Resources by Type: Journal Articles
Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users.
AAPG Digital Library - American Association of Petroleum Geologists
Also Known as AAPG DatapagesThe AAPG Digital Library (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) consists of over 600,000 pages of petroleum, geology and geophysics information mainly from international, national and regional geological society publications and the AAPG.
[more]
ABELL
Also Known as Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; AbelAnnual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; Able
ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations dealing with the study of literature and linguistics published anywhere in the world. Coverage is 1920 to date.
[more]
ACM Digital Library
Also Known as ACM Digital; ACM Portal; ACMDL; AMC Digital Library; Association for Computing Machinery
ACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947. Also provides selected works published by affiliated organizations.
[more]
African Index Medicus
Focuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization
[more]
AGRICOLA
Also Known as agriculture; AGRICultural OnLine Access; agrikola
AGRICOLA is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife.
[more]
AIDSinfo Drug Database
A dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers' names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services.
[more]
ALTBIB: Bibliography on the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing
A searchable bibliography of animal testing alternatives. Citations come from journal articles indexed in National Library of Medicine Databases.
[more]
American Periodical Series Online
Also Known as american periodical series online; american periodicals series; APS
American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900.
[more]
AnthroSource
Also Known as Anthro source
AnthroSource covers current issues for 15 key American Anthropological Association publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Back issues of all AAA journals.
[more]
ArticleFirst
Also Known as article first; articles first
ArticleFirst is an OCLC index of articles from approximately 16,000 journals. Subjects covered include business, social science, science, technology, humanities, medicine, and culture. Coverage is 1990 to date.
[more]
ASABE Technical Library
Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license.
[more]
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
Also Known as ASCE CE Database; CEDB
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines,
[more]
askHERMES
Also Known as ask hermes ; medQA ; med Q A ; MedQ@A
An experimental search engine to mine PubMed/MEDLINE, eMedicine, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for answers to clinical questions. Type in a specific question for best results.
[more]
BELIT - Bioethics Literature Database
Also Known as BELIT; Bioethics literature
Search over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en ethique des sciences de la vie et de la sante, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris). Website supports English and German versions of its interface.
[more]
Biblioteca Virtual de Ciencias Sociales de America Latina y el Caribe
The Latin American and Caribbean social science virtual library provides access to over 7000 full text documents, a databases of publications and research projects, a directory of researchers, and a collection of multimedia resources--video, audio, and images.
[more]
Business Source Premier
Also Known as Business Premier; Business Search Premier; Business Source Premeir; business source; Business Premier Source; business source primier; BSP
Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
[more]
CABDirect
Also Known as CAB Abstracts; CABI; cabCAB Abstracts; CABI; cab direct
Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives.
[more]
Clase and Periodica
Index of 2,600 Latin American journals published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English language and covering sciences, social sciences and humanities. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
[more]
Cochrane Methodology Register
With over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions.
[more]
CQ Researcher
Also Known as cqresearcher
CQ Researcher is a resource for in-depth, analytical reporting on current and controversial issues. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro's and con's.
[more]
DARE - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness
DARE provides access to systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions in the areas of diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening and treatment. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE. Limit MEDLINE results to articles chosen for DARE reviews by checking the box labelled "Article Reviews (DARE)".
File closed as of December 2014 - no plans to add new material. [more]
DART Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology
Contains over 37,000 references to literature on agents that may cause birth defects. For references prior to 1989, search ETICBACK.
[more]
dialnet
Dialnet searches for articles, books, and theses in all subject areas. It provides access to some articles in full text. Default Language may not be English for your computer. To change the language look towards the top right of the screen. There will be an option to change it to any one of multiple languages. *Note* The help menu will still be in spanish.
[more]
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
Also Known as Cochran; Cochrane
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand researches by members of the Cochrane Collaborations.
[more]
EBSCOhost
Also Known as epsco host; epscohost; ebscohost; epsco
EBSCOhost is an interface that allows users to search over 40 databases across several disciplines at once. Includes full-text access to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.
[more]
EconLit
Also Known as econ lit; eonlit; econolit
EconLit provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs.
[more]
Education Full Text
Also Known as Wilson
Education Full Text provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index.
[more]
Engineering Village
Also Known as Compendex; compendixCompendex; EiCompendex; Ei CompendexCompendex; Ei VillageCompendex; Engineering CompendexCompendex; Engineering IndexCompendex; Engineering InformationCompendex; Engineering Village
Multidisciplinary applied engineering, mathematical, and physical and materials science databases. Cross searches Compendex (engineering), Knovel (STEM ebooks), and Georef (geology, geography, physical sciences).
