Mental Health Sources

GENERAL MENTAL HEALTH SOURCES:

Trauma/Psychological Trauma
Dr. Arshad Husain, M.D., director
MU Health Care, International Center for Psychosocial Trauma
(573) 884-1608
Anita Kiessling-Caver: 449-2581
Licensed social worker and director of Family Counseling Center in Columbia.

National Organization for Victim Assistance: 202-232-6682
Dr. Marlene Young, executive director: marlene@try-nova.org
John Stein, deputy director: john@try-nova.org
Melanie Merola O’Donnell: melanie@try-nova.org

National Mental Health Association: www.nmha.org

Missouri Department of Mental Health: www.modmh.state.mo.us/
Contact: 573-751-4122 or dmhmail@mail.dmh.state.mo.us

Mid-Missouri Mental Health Center: www.modmh.state.mo.us/mid_mo/index.htm

International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies: www.istss.org
Contact: Steve Ketchum at 847-480-9028 or sketchum@istss.org

National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder: www.ncptsd.org

Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma: www.dartcenter.org
Contact: Univ. of Washington School of Communications at 206-616-3223 or uwdart@u.washington.edu
Bonnie Green, professor of psychiatry at Georgetown University, president of the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies
(202) 687-6529
bgreen01@georgetown.edu

CHILDREN AND TRAGEDY SOURCES
National Association of School Psychologists: www.nasponline.org/index2.html or 301-657-0270
Missouri Association of School Psychologists: www.maspweb.org
Keys to Safer Schools: Kids and Crisis: http://keystosaferschools.com/Kids_and_Crisis_Article.htm
National Mental Health Association: Helping children handle disaster related anxiety: http://www.nmha.org/reassurance/children.cfm
American Red Cross: www.redcross.org/services/disaster/keepsafe/childtrauma.html
Connect for Kids: www.connectforkids.org/usr_doc/CopingWithGrief.htm
Joy Miller: 657-2380 / 657-4591
Guidance counselor for students at Rock Bridge High School.