Databases

Locate Articles on Engineering Topics

All MU Databases

Core Databases by Subject

Core A-Z Databases and E-Journals

Description

ACM Digital Library Computer science, computer engineering
ASCE Research Library Comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides access to more than 48,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals (1983- ) and Proceedings (2001- ) published.
ASME Digital Library The ASME Digital Library includes: ASME's Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present, ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present, and ASME Press E-Books selected from 1999 to the present.
ASTM Standards Standards for materials, products, systems, and services. Covers subject areas such as steel, petroleum, medical devices, property management, consumer products, and many more
Compendex (Engr Village) Comprehensive core engineering database using the Engineering Village platform back to 1970.
IEEE Xplore IEEE and IEE journals, standards and proceedings. Computer science and engineering, Electrical and electronics engineering
Materials Science Materials Sciences: Advanced Polymers; Aerospace & High Technology ; Aluminium Industry; ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering; Ceramic Abstracts; Composites Industry; Copper Data Center; Corrosion Abstracts; CSA Materials Research; Engineered Materials; Materials Business File; Metadex; Weldasearch.
ScienceDirect A search engine for journals published by Elsevier. Select Images to search over 15 million photos, tables, figures, graphs and videos in Elsevier journals. [more]
SciFinder Scholar Chemical Abstracts. Chemistry and chemical engineering.
First-time User Registration
Scopus All science; Abstract and citation database which searches 14,200 titles from 4,000 different publishers.
Summon@MU Summon is a simple and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Missouri Library collections

Related A-Z Databases

 
ACI Journals (Materials, Structural, Concrete International) Search the abstract archives of the ACI Journals. No online access to full-text of articles. Print volumes are in the Engineering Library.
Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection.
 
ARC: Aerospace Research Central The Aerospace Research Central electronic library contains more than four decades of technical aerospace information and documents.
Applied Science & Engineering Applied Science and Engineering Open Access Journals. The Open Access Digital Library provides free access to 76 databases and almost 4,000 full text, scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in a variety of subjects from medicine to engineering.
ASCE CE Database Index to ASCE publications (1980- ). No link to full-text in the ASCE Research Library.
ASM Handbook Online Complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Does NOT include full-text for the Alloy Center.
CiteSeer/ResearchIndex Web database for computer science.
Directory of Published Proceedings Directory of Published Proceedings Conferences, Papers – records
Dissertation Abstracts All subjects. Guide to almost every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. (More Info)
Search MU Dissertations in Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations,
UM-Columbia
ProQuest's Current Research @ MU
Full-text of MU Dissertations from 1995 to the present
DOE Data Explorer (DDE) A tool to find scientific research data generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research, including computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia and scientific images
DOE SciTech Connect U.S. Department of Energy. SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database, and will gradually replace these products.  Citations with some full text of energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Dept. of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC.
DSpace Institutional Repostiories Search Search engine that searches across all repositories using the DSpace open source software
Ebrary Over 6,000 Engineering & Technology books
Energy Technology Data Exchange Database (ETDEWEB) ETDEWEB includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and much, much more. ETDEWEB includes historical information from ETDE's Energy Database (1987-) and from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations database (1974-).
EPA Database National Environmental Publications Information System.
EPRI Reports BRC EPRI_DOCs The Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) was established in 1973 as an independent, non-profit center for electricity and environmental research. EPRI distributes the results of research projects by member companies and institutions in the form of reports.
GEOBASE Indexes journals, books conference proceedings, and reports covering geography, geology and ecology. Coverage is 1980 to date.
GeoRef American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 2.2 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933.
GeoScience World A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked and inter-operable with GeoRef.
GreenFILE Free database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes Scholarly and general interest titles.
Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information Search full-text of Department of Energy (DOE) research in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
INIS (IAEA) INIS (International Nuclear Information System) Database. IAEA INIS is operated by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in collaboration with its Member States and co-operating international organizations. Peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology
Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology Offers links to thousands of physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science web sites, each selected and evaluated by subject specialists for quality and relevance. Search by keyword or phrase, or browse by subject area.
Jahrbuch Database Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics. Provides a digital archive of the most important mathematical publications of the period1868-1942 (based on the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik")
JSTOR *General Science (journal list)
*Management/OR journals (journal list)
Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. It includes graphs, photographs and images
Knovel Books Chemistry and Chemical Engineering books (185 titles)
MathSciNet Mathematics
Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts CSA Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. This database provides in depth, comprehensive coverage of the international engineering literature with the monitoring of over 2,600 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
Morgan Claypool Collection of electronic lecture-style books (50-100 pages each) in the fields of engineering and computer science.
MetaLib Use MetaLib's federated searching to retrieve reports, articles, and citations by searching across multiple databases. The initial release of MetaLib contains fifty-three Federal Government databases.
NIST Virtual Library Source for digitized National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), formerly the National Bureau of Standards (NBS), technical reports. Includes links to digitized collections of NIST Interagency Reports (IRs), Handbooks (HBs), Special Publications (SPs), and Technical Notes (TNs).
NTIS Database Index to U.S. Government sponsored research reports and studies.
OAIster Project of the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services. Difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable (theses, technical reports, etc.)
Papers First Proceedings First Citations to papers presented at congresses.
Citations to proceedings, symposia, etc.
PATENTS Links to U.S. and International Patent databases
ProQuest Technology Collection ProQuest Technology Collection. (1962 – current). ProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Index of popular general interest periodicals, including titles such as Aviation Week, Science and Scientific American; Subjects covered include Aeronautics, Environment, Science and Technology.
Safari Tech Books Online Provides full-text access to over 9,000 books online covering technology, digital media and business.
ScienceAccelerator Searches science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. Science Accelerator was developed and is made available by OSTI as a free public service.
SciVerse Find relevant methods by searching only in the Materials and Methods section of Elsevier full text articles
SPIE Proceedings Search publications of SPIE
TechXtra Find articles, key websites, books, the latest industry news,
job announcements, ejournals, eprints, technical reports,
the latest research and more!
Toxnet Toxicology database from the National Library of Medicine. Includes databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Transportation Research Info Databases (TRID) Department of Transportation
Transportation Research Record A full compilation of papers since the 1996 series of the Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board (TRR Journal) is accessible electronically. TRB's journal contains technical papers prepared by researchers that are peer-reviewed.
Water Resources Abstracts Water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources
Wiley Interscience Wiley Interscience is a multidisciplinary database offering access to journals, online books, reference works and databases. [more]

Science and Technology Databases

U.S. Technical Report Databases

Government information resources

International Databases

  • OpenSIGLE (System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe)
  • Viniti (Russia – Google Translation)