Resources for Clinicians

Subject Librarians



Subject Librarian Diane Johnson

Diane Johnson
(573) 882-6142
JohnsonE@health.missouri.edu

Resources for Clinicians

Quick Links

Quick Links

askHERMES
http://www.askhermes.org/
Also Known as: ask hermes ; medQA ; med Q A ; MedQ@A
An experimental search engine to mine PubMed/MEDLINE, eMedicine, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for answers to clinical questions. Type in a specific question for best results. [more]

mdcalc
http://www.mdcalc.com
Also Known as: md+calc ; md calc
Clinical calculators for a variety of medical specialties. Created and maintained by a resident in New York City.

UpToDate Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://library.muhealth.org/mainSearch/UpToDate/UTD_IPcheck.php


DynaMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?eou=aHR0cDovL3NlYXJjaC5lYnNjb2hvc3QuY29tL2xvZ2luLmFzcHg_YXV0aHR5cGU9aXAmYW1wO2N1c3RpZD1zODk0NjEzNCZhbXA7cHJvZmlsZT1keW5hbWVkPEJSPjxCUj5UaGlzIFVSTCB3aWxsIGhhdmUgdGhlIHVzZXIgbG9nIGludG8gdGhlIG1haW4gcHJveHkgYnV0IHJlZGlyZWN0IHRoZSB1c2VyIHRvIHRoZSBIZWFsdGggU2NpZW5jZXMgTGlicmFyeSBmb3IgYWNjZXNzIHRvIER5bmFtZWQuIDxCUj48QlI-UGxlYXNlIA**&url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&custid=s8946134&profile=dynamed
[more]

AccessMedicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com


STAT!-REF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=MU
[more]

National Guideline Clearinghouse
http://www.guideline.gov/
[more]

Med/Nursing Calculations Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
https://apps.umh.edu/nc/index.html


Clinical Evidence Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.clinicalevidence.com/ceweb/index.jsp


Stedman’s Medical Dictionary Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Entry.aspx?lt=Dictionary&grpalias=MU&type=Dictionary


Other Resources

Other Resources

AMA Doctor Finder
https://extapps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/


American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who’s Certified
https://www.abms.org/WC/login.aspx
Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties


Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=easy&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=coch
Also Known as: Cochrane
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on “Topic Review” to see the related Cochrane review. [more]

Ferri’s Clinical Advisor 2014 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://www.clinicalkey.com/dura/browse/bookChapter/3-s2.0-C20100683192
Also Known as: Clinical Advisor


Guide to Culturally Competent Healthcare Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=85


MedlinePlus
Http://medlineplus.gov
The premier consumer health gateway from the National Library Medicine. Contents include a medical encyclopedia, drug information and links to evaluated health information. [more]

Journal Articles

Journal Articles

 

Looking for a specific article or journal? Try Journal/Article Finder

 

 
MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=umochsclib&dr=abstract
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]

Drug Info

Drug Info

MICROMEDEX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/


AHFS Drug Information Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?grpalias=MU&FxId=1


Lexi-Interact Online Drug Interactions Program Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://www.uptodate.com/contents/drug-interaction
A service of UpToDate, provided by the Lexi-Comp company. Enter a list of drugs to identify potential interactions, or list all potential interactions for a given drug or herb. Results can be filtered by level of risk rating if desired. After logging into UpToDate and accepting the license agreement, Click on Launch Lexi-Interact drug interactions program.

UMCHC Formulary Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
https://docushare.umh.edu/dsweb/Get/Document-12899/Formulary%2008_01_10.doc
The list of drugs and dosage forms approved for usage at the University of Missouri Columbia Hospitals and Clinics.

Poisoning and Drug Overdose Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=391