University of Missouri University of Missouri Health Sciences Library MU Libraries

Databases by Subject: Medicine

African Index Medicus Anyone can use

Focuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization [more]
Annual Reviews Online Index Anyone can use

Search the full-text of Annual Reviews: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]
Authoratory Anyone can use

Locate experts in various domains, or search for a particular author and view tables outlining their publications, grant funding, and more. The database was created by datamining PubMed. Registration is required to view some of the data, and is free for academic, noncommercial, and personal use. [more]
BMC Proceedings Anyone can use

Devoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]
Canadian Medical Association CPG Infobase Anyone can use

Over 300 Clinical Practice Guidelines designed to help physicians and patients make appropriate health care decisions in specific clinical circumstances. They have been developed or reviewed with a five-year rolling date, and produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel. [more]
CenterWatch Clinical Trials Anyone can use

An international listing of over 80,000 active clinical trials. Search the database by therapeutic area, disease or geographic location. Also contains information on new drugs and devices approved by the FDA and the Department of Health and Human Services. [more]
ClinicalTrials.gov Anyone can use

A Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cochrane

EBM Reviews -- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. [more]
DARE - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

DARE provides access to systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions in the areas of diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening and treatment. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE. Limit MEDLINE results to articles chosen for DARE reviews by checking the box labelled "Article Reviews (DARE)". [more]
Department of Defense Biomedical Research Database Anyone can use

Indexes Department of Defense funded research, testing and training programs in infectious diseases, biohazards, toxicology, medical chemical defense and related topics. [more]
EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club contains the complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ's Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. [more]
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand researches by members of the Cochrane Collaborations. [more]
Evidence Updates Anyone can use

A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
Google Book Search Anyone can use

Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
HCUPnet Anyone can use

An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]
HSTAT (AHCPR Supported Guidelines) Anyone can use

Lists the entire text of clinical practice guidelines developed by U.S. government entities such as the Agency for Health Care Policy Research and the National Institutes of Health. [more]
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region Anyone can use

The MEDLINE for medical journals published in the Eastern Mediterranean Region, including the countries of Afghanistan, Bahrain, Cyprus, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, The Occupied Territories, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, U.A.E., and Yemen Arab Republic. Indexed with MeSH Medical Subject Headings in English and Arabic. From the World Health Organization. [more]
IndMED Anyone can use

Search 75 prominent Indian medical journals, most of which are not included in MEDLINE. All articles are indexed with MeSH headings. Maintained by the Indian Medlars Centre. [more]
LILACS Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it's possible to search using English keywords. [more]
Literature Arts and Medicine Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

An database of prose, poetry, film and art works dealing with health and medicine. Searchable by medium, author/creator, title, era, and subject. [more]
LOCATORplus Anyone can use

Search the library collection of the National Library of Medicine. [more]
MDConsult Images Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: md consult images

Search over 50,000 images from the MDConsult textbook collection. Users may print or download images for their personal, non-commercial use provided that all copyright and other proprietary notices are kept intact.To use images in a poster, publication, or for any other similar use, permission must be requested through the Elsevier Rights Department. [more]
MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
MEDLINE Top 5 Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A google-like search box to pull only the 5 most relevant results from MEDLINE. [more]
MICROMEDEX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care. [more]
Native Health Research Database Anyone can use

Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects. [more]
NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP) Anyone can use
Also Known as: National Institutes of Health reporter ; crisp ; current review of scientific projects ; Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool

Search federally funded biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMSHA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Policy Research (AHCPR), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Results can be exported to an Excel spreadsheet. View the amount of research funding for a given disease, or the success rates for different types of grants. In addition to project descriptions, NIH RePORTER now includes links to publications and patents arising from NIH funded research, with links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office databases. [more]
NTIS Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

NTIS (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. [more]
OvidSP Medical Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Type in a question or topic to see the most relevant results in MEDLINE, Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews, and Journals@Ovid. [more]
Performance Improvement Initiative Inventory (PI-3) Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Also Known as: PI-3, PI3

PI-3 is a database for long-term storage and sharing detailed information about specific UMHS improvement projects. The site allows users to enter project data, create reports and posters, and search existing projects for ideas and best practices. [more]
PIER - Physicians' Information and Education Resource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: physican information and education resource ; physican's information & education resource

Synthesizes and summarizes the best evidence on over 400 diseases, procedures, and more. From the American College of Physicians. Access provided by the MAHEC Digital Library. Please logout when finished. [more]
PreMEDLINE Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations

PreMEDLINE provides basic citation information of articles currently being indexed for MEDLINE. [more]
PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]
UK National Electronic Library for Health NeLH Guidelines Finder Anyone can use

From the United Kingdon National Health Service. Search over 600 UK national guidelines, often with links to the complete text. Developed in collaboration with SEEK, the Sheffield Evidence for Effectiveness and Knowledge. [more]
Videos in Clinical Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: nejm videos ; new englande journal of medicine videos

Videos showing common medical procedures from the New England Journal of Medicine. Can also be viewed on mobile devices. [more]

Alternative Medicine

Anatomy

Anesthesiology

Biomedical Informatics

Biochemistry

Cardiology/Vascular Disease

Communicable Diseases

Communication Disorders

Consumer Health

Dermatology

Education, Medical

Emergency Medicine

Endocrinology

Epidemiology

Ethics, Medical

Evidence Based Medicine

Family Practice

Gastroenterology

Genetics

Geriatrics

Gerontology

Gynecology/Obstetrics

Health Care Management

Hematology

History of Medicine

Medicine

Microbiology & Immunology

Nephrology/Urology

Neurosciences

Nursing

Nutrition & Dietetics

Occupational Therapy

Oncology

Ophthalmology

Orthopedics

Otolaryngology

Pathology

Pediatrics

Pharmacology

Pharmacy

Physical Therapy

Physiology

Psychiatry

Public Health

Pulmonary Disease

Radiology

Rheumatology

Surgery

Tests/Lab Diagnosis

Toxicology

Veterinary Medicine