University of Missouri University of Missouri Health Sciences Library MU Libraries

Databases by Subject: History of Medicine

America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]
Citation Classics from the Institute of Scientific Information Anyone can use

Authors of highly cited papers offer personal reflections on their research: how the project was initiated, obstacles encountered, and reflections on their success. Search for a specific article/author, or browse by date. A compilation of columns which originally appeared in Current Contents from 1977-1993. [more]
Current Bibliography in the History of Technology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Published as a Supplement volume to Technology and Culture. [more]
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
Google Book Search Anyone can use

Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
HISTLINE Anyone can use

The HISTLINE history of medicine database is no longer available. Historical journal articles can be searched in PubMed; the books and book chapters formerly found in HISTLINE have been moved to LocatorPlus. All books, book chapters, and journal articles from 1964-1993 formerly found in HISTLINE can also be found in the print resource, Bibliography of the History of Medicine, in the reference collection at the Health Sciences Library. [more]
Historical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Secondary sources (journal articles, dissertations, some books) on the history of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Africa, with some links to full text. [more]
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office Anyone can use

Includes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General's Office was the precursor to today's National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well. [more]
Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Published as a Supplement volume of Isis. [more]
Literature Arts and Medicine Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

An database of prose, poetry, film and art works dealing with health and medicine. Searchable by medium, author/creator, title, era, and subject. [more]
OLDMEDLINE Anyone can use

Citations from the back volumes of Cumulated Index Medicus prior to 1966; older items are gradually being added. [more]
Oxford English Dictionary Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: OED

Contains etymologies, definitions and usage of English worldwide, from 1150 to the present. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT

ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2010) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]

Alternative Medicine

Anatomy

Anesthesiology

Biomedical Informatics

Biochemistry

Cardiology/Vascular Disease

Communicable Diseases

Communication Disorders

Consumer Health

Dermatology

Education, Medical

Emergency Medicine

Endocrinology

Epidemiology

Ethics, Medical

Evidence Based Medicine

Family Practice

Gastroenterology

Genetics

Geriatrics

Gerontology

Gynecology/Obstetrics

Health Care Management

Hematology

History of Medicine

Medicine

Microbiology & Immunology

Nephrology/Urology

Neurosciences

Nursing

Nutrition & Dietetics

Occupational Therapy

Oncology

Ophthalmology

Orthopedics

Otolaryngology

Pathology

Pediatrics

Pharmacology

Pharmacy

Physical Therapy

Physiology

Psychiatry

Public Health

Pulmonary Disease

Radiology

Rheumatology

Surgery

Tests/Lab Diagnosis

Toxicology

Veterinary Medicine