[more]
Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBI
Also Known as entre; entrée
Enter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more.
[more]
ERIC
Also Known as erric; educational; education
ERIC provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date.
[more]
ETHXWeb
Also Known as ETHX Web; bioethicsline
Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline.
[more]
Evidence Alerts
Also Known as bmj evidence updates; evidenceupdates; bmjupdates+; bmjupdates; bmj updates
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates.
[more]
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
Also Known as Fish and Fisheries Worldwide
Provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture.
[more]
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
Also Known as FSTA
Food Science and Technology Abstracts provides coverage of all scientific and technological aspects of the processing and manufacturing of human food products.
[more]
GreenFILE
Free EBSCO database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes Scholarly and general interest titles.
[more]
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Also Known as HAPI; Hispanic index
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index indexes articles from over 575 journals on all aspects of life in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States.
[more]
Highwire Press
Search the full-text of almost 1 million articles hosted by Highwire Press; journals from major scientific societies like PNAS, American Journal of Physiology, Journal of Biological Chemistry are fully searchable back to their inception as early as 1899.
[more]
HISTLINE
The HISTLINE history of medicine database is no longer available. Historical journal articles can be searched in
PubMed; the books and book chapters formerly found in HISTLINE have been moved to
LocatorPlus. All books, book chapters, and journal articles from 1964-1993 formerly found in HISTLINE can also be found in the print resource,
Bibliography of the History of Medicine, in the reference collection at the Health Sciences Library.
[more]
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
HSRProj is a database of description of in progress research funded by federal and private grants and contracts. This database is maintained by the U.S National Library of Medicine. Permits the download of bulk data.
[more]
IEEE Xplore
Also Known as Explor; Explore; IEE; IEEE Proceedings; IEEE Publications; IEEE Standards; IEEE Xplor; IEEE/IEE Electronic Library; IET Online; Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers; Xplor; Xplore; IEEExplore; IEEE; IEEE Explore
Full-text access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards.
[more]
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
Also Known as IMEMR; Middle east medline
The MEDLINE for medical journals published in the Eastern Mediterranean Region, including the countries of Afghanistan, Bahrain, Cyprus, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, The Occupied Territories, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, U.A.E., and Yemen Arab Republic. Indexed with MeSH Medical Subject Headings in English and Arabic. From the World Health Organization.
[more]
Index to Chiropractic Literature Chiroindex
Search for articles in chiropractic journals. From the Chiropractic Library Consortium with funding from the Association of Chiropractic Colleges.
[more]
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office
Also Known as Index Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office
Includes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General's Office was the precursor to today's National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well.
[more]
IndMED
Search 75 prominent Indian medical journals, most of which are not included in MEDLINE. All articles are indexed with MeSH headings. Maintained by the Indian Medlars Centre.
[more]
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)
Also Known as IBIDS ; ODS dietary supplements
Formerly available as a freestanding database called IBIDS International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements, this has now been folded into PubMed. On the PubMed Limits page, choose Dietary Supplements under Subsets.
[more]
IOPScience
Also Known as IOP Science Extra; IOPScience Extra; IOP Science; IOP; Institute of Physics Science; Institute of Physics
IOPscience is an online service for all journal content published by the Institute of Physics. It contains more than 300,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. Also includes pre-prints from eprintweb.org (a free service, based on the arXiv.org at Cornell University), and editorial and news from IOP community websites.
[more]
JSTOR
Also Known as J Stor; j store; j-stor; Jstore; J-Store; jtsor; j tsor; jstro; j stro; jsotr; j sotr; j sor; jsor; justor
JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities.
[more]
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
Also Known as library literature; Library Lit; Wilson; library science
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals.
[more]
LILACS
The Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it's possible to search using English keywords.
[more]
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Also Known as LLBA
LLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology.
[more]
LOCATORplus
Also Known as locator plus
Search the library collection of the National Library of Medicine.
[more]
MasterFile Premier
MasterFile Premier provides searchable full-text for nearly 1,750 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals. Access provided by MOREnet.
