University of Missouri University of Missouri Health Sciences Library MU Libraries

Databases by Subject: Public Health

CABDirect Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI

Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives. [more]
Encyclopedia of Research Design Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Sage encyclopedia of research design

An encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed. [more]
ERIC Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ERIC provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date. [more]
Grey Literature Report - New York Academy of Medicine Library Anyone can use
Also Known as: nyam grey literature

Locate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more. Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]
iPOLL Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The iPOLL database provides access to nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics. [more]
MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Native Health Research Database Anyone can use

Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
OECD Health Statistics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: OECD ilibrary; OECD health data; SourceOECD; Source oecd

The demand for health-related data is high. One of the main obstacles limiting meaningful analysis of health care systems has always been, and still is, the lack of sufficient coverage and availability of health care statistics. The need for internationally-comparable data is on the rise as national administrations seek to evaluate their health care systems against those of other countries. OECD Health Data 2010 aims to address a sizeable part of these needs for Member countries. The database is designed to further the knowledge of health services inputs and throughputs, highlight differences in common medical practices, help quantify key non-medical health-related factors and, in a world of financial constraints, to describe key features of each system's financing and delivery mechanisms. [more]
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: psychological abstracts

PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]
PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]
Sociological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: sociology

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]
TOXMAP Anyone can use

A companion to the TRI Toxic Release Inventory. A geographic information system which provides maps showing the release of toxic chemicals over a geographic area. Search by chemical name, chemical name fragment, and/or location (such as city, state, or zip code). [more]
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS) Anyone can use

Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985. [more]

Alternative Medicine

Anatomy

Anesthesiology

Biomedical Informatics

Biochemistry

Cardiology/Vascular Disease

Communicable Diseases

Communication Disorders

Consumer Health

Dermatology

Education, Medical

Emergency Medicine

Endocrinology

Epidemiology

Ethics, Medical

Evidence Based Medicine

Family Practice

Gastroenterology

Genetics

Geriatrics

Gerontology

Gynecology/Obstetrics

Health Care Management

Hematology

History of Medicine

Medicine

Microbiology & Immunology

Nephrology/Urology

Neurosciences

Nursing

Nutrition & Dietetics

Occupational Therapy

Oncology

Ophthalmology

Orthopedics

Otolaryngology

Pathology

Pediatrics

Pharmacology

Pharmacy

Physical Therapy

Physiology

Psychiatry

Public Health

Pulmonary Disease

Radiology

Rheumatology

Surgery

Tests/Lab Diagnosis

Toxicology

Veterinary Medicine