Databases // Libraries // Mizzou // University of Missouri

Databases

Databases A-ZDatabases by SubjectDatabases by TypeTry First: Resources for ResearchTrial Databases

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the MU logo icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

Resources by Type: Newspaper Articles

Purchased databases with the stackedlogo-bg-verysmall

icon are accessible only to MU users.

African American Communities Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

African American Communities contains digitized primary sources related to African American communities in North, South and Midwest, specifically, St. Louis, Chicago, Atlanta, Brooklyn and some North Carolina towns. Included are documents pertaining to the infamous Pruitt-Igoe housing project, various urban issues around schools, housing and police relations, interviews with key figures in the African-American arts scene in Atlanta, and a complete run of The Messenger, characterized by the Justice Department in 1919 as "the most able and the most dangerous of all the Negro publications." [more]

Business Source Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as business source; Business Premier; Business Search Premier; Business Source Premeir; BSP; Business Premier Source; business source primier

Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis. [more]

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Anyone can use

Chronicling America provides a directory listing American newspapers published from 1690 to the present and identifying libraries that hold these papers. Images of some newspaper pages from 1890 to 1910 are available as a prototype of the National Digital Newspaper Project, which will eventually provide digital access to significant newspapers from 1836 to 1922. [more]

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as factivia; factive; fativa; newspapers; dow jones; newspaper; factivs; Dow Jones Interactive

Factiva provides access to more than 32,000 sources (such as newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc.) from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages, including more than 600 continuously updated newswires. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only. [more]

Global Newsstream Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format. [more]

Historic Missouri Newspaper Project Anyone can use
Also Known as missouri newspaper project

Historic Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers. [more]

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints� Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]

Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office Anyone can use
Also Known as Index Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office

Includes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General's Office was the precursor to today's National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well. [more]

NewsBank Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as newspapers; newspaper

Newsbank includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers. [more]

Newspaper Source Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers and contains full text for more than 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. Access provide by MOREnet. [more]

Palmer's Index to the Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2020), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) and the Washington Post (1877-2007). [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Chicago Defender (1909-2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable cover-to-cover full image of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1999. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT; proquestNew York Times;historical New York Times; NYT; pro quest

ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2020) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: St. Louis Post-Dispatch Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-text, searchable access to the St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons and more. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as WSJ

Searchable cover-to-cover full image of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2012. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable cover-to-cover full image of the Washington Post from 1877-2007. [more]

The Times Digital Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as London Times

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, with every page of every issue from 1785 through 2012. [more]

US Newsstream Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as News stand; ProQuest Newsstand; Newsstand

ProQuest Newsstand contains over 1169 newspapers, 134 trade journals, 62 general interest periodicals, 134 blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and major regionals like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news. [more]

DATABASES BY TYPE

Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
Find out who's citing particular articles

Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
Does not include the last five years of issues

Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Current and Controversial Issues

1991 to date
Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

Pros and cons of controversial issues

News and Newspapers

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date
Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
1980's to date

Full-text newspapers and trade journals
Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Create citations in APA and MLA format: Citation Builder
Manage your references and automatically create bibliographies and in-text citations.
- Endnote
- Zotero
- Mendeley

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

ASME Standards - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Also Known as American Society of Mechanical Engineers Standards

Contains full-text access to all active American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) standards, including the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC). These codes and standards cover a breadth of topics, including pressure technology, nuclear plants, elevators/escalators, construction, engineering design, standardization, and performance testing. Trial ends June 1st, 2024. [more]
Please give feedback for the trial.

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources.

You MUST

Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
Comply with all applicable laws concerning copyright and intellectual property

You MUST NOT

Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources