Databases for Historical Newspapers

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
ProQuest Historical NewspapersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable full-image of the New York Times (1851-2010), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), The Washington Post (1877-1997), The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) and The Chicago Tribune (1849-1990). [more]
Early American Newspapers. Series I, 1690-1876Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This collection provides images and full-text content access to a selection of historic newspapers based on Clarence Brigham’s authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and additional subsequent bibliographies. [more]
Historic Missouri Newspaper Project

Historic Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers. [more]
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]
Palmer’s Index to the TimesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]