University of Missouri University of Missouri Health Sciences Library MU Libraries

Databases by Subject: Communicable Diseases

AIDSinfo Anyone can use

Over 700 descriptions of current and closed clinical trials for AIDS. Also includes information on AIDS treatment guidelines, drugs and vaccines. [more]
AIDSinfo Drug Database Anyone can use

A dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers' names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services. [more]
Animal Health and Production Compendium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Animal Health and Production Compendium focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding. [more]
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cochrane

EBM Reviews -- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. [more]
Department of Defense Biomedical Research Database Anyone can use

Indexes Department of Defense funded research, testing and training programs in infectious diseases, biohazards, toxicology, medical chemical defense and related topics. [more]
EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand researches by members of the Cochrane Collaborations. [more]
Evidence Updates Anyone can use

A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]
MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS) Anyone can use

Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985. [more]

Alternative Medicine

Anatomy

Anesthesiology

Biomedical Informatics

Biochemistry

Cardiology/Vascular Disease

Communicable Diseases

Communication Disorders

Consumer Health

Dermatology

Education, Medical

Emergency Medicine

Endocrinology

Epidemiology

Ethics, Medical

Evidence Based Medicine

Family Practice

Gastroenterology

Genetics

Geriatrics

Gerontology

Gynecology/Obstetrics

Health Care Management

Hematology

History of Medicine

Medicine

Microbiology & Immunology

Nephrology/Urology

Neurosciences

Nursing

Nutrition & Dietetics

Occupational Therapy

Oncology

Ophthalmology

Orthopedics

Otolaryngology

Pathology

Pediatrics

Pharmacology

Pharmacy

Physical Therapy

Physiology

Psychiatry

Public Health

Pulmonary Disease

Radiology

Rheumatology

Surgery

Tests/Lab Diagnosis

Toxicology

Veterinary Medicine