Databases for Statistics and Data Sets

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Data-Planet Statistical Data SetsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides data visualization for more than 500 datasets from government and private industry, both domestic and international. Emphasis is in 20th century U.S. economic data and includes diverse subjects such as health, politics, demographics, social services and environmental data. Time spans vary by topic. Charting, plotting and mapping options available. Export data into MS Excel, XML, PDF, or into shape files for GIS. [more]
Historical Statistics of the United StatesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]
Social Trends and IndicatorsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. [more]
American FactFinder

This site will guide to to data on your community. Choose: -“Fact Sheet” for quick access to basic demographic, social and economic data on your city, town, county or state or ZIP Code. -“People” to find more popular tables on a variety of topics (age, education, income, race and more) for your area. -“Housing” to find popular tables on home values, ownership, housing characteristics and mortgage. -“Business and Government” for data on housing starts, government finances, foreign trade and more. [more]
Dartmouth Atlas

The Dartmouth Atlas Project is run by the Center for Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School. It’s goal is to “accurately describe how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States.” Using information compiled by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the data covers hospitalizations of people aged 65 to 99 in the traditional Medicare system who are free to select any participating physician or hospital. Data is available from 1994-2003. [more]
EuroStat Data Explorer

EuroStat Data Explorer provides access to statistical tables, data series and publications from Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Communities. [more]
FAOSTAT

Sponsored by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Covers international statistics in agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality, and more. [more]
HCUPnet

An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]
HSRR – Health Service and Sciences Research Resources

Contains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]
International Financial Statistics (IFS)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a database provided by the International Monetary Fund. It offers approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries, 1948 – present (data availability may vary by country and date). It includes exchange rates, fund accounts and main global and country economic indicators. [more]
TRI – Toxic Release Inventory

A system for tracking the release of chemicals into the environment. Search by company, geographic location, or chemical for a given year. [more]