web access or download the SciFinder Scholar client software. If you want to use the client version of SciFinder Scholar from off-campus, download the VPN Software first, followed by the SciFinder Scholar Software
    Finding Review articles in SciFinder Scholar client version: After you have conducted a search and have a list of references, limit your results to Review Articles by using the Refine option and then selecting Document Type.
    Finding Review articles in SciFinder Scholar web version: Check the box for Document Type: Review located under the research topic search box.
  • Scopus
    Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.
    To limit to Review Articles, select Review listed under Document Types above the search results.

Find the Full-text of Journal Articles finditatMU

  • If you’re looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the finditatMU button next to the article citation. The article will display if it’s available electronically. If there is no online access, you’ll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog
  • If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries’ homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter  finditatMU. Once in finditatMU you’re given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check MERLIN to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
  • MU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the full-text using  finditatMU, select the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy.You can also request an article without using the  finditatMU feature by filling out an article request form which is available from Request Items-ILL@MU under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries homepage. Usually you will receive the article electronically within a few days of placing your request

Other Resources

  • Annual Reviews
    Searchable full-text of the entire run of and Annual Reviews series. Includes Annual Review of Biochemistry, 1930-date,
  • Brenda: the Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
    Searchable database of enzyme information including nomenclature, enzyme-ligand interactions, functional parameters, organism related information, enzyme structure, molecular properties and bibliographies. Provides key journal references. Available free of charge for academic, non-profit users.
  • Methods in Enzymology
    Searchable full-text version of the entire run of Methods in Enzymology from 1955 to date.
  • For additional online and print resources in biochemistry go to the following MU Libraries subject web guide: Biochemistry