University of Missouri University of Missouri Health Sciences Library MU Libraries

Databases by Subject: Veterinary Medicine

AGRICOLA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

AGRICOLA is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife. [more]
ALTBIB: Bibliography on the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing Anyone can use

A searchable bibliography of animal testing alternatives. Citations come from journal articles indexed in National Library of Medicine Databases. [more]
Animal Health and Production Compendium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Animal Health and Production Compendium focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding. [more]
Biological Abstracts Archive 1980-2013 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Coverage is 1980-2013. [more]
BioOne Abstracts and Indexes Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: BAID

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes is an indexed and fully searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full-text articles available from the BioOne organization. [more]
Birds of North America Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Birds of North America is a comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Includes audio, video and extensive references. [more]
CABDirect Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI

Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives. [more]
Consultant: A Diagnostic Support System for Veterinary Medicine Anyone can use

Produced by Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine. Search by signs or disease. Provides brief synopses of diseases including general description; verterinary species affected; associated signs and symptoms. Includes references to articles and web sites on the clinical aspects of the disease. [more]
FAOSTAT Anyone can use

Sponsored by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Covers international statistics in agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality, and more. [more]
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Fish and Fisheries Worldwide

Provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. [more]
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Anyone can use
Also Known as: IBIDS ; ODS dietary supplements

Formerly available as a freestanding database called IBIDS International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements, this has now been folded into PubMed. On the PubMed Limits page, choose Dietary Supplements under Subsets. [more]
International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS) Anyone can use

Provides access to electronic books, veterinary meeting proceedings, continuing education, international calendar of veterinary events, and image collections. Free registration required. [more]
MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
NORINA Anyone can use

NORINA is an English-language database containing information on over 3,800 audiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching.  [more]
OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals Anyone can use

Database of genes, inherited disorders, and traits in more than 135 animal species other than human and mourse. Produced by University of Sydney. [more]
Online Dissertations: Veterinary Medicine Anyone can use

Access to international Veterinary dissertations. From University of Hanover, Germany. [more]
Plants Toxic to Animals Anyone can use

Information on identifying common plants toxic to animals. Search plants by common or scientific names. Produced by University of Illinois. [more]
Poisonous Plants Informational Database Anyone can use

Botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis, and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora. Includes plant images and images of affected animals. From Cornell University. [more]
PrimateLit Anyone can use

Search for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin's Primate Info Net (PIN). [more]
PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]
VetMed Resource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains the Veterinary Science Database, a subset of CAB Abstracts covering all aspects of veterinary medicine. Coverage includes companion animals, equines, food animals, aquaculture species, zoo animals, and wild animals. Also contains CAB Reviews; In Brief and In Depth articles; the Animal Health and Production Compendium; and a Calendar focused on veterinary conferences and other events worldwide. Geared toward those working in the field of veterinary medicine and animal health. [more]
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. [more]
Zoological Record/Biological Abstracts Archive Combined Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Biological Abstracts Archive indexes and abstracts journal literature in the life sciences from 1980-2013. Zoological Record indexes and abstracts zoological literature including journals, conference proceedings and books. See the entries for each individual database for more information. [more]

Alternative Medicine

Anatomy

Anesthesiology

Biomedical Informatics

Biochemistry

Cardiology/Vascular Disease

Communicable Diseases

Communication Disorders

Consumer Health

Dermatology

Education, Medical

Emergency Medicine

Endocrinology

Epidemiology

Ethics, Medical

Evidence Based Medicine

Family Practice

Gastroenterology

Genetics

Geriatrics

Gerontology

Gynecology/Obstetrics

Health Care Management

Hematology

History of Medicine

Medicine

Microbiology & Immunology

Nephrology/Urology

Neurosciences

Nursing

Nutrition & Dietetics

Occupational Therapy

Oncology

Ophthalmology

Orthopedics

Otolaryngology

Pathology

Pediatrics

Pharmacology

Pharmacy

Physical Therapy

Physiology

Psychiatry

Public Health

Pulmonary Disease

Radiology

Rheumatology

Surgery

Tests/Lab Diagnosis

Toxicology

Veterinary Medicine