LITERARY SEARCH GUIDE

Literary Sources

African American literary criticism, 1773 to 2000 Ellis Library Ref PS153.N5.A33
Afro-American writers before the Harlem renaissance Ellis Library Ref PN451.D43 50
Afro-American writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940 Ellis Library Ref PN451.D43 51
Black literature criticism : excerpts from criticism of the most significant works of Black authors over the past 200 years Ellis Library Ref PS153.N5 B556 1992
The Black scholar Ellis Library E185.5 .B57
Black writers : a selection of sketches from Contemporary authors : contains more than four hundred entries on twentieth-century black writers, all updated or originally written for this volume Ellis Library Ref PN490.B53 1989
Black writers abroad Ellis Library PS153.N5.C56 1999
Black writers in New England Ellis Library PS153.N5.C42 1985
Black writers of America Ellis Library PS508.N3.B35
Black writers of the thirties Ellis Library PS153.N5.Y6
CLA journal. Ellis Library PN2 .C23
Contemporary authors. New revision series Ellis Library Ref Z1224 .C62
Contemporary literary criticism. Ellis Library Ref PN779 .C6
Dark matter : a century of speculative fiction from the African diaspora Ellis Library PS648.S3.D37 2000
Harlem Renaissance and beyond : literary biographies of 100 Black women writers, 1900-1945 Ellis Library Ref PS153.N5.R65 1990
Index to Black poetry Ellis Library Ref PS153.N5.C45
Index to poetry by Black American women Ellis Library Z1229.N39.C45 1986
Literature and its times : profiles of 300 notable literary works and the historical events that influenced them Ellis Library Ref PN50.L574 1997
Negro American literature forum Ellis Library PS173.N4 N4
The Oxford companion to African American literature Ellis Library Ref PS173.N4 O96 1997
Selected Black American, African, and Caribbean authors : a bio-bibliography PS153.N5 P33 1985
Short story criticism. Ellis Library Ref PN3373 .S386
Something about the author Ellis Library Ref PN451 .S6
Twentieth-century literary criticism Ellis Library Ref PN94 .T88
African American biography Ellis Library Ref E185.96 .A44 1994
The African-American experience on file Ellis Library Ref E185, A2533 1999
African American voices Ellis Library Ref E185,A2573 1996
American decades Ellis Library Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
Anthology of the American Negro in the theatre; a critical approach, Ellis Library Ref PN2226.P3 1969
Black saga : the African American experience Ellis Library Ref E185.C519 1995
Chronology of African American history : from 1492 to the present Ellis Library Ref E185.H64 1997
Contemporary Black biography Ellis Library Ref E185.96 .C66
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history Ellis Library Ref E185.E54 1996
The encyclopedia of African-American heritage Ellis Library Ref E185.A455 1997
The Encyclopedia of civil rights in America Ellis Library Ref E185.61.E544 1988
Great African-American women Ellis Library Ref E185.96 L95
Historical Negro biographies Ellis Library Ref E185.96.R56 1970
I too am America; documents from 1619 to the present Ellis Library Ref E185.R76
Index to the Schomburg clipping file Ellis Library Ref E185.5 S35
An introduction to black literature in America, from 1746 to the present Ellis Library Ref PS508.N3 P3
Notable Black American men Ellis Library Ref E185.86 N68
Notable Black American women Ellis Library Ref E185.96 N68 1992
The quest for equality; from Civil War to civil rights Ellis Library Ref E185.6 .W4 1969
Reference library of Black America Ellis Library Ref E185.R44 2000

Indexes

ABELL Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature
America History and Life U.S. & Canadian History
G.K. Hall index to Black periodicals Ellis Library Ref AI3 .I552
Literary Index indexes Gale Publications such as Contemporary Authors and Literary Criticism
MLA Modern Literature & Languages, Folklore

Internet

To find web sites on African American Literary or historical topics:

1. Go to Google http://www.google.com/
2. Click on Google Web Directory
3. Under Society, click on People
4. Click on Ethnic
5. Click on African American
6. Click on Literature/History

To find films/videos on African American Literary or historical topics:

1. Go to the Academic Support Center home page http://web.missouri.edu/~ascwww/
2. Click on Media Library
3. Click on Online Catalog
4. Click on Search Full Catalog
5. Use box provided for keyword, title or subject searches

The International Black Writers and Artists home page http://members.tripod.com/~IBWA/home.htm provides several relevant links.

The Voice of the Shuttle home page http://vos.ucsb.edu/ is a valuable resource for literary and historical research.