Databases

Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the MU logo icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

 

Resources by Type: Book reviews

Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall icon are accessible only to MU users.

EconLitRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as econ lit; eonlit; econolit
EconLit provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs. [more]



HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Hispanic index; HAPI

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index indexes articles from over 575 journals on all aspects of life in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States. [more]



JSTORRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as justor; jsor; j sor; j sotr; jsotr; j stro; jstro; j tsor; jtsor; J-Store; Jstore; j-stor; j store; J Stor

JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. [more]



LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as LLBA

LLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology. [more]



PsycINFORestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as Psychological Abstracts; psychinfoPsychological Abstracts; psychoinfoPsychological Abstracts; psyc infoPsychological Abstracts; psychology

Locate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]



DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar  
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
 

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  
  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date
  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.



ASME Standards - TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards
Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.



Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
  • Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources