University of Missouri University of Missouri Health Sciences Library MU Libraries

Databases by Subject: Nursing

CINAHL (Ebsco) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines, from 1982 to the present. Material from over 650 journals are included in CINAHL, covering both the nursing literature and the allied health fields such as: Cardiopulmonary Technology, Emergency Services, Health Education, Med/Lab Technology, Medical Assistance, Medical Records, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, Social Science, Surgical Technology, and the Physician's Assistant. Searches can be limited to research articles, nursing journals, etc. [more]
ETS TestLink Test Collection Database Anyone can use

Search over 20,000 psychological and educational tests by either test name or by subject. From the Educational Testing Service. If the "Availability" field mentions Tests in Microfiche, the test can be used for research purposes. Copies of the instruments in Tests in Microfiche are available at Ellis Library. [more]
Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step, from the American Journal of Nursing Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Twelve award winning "how-to" articles on evidence based nursing practice, first published in the American Journal of Nursing. Authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. CE credit is available to readers. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index indexes articles from over 575 journals on all aspects of life in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States. [more]
HSRR - Health Service and Sciences Research Resources Anyone can use

Contains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]
LearningExpress Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Learning Express Library

LearningExpress Library contains online test preparation materials including the ACT, ASVAB, Civil Service, Cosmetology, EMS, Firefighter, GED, GMAT, GRE, Law Enforcement, Paramedic, PPST, Real Estate, SAT, United States Citizenship and more. You will need to register a username and password at the site. [more]
MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Anyone can use
Also Known as: NDLTD

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. [more]
Oxford Dictionary of Nursing Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

[more]
PsycINFO Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Psychological Abstracts

Locate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]
QOLID Quality of Life Instruments Database Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Also Known as: ProQOLID

Search for measures of quality of life and patient reported outcomes by disease, pathology, language and population to identify the names of potential measurement tools. A subscription is required to view additional information beyond the title, including sample questions, reviews, etc. [more]
Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: encyclopedia of qualitative research methods

An interdisciplinary approach to the field of qualitative research, providing background information on concepts that inform qualitative research practices. [more]
Videos in Clinical Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: nejm videos ; new englande journal of medicine videos

Videos showing common medical procedures from the New England Journal of Medicine. Can also be viewed on mobile devices. [more]

Alternative Medicine

Anatomy

Anesthesiology

Biomedical Informatics

Biochemistry

Cardiology/Vascular Disease

Communicable Diseases

Communication Disorders

Consumer Health

Dermatology

Education, Medical

Emergency Medicine

Endocrinology

Epidemiology

Ethics, Medical

Evidence Based Medicine

Family Practice

Gastroenterology

Genetics

Geriatrics

Gerontology

Gynecology/Obstetrics

Health Care Management

Hematology

History of Medicine

Medicine

Microbiology & Immunology

Nephrology/Urology

Neurosciences

Nursing

Nutrition & Dietetics

Occupational Therapy

Oncology

Ophthalmology

Orthopedics

Otolaryngology

Pathology

Pediatrics

Pharmacology

Pharmacy

Physical Therapy

Physiology

Psychiatry

Public Health

Pulmonary Disease

Radiology

Rheumatology

Surgery

Tests/Lab Diagnosis

Toxicology

Veterinary Medicine