Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865. Abraham Lincoln Papers.

Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865. ABRAHAM LINCOLN PAPERS.

Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1957
97 reel(s)

These papers, some 40,000 items, contain correspondence and other papers, mainly letters, addressed to Lincoln during his presidency. The collection includes some 1200 items preserved by John G. Nicoloy in his capacity as Lincoln's secretary and editor. Two drafts of the Gettysburg Address and the letter of condolence from Queen Victoria to Mary Todd Lincoln are included. Correspondents include Nathaniel Banks, Edward Bates, Montgomery Blair, Benjamin Brewster, Salmon P. Chase, Schuyler Colfax, David Davis, Ulysses S. Grant, John Hay, Andrew Johnson, Reverdy Johnson, George B. McClellan, George G. Meade, Edwin D. Morgan, William Rosecrans, William H. Seward, Horatio Seymour, Caleb B. Smith, James Speed, Edwin M. Stanton, Charles Sumner, Lyman Trumbull, Lew Wallace, Elihu B. Washburn, and Gideon Welles.

FILM 20:14-21:12


Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Index to the Abraham Lincoln papers

The guide provides an index to writers or recipients.

Posted in Civil War Microforms, History Microforms, Papers of Individuals on Microform