Electronic Textbooks

Electronic Textbooks: Anatomy

Best Bets:

Before we are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects, 9th edition.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Big Picture : Gross AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture


Gray’s Anatomy, 41st ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Gray’s


Larsen’s Human Embryology, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: larsens embryology; larsons embryology


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part I, the Upper Digestive Tract, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part I; Medical Illustrations: Upper Digestive Tract; Digestive System Part I, the Upper Digestive Tract


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part II: Lower Digestive Tract, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part II: Lower Digestive Tract; Lower Digestive Tract


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part III: Liver, Biliary Tract, and PancreasRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part III: Liver, Biliary Tract, and Pancreas; Liver, Biliary Tract, and Pancreas; Digestive System


Smith’s Recognizable Patterns of Human DeformationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Recognizable Patterns of Human Deformation; Human Deformation


Smith’s Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation; Human Malformation


Wheater’s Review of Histology & Basic PathologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Review of Histology & Basic Pathology; Histology & Basic Pathology; Wheater’s Histology & Basic Pathology


Developing HumanRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Developing Human




More Core Electronic Textbooks:

Anatomy AtlasesAnyone can use
A digital library of anatomy information from the University of Iowa. Includes cross sectional and microscopic images. Formerly part of the Virtual Hospital [more]


Art of Examining and Interpreting Histologic PreparationsAnyone can use

Required for PBL Block 1. [more]


Bancroft’s Theory and Practice of Histological TechniquesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques


Basic human anatomy : a regional study of human structureAnyone can use

An online adaptation of O’Rahilly’s 2004 textbook, developed at Dartmouth Medical School. [more]


Before we are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects, 9th edition.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Big Picture : Gross AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture


Developing HumanRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Developing Human

Required for School of Medicine PBL Block 1. [more]


Gray’s Anatomy for StudentsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Anatomy for Students


Gray’s Anatomy, 41st ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Gray’s


Gray’s Basic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Basic Anatomy


Gray’s Clinical Neuroanatomy: The Anatomic Basis for Clinical NeuroscienceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Neuroanatomy; Anatomic Basis for Clinical Neuroscience


Gray’s Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human BodyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body


Human Anatomy: Color Atlas and TextbookRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Anatomy Color Atlas and Textbook


Human Brain in Photographs and DiagramsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams


Human Brain: An Introduction to Its Functional Anatomy, 7th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Nolte’s Human Brain; The Human Brain

Recommended for PBL Block 3. [more]


Human Embryology and Developmental BiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Embryology and Developmental Biology


Human Histology, Stevens and LoweRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Human Nervous SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Human Nervous System


Krause’s Essentials of Human Histology for Medical Students, 3rd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Required for PBL Block 1. [more]


Lange Case FilesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology

In addition to the Lange Case Files in AccessMedicine, some additional/newer Lange Case Files are located here. [more]


Larsen’s Human Embryology, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: larsens embryology; larsons embryology


McMinn and Abrahams’ Clinical Atlas of Human AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy


McMinn’s Color Atlas of Foot and Ankle AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Color Atlas of Foot and Ankle Anatomy; Foot and Ankle Anatomy


McMinn’s Color Atlas of Head and Neck AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy; Head and Neck Anatomy


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations : Part I, Upper LimbRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations : Part I, the Upper Limb; Medical Illustrations : Part I, Upper Limb; Netter’s Upper Limb;


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: BrainRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Collection of Medical Illustrations: Brain; Medical Illustrations: Brain; Netter’s Brain


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Cardiovascular SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Cardiovascular System; Medical Illustrations: The Cardiovascular System; Netter’s the Cardiovascular System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part I, the Upper Digestive Tract, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part I; Medical Illustrations: Upper Digestive Tract; Digestive System Part I, the Upper Digestive Tract


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part II: Lower Digestive Tract, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part II: Lower Digestive Tract; Lower Digestive Tract


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part III: Liver, Biliary Tract, and PancreasRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part III: Liver, Biliary Tract, and Pancreas; Liver, Biliary Tract, and Pancreas; Digestive System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Endocrine SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Endocrine System; Medical Illustrations: Endocrine System; Netter’s Endocrine System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Integumentary SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Integumentary System; Medical Illustrations: Integumentary System; Netter’s Integumentary System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Reproductive SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Reproductive System; Medical Illustrations: Reproductive System; Netter’s Reproductive System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Respiratory SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Respiratory System; Medical Illustrations: Respiratory System; Netter’s Respiratory System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory SystemsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems; Netter’s Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Spine and Lower LimbRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Spine and Lower Limb; Netter’s Spine and Lower Limb


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Urinary SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Urinary System; Medical Illustrations: Urinary System; Netter’s Urinary System


Netter PresenterAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

An image library that can be used with PowerPoint. Available only from the computers on the first floor of the library and the medical student PBL labs. [more]


Netter’s Concise Orthopaedic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Concise Orthopaedic Anatomy; Orthopaedic Anatomy; Netter’s Orthopaedic Anatomy Netter’s Concise Orthopedic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Abdominal and Pelvic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy; Netter’s Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy; Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Cardiothoracic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Cardiothoracic Anatomy; Netter’s Cardiothoracic Anatomy; Cardiothoracic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: NeuroanatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Neuroanatomy; Netter’s Neuroanatomy; Neuroanatomy


Netter’s Atlas of Human EmbryologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Embryology; Netter’s Human Embryology


Netter’s Atlas of NeuroscienceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Neuroscience; Netter’s Neuroscience


Netter’s CardiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cardiology


Netter’s Clinical AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Anatomy


Netter’s Concise Radiologic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Concise Radiologic Anatomy; Netter’s Radiologic Anatomy; Radiologic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Musculoskeletal AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Musculoskeletal Anatomy; Netter’s Musculoskeletal Anatomy; Musculoskeletal Anatomy


Netter’s Essential HistologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Essential Histology; Netter’s Histology


Netter’s GastroenterologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Gastroenterology


Netter’s Head and Neck Anatomy for DentistryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry


Netter’s Surgical Anatomy and ApproachesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Surgical Anatomy and Approaches


Netter’s Surgical Anatomy Review P.R.N.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Surgical Anatomy Review P.R.N.


Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Colour Text, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Color Text


Smith’s Recognizable Patterns of Human DeformationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Recognizable Patterns of Human Deformation; Human Deformation


Smith’s Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation; Human Malformation


Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy , Vol. 1Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Anatomy; Sobotta’s Atlas of Human Anatomy


Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol. 2Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Anatomy; Sobotta’s Atlas of Human Anatomy


Sobotta Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol. 3Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Anatomy; Sobotta’s Atlas of Human Anatomy


Wheater’s Functional HistologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Functional Histology; Wheater’s Histology


Wheater’s Review of Histology & Basic PathologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Review of Histology & Basic Pathology; Histology & Basic Pathology; Wheater’s Histology & Basic Pathology




Link to some of the most popular electronic textbooks on various subjects below

Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Caryn Scoville

Caryn Scoville
(573) 882-2844
scovillec@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Child Health