Electronic Textbooks

Electronic Textbooks: Medicine

Best Bets:

Kumar & Clark’s Clinical Medicine, 9th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Kumar’s Clinical Medicine; Kumar Clinical Medicine




More Core Electronic Textbooks:

AAFP Conditions A to ZRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


AccessMedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search a collection approximately 100 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst’s The Heart, and many more. Click on My AccessMedicine to register for a free password which entitles you to use the Lange self-assessment tool for board preparation, PDF chapter downloads, and podcasts. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


Adams & Victor’s Principles of NeurologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Aminoff’s Neurology and General Medicine, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Neurology and General Medicine


Behavioral Medicine : A Guide for Clinical PracticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Big Picture : Medical BiochemistryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Books@OvidAnyone can use

A collection of major medical, nursing and pharmacy reference texts. Titles can be searched individually or as a whole. [more]


Churchill’s Pocketbook of Differential DiagnosisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis; Differential Diagnosis


Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.Anyone can use


Clinical Cases in Tropical MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Clinical Decision Support: the Road to Broad Adoption, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Clinical EvidenceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly. [more]


Clinician’s Pocket ReferenceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Conn’s Current Therapy 2017Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Current Clinical MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cleveland Clinic: Current Clinical Medicine


Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2018Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Current Consult: Medicine;Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment

The content of Papadakis & McPhee’s Current Consult: Medicine is included under the Quick Access Tab in AccessMedicine. [more]


Davidson’s Principles and Practice of MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Principles and Practice of Medicine


DeGowin’s Diagnostic ExaminationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


DiagnosaurusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]


DynaMed PlusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]


Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology : Health and Illness in the World’s CulturesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Discusses health and disease from a variety of cultural perspectives. The specific needs of homeless, refugee, and indigent populations are discussed, along with over 50 distinct ethnic groups: African Americans, Amish, Argentine Toba, Badaga, Bangladeshis, Baliem Valley Dani, British, Burmese, Cree, Czechs, Datoga, Fore, French, Fulani, Garhwali, Garifuna, Greeks, The Hadza, Haitians, Han, Hausa, Hmong in Laos and the United States, Iroquois, Jamaican Maroons, Japanese, Jat, Lijiang Naxi, Malagasy, Malays, Maori, Matsigenka, Maya of Highland Mexico, Mongolia, The Nahua1, Navajo, Nepal, The Northwest Coast, Ojibwa, Oklahoma Choctaw, Roma of the United States and Europe, Samoa, Saraguros, Shipibo, Sotho, Sudanese, Thai, Tongans, Trobriand, Tuareg, Wape, Yanomamö, Yoruba. [more]


Epocrates MedToolsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A variety of free add-on programs to accompany ePocrates. Currently includes a tumor staging reference, a bone health assessment tool, dosing calculators, and treatment guides for cholesterol, psychiatry, and hypertension. [more]


Essentials of Clinical GeriatricsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Geriatrics

For nearly three decades, the goal of Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics has remained unchanged: to help clinicians do a better job of caring for their older patients. You will find thorough and authoritative coverage of all the important issues in geriatrics, along with concise, practical guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases and disorders most commonly encountered in an elderly patient. [more]


Ferri’s Practical Guide: Fast Facts for Patient CareRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Fast Facts for Patient Care


Ferri’s Clinical Advisor 2018Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Advisor


Ferri’s Differential DiagnosisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Differential Diagnosis


FREIDAAnyone can use

This is the Directory of Graduate Medical Education programs (commonly known as the “Green Book”) online. [more]


Gale Encyclopedia of MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone. [more]


Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 25th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cecil Textbook of Medicine; Cecil’s Medicine; Goldman’s Cecil Medicine


Guide to Culturally Competent Healthcare, Third editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Harrison’s Manual of MedicineAnyone can use


Harrison’s Principles of Internal MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Harrison’s Online


Hazzard’s Geriatric Medicine and GerontologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology


Healthcare Standards DirectoryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Health Care Standards Directory


Henry’s Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory MethodsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods


Histology & Cell Biology: Examination & Board Review, 5eRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Histology and cell biology: examination and board review

This popular title in the LANGE series is specifically designed to help you make the most of your study time–whether you’re studying histology and cell biology for the first time or reviewing for course exams or the USMLE. With this focused review you will be able to pinpoint your weak areas, and then improve your comprehension with learning aids especially designed to help you understand and retain even the most difficult material. You will find complete easy-to-follow coverage of all the need-to-know material: fundamental concepts, the four basic tissues types, and organs and organ systems–presented in a consistent, time-saving design. At the conclusion of the book, you will find a Diagnostic Final Exam that has been updated with longer, case-related stems that mimic the USMLE Step 1 examination. [more]


Hutchison’s Clinical Methods: An Integrated Approach to Clinical PracticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Methods: An Integrated Approach to Clinical Practice


Improvised medicine: providing care in extreme environmentsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Improvised Medicine is written for healthcare providers treating patients during a crisis situation or in a primitive environment, for diseases and disorders they have little or no hands-on experience with. The book begins with situational analysis and basic needs in a crisis, then moves on to cover specific triage, diagnosis, and stabilization efforts. It then provides medical interventions for surgical and non-surgical problems. [more]


Integrative Medicine, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Kumar & Clark’s Clinical Medicine, 9th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Kumar’s Clinical Medicine; Kumar Clinical Medicine

