Public Policy

Databases for Public Policy

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
CQ WeeklyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Weekly provides the CQ Weekly Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, commerce and politics. Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
PAISRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. [more]
ProQuest CongressionalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ProQuest Congressional indexes congressional publications from 1789 to date and provides full text for much of it. This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress. [more]
ScopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in Political Science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. [more]
CIAO – Columbia International Affairs OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Access provided by the MU School of Law Library. [more]
CQ AlmanacRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
[more]
CQ ResearcherRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]
Digital National Security ArchiveRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). [more]
GenderWatchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women’s issues. [more]
Google ScholarCD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries. [more]
JSTORRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. [more]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library. [more]
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Covers over 189,000 criminal justice publications dating back to the 1970s. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drug abuse, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. In addition to journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and unpublished research are also included. From the U.S. Department of Justice. [more]
U.S. Congressional Serial SetRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]