[more]
Materials Research Database with METADEX
Also Known as Materials Science; Advanced Polymers AbstractsMaterials Science; AIAMaterials Science; Alloys IndexMaterials Science; Ceramic AbstractsMaterials Science; Ceramics SubfileMaterials Science; Composites Industry AbstractsMaterials Science; Copper Data Center DatabaseMaterials Science; Corrosion AbstractsMaterials Science; CSA MaterialsMaterials Science; CSA Materials Research DatabaseMaterials Science; EMAMaterials Science; Engineered Materials AbstractsMaterials Science; Material ScienceMaterials Science; Materials Business FileMaterials Science; METADEXMaterials Science; Metals AbstractsMaterials Science; Metals Abstracts IndexMaterials Science; WAAMaterials Science; WELDASEARCHMaterials Science; World Aluminum AbstractsMaterials Science; World Ceramic Abstracts
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH.
[more]
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Also Known as Index Medicus; Cancer lit; medline
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries.
Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier
here. [more]
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.
[more]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Also Known as NCJRS
(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library.
[more]
Native Health Research Database
Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database.
[more]
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database
Also Known as ncjrs
Covers over 189,000 criminal justice publications dating back to the 1970s. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drug abuse, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. In addition to journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and unpublished research are also included. From the U.S. Department of Justice.
[more]
NLM Gateway
Most of the resources formerly available via the NLM Gateway are available on the
NLM Homepage. More information is available
here.
[more]
OT CATS: Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised Topics
Each CAT represents an attempt to marshal the available research evidence on occupational therapy interventions. CATS, or Critically Appraised Topics, are shorter and less rigorous versions of systematic reviews which have not undergone peer review. From the University of Western Sydney, New South Wales.
[more]
OTSeeker
Search for randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Studies are ranked using the same PEDro scale used in the Physiotherapy Evidence Database.
[more]
OvidSP Medical Search
Type in a question or topic to see the most relevant results in MEDLINE, Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews, and Journals@Ovid.
[more]
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney.
[more]
Philosopher's Index
Also Known as Philosophers Index
This database is an index to articles on philosophy and related fields.
[more]
Population Index
Provides a searchable index to the entire Population Index database for 1986-2000 (Volumes 52-66), plus annual Geographic Indexes. This bibliography is designed to cover the world's demographic and population literature.
[more]
PreMEDLINE
Also Known as MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations; pre medlineMEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations; premedline
PreMEDLINE provides basic citation information of articles currently being indexed for MEDLINE.
[more]
PrimateLit
Search for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin's
Primate Info Net (PIN).
[more]
ProQuest Technology Collection
Also Known as CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection
ProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals. It is comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962.
[more]
PsycINFO
Also Known as Psychological Abstracts; psychologyPsychological Abstracts; psyc infoPsychological Abstracts; psychoinfoPsychological Abstracts; psychinfo
Locate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results.
[more]
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
Also Known as psychological abstracts; pyschopsychological abstracts; pyschpsychological abstracts; psychinfopsychological abstracts; psych infopsychological abstracts; psych articlespsychological abstracts; psycarticlespsychological abstracts; psyc inforpsychological abstracts; psyc infopsychological abstracts; psyc articlespsychological abstracts; psychological abstractspsychological abstracts; psycharticles
PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided.
[more]
PubMed
Also Known as MEDLARS; PMID; pub med; pumed; Index Medicus
The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier
here. [more]
REHABDATA
Literature on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center.
[more]
ScienceDirect
Also Known as ScienceDirect Freedom Collection; Freedom Collection
freedom collectionScienceDirect Freedom Collection; Science DirectScienceDirect Freedom Collection; elsevier
Search through journals, books, reference works, and images for the Physical Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
[more]
Scopus
Also Known as citation index; scorpus; scopes; scoups; scope; scop; scops; scopous; scopos; scopius; scopies; scopis
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources , including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Scopus allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
[more]
Sociological Abstracts
Also Known as sociology; sociofile
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
[more]
The Morgue Mortuary Journals Database
Indexes articles in 11 mortuary science journals - coverage dates vary. Search by subject or author. Journal titles are abbreviated; see guide at the bottom of results pages. From Kansas City Kansas Community College.
[more]
VetMed Resource
Contains the Veterinary Science Database, a subset of CAB Abstracts covering all aspects of veterinary medicine. Coverage includes companion animals, equines, food animals, aquaculture species, zoo animals, and wild animals. Also contains CAB Reviews; In Brief and In Depth articles; the Animal Health and Production Compendium; and a Calendar focused on veterinary conferences and other events worldwide. Geared toward those working in the field of veterinary medicine and animal health.
[more]
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)
Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985.
[more]
WorldCat
Also Known as WorldCat OCLC Catalog; world catWorldCat OCLC Catalog; OCLC/WorldCat
WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 95 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
[more]
DATABASES BY TYPE
Resources grouped by type or format of information that they provide (e.g. primary sources, images)
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