Recommended for PBL Block 6. [more]


LANGE Self Assessment ToolRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Click on LANGE Self Assessment tool and complete the free registration form to access 3000 USLME Step 1 and Step 2 sample board exam questions. From USMLEasy.com. [more]


MedCalc 3000Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Medical InterviewRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Medical Interview


Medical Sciences, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Medicine: A Competency-Based CompanionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


mediLexicon Medical Abbreviations DirectionaryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search over 200,000 medical abbreviations and their definitions. [more]


Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases, ProceduresAnyone can use
Also Known as: emedicine

Clinical knowledge base of more than 7,000 diseases and disorders, formerly known as emedicine. Free registration required. An iPhone download version is available. [more]


Merck Manual of Diagnosis and TherapyAnyone can use

The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine. [more]


Most Common Inpatient Problems in Internal MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Most Common Inpatient Problems in Internal Medicine; Inpatient Problems in Internal Medicine


Murray and Nadel’s Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 6th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Textbook of Respiratory Medicine


Netter’s Internal MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Internal Medicine


Palliative medicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Patient History: an Evidence-Based Approach to Differential DiagnosisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis

For medical students and other health professions students, an accurate differential diagnosis starts with The Patient History. The ideal companion to major textbooks on the physical examination, this trusted guide is widely acclaimed for its skill-building, and evidence based approach to the medical history. Now in full color, The Patient History defines best practices for the patient interview, explaining how to effectively elicit information from the patient in order to generate an accurate differential diagnosis. The second edition features all-new chapters, case scenarios, and a wealth of diagnostic algorithms. Introductory chapters articulate the fundamental principles of medical interviewing. The book employs a rigorous evidenced-based approach, reviewing and highlighting relevant citations from the literature throughout each chapter. [more]


Pfenninger and Fowler’s Procedures for Primary CareRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Procedures for Primary Care; Pfenninger’s Procedures for Primary Care


Primary Care Medicine ( Goroll )Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Principles and Practice of Hospital MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Principles of Medical Biochemistry, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Biochemistry


Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2017Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: QMDT;Quick Medical Diagnosis and Treatment;Quick Medical Dx & Rx

Provides practical, expert information on diagnosis and management when you just have a few minutes. It is a single-source reference designed for quick and easy access to the information you need in the clinical setting. [more]


Red Book: 2015 Report of the Committee on Infectious DiseasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Standard infectious disease reference from the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Infectious Diseases. [more]


Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based MethodRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method


Systematic Musculoskeletal ExaminationsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A thorough introductory guide to the techniques of the musculoskeletal examination Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations is a clear, step-by-step learning text and atlas designed to teach essential and foundational skills of musculoskeletal physical assessment. Utilizing concise, easy-to-follow text and hundreds of outstanding photographs, this is an important resource for students, residents in training, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and practicing physicians seeking an organized approach to performing practical, problem-focused musculoskeletal physical examinations.Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations presents a 3-part learning system: 1. Screening Musculoskeletal Examination (SMSE): rapid assessment of structure and function 2. General Musculoskeletal Examination (GMSE): comprehensive assessment of joint inflammation and arthritis 3. Regional Musculoskeletal Examination (RMSE): focused assessments of structure and function combined with special testing of the shoul [more]


Textbook of Physical Diagnosis, 7th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Recommended for School of Medicine IPC Block 5. [more]


UCSF Hospitalist HandbookAnyone can use


Understanding Clinical ResearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Understanding Clinical Research addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyze study results. This timely resource covers all aspects of clinical trials–from study design and statistics to regulatory oversight–and it delivers a detailed yet streamlined overview of must-know research topics. The text features an accessible three-part organization that traces the evolution of clinical research and explains the bedrock principles and unique challenges of clinical experimentation and observational research. Reinforcing this content are real-life case examples–drawn from the authors’ broad experience–that put chapter concepts into action and contribute to a working knowledge of integral research techniques. [more]


Understanding Global Health, 2eRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The phrase “global health” is frequently thrown around in political and medical debates. But what exactly is global health? The text Understanding Global Health answers this question eloquently in its comprehensive discussion of health, health care, and health systems from a universal perspective. Although this book is written with the medical student or public health student in mind, it can definitely be utilized by anyone who is interested in learning more about the subject. [more]


Understanding Medical ProfessionalismRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Professionalism


Understanding Patient Safety, 3rd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Understanding Teamwork in Health CareRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Teamwork in Health Care

Understanding Teamwork in Health Care is a book about how to work proficiently in and with teams, both in clinical care and management settings. The book’s purpose is to enable people working in health care to improve the performance of the teams they work in, lead, or manage so that the interests of patients are better served. The book aims to offset in some measure a deficiency in the education of almost all health care professionals in the United States, namely, the lack of training about working in teams composed of people from various professions. Nearly all professionals working in health care are obliged to puzzle out interprofessional teamwork on their own. This book is intended to help health care professionals in this effort [more]


UpToDateAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Search a drug in UpToDate to view the Lexi-Comp information on drug dosage, uses, interactions, side effects, and more. [more]


Webster’s New World Medical DictionaryAnyone can use
Also Known as: websters medical dictionary


Wilderness MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri




Link to some of the most popular electronic textbooks on various subjects below

Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions Nursing