Databases by Subject

Databases by Subject: Toxicology

CCRIS- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research InformationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced databank developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains carcinogenicity, tumor promotion, and utagenicity test results on over 7000 chemical compounds. To search, select CCRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]


CHEMIDAnyone can use

Chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Includes chemical property and toxicity information. File locators lead users to additional information on other files such as HSDB, RTECS, TOXNET, and TOXLINE. In addition, SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30 key federal and state regulatory lists. Chemical structure searching is also supported. [more]


DART Developmental and Reproductive ToxicologyAnyone can use

Contains over 37,000 references to literature on agents that may cause birth defects. For references prior to 1989, search ETICBACK. [more]


DRUGDEX SystemAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Drug information gathered and reviewed by Micromedex. Information provided includes dosing, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications and comparative drug efficacy. To search, enter the Micromedex system and click on box next to DrugDex System. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]


Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Resource PageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine . [more]


GENE-TOX Genetic Toxicology Data BankAnyone can use

GENE-TOX provides genetic toxicology (mutagenicity) test data from expert peer review of open scientific literature for more than 3,000 chemicals from the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). GENE-TOX was established to select assay systems for evaluation, review data in the scientific literature, and recommend proper testing protocols and evaluation procedures for these systems. [more]


Hazardous Substance Data BankAnyone can use

Peer-reviewed information on over 4700 chemicals including information on poisoning, toxicity, environmental fate and exposure, chemical/physical properties, standards and regulations, monitoring and analysis, and safety and handling. A subset of 390 chemicals, WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) is available for downloading to Palm OS PDAs. [more]


Haz-MapAnyone can use

Track occupational exposures by chemical, disorder, or occupation. Learn which occupations have a higher risk for which diseases, as well as the chemicals commonly encountered in different lines of work. From the Specialized Information Services branch of the National Library of Medicine. [more]


Household Products DatabaseAnyone can use

Links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), including automotive, personal care, gardening, home care, and craft products. Search by product/ingredient, or browse by product category or manufacturer. Based on the Consumer Product Information Database. Copyright 2001 by DeLima Associates. From the National Library of Medicine. [more]


International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER) DatabaseAnyone can use

A product of the Cincinnati based Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment, ITER presents human health risk values for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide, including the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, Health Canada, the Dutch National Institute of Public Health and the Environment, the International Agency for Research on Cancer, as well as independent parties whose risk values have undergone peer review. [more]


IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System)Anyone can use

Contains health risk information on over 530 chemicals. From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The reference dose and carcinogenicity assessments on IRIS can serve as guides in evaluating potential health hazards and selecting a response to alleviate a potential risk to human health. To search, select IRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]


LactMed Drugs and Lactation DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. [more]


Materials Safety Data SheetsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Product identification, manufacturer, emergency and safety information for over 180,000 products manufactured in the U.S. and Canada. Search by product name, company, CAS registry number, or NSN. [more]


MEDLINE (Ovid)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


MICROMEDEXRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care. [more]


PAN Pesticides DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search by active ingredient, (including CAS Registry Numbers) product name, or product category to discover uses, toxicity, and regulatory status of pesticides. From the Pesticides Action Network of North America. [more]


POISINDEXAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

The POISINDEX System identifies ingredients for over 1 million household, cosmetic, commercial, harmaceutical and biological products and chemicals. Each substance is linked to one or more management documents providing informationon clinical effects, range of toxicity and treatment protocals for exposures involving the substances. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]


Poisonous Plants Informational DatabaseAnyone can use

Botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis, and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora. Includes plant images and images of affected animals. Permits searches by common, scientific name and common poison. Allows users to search based on animal most commonly affected including Human (adults) Human (Children) Cats, Dogs and Others. From Cornell University. [more]


PubMedRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


RTECS – Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical SubstancesAnyone can use

Toxic effects data on some 140,000 chemicals. Retrieve data on skin/eye irritation, carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and reproductive consequences on over 140,000 chemicals. From the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Formerly available free as part of TOXNET, this file is now only available via fee-based, expert search [more]


ScopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources , including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Scopus allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them. [more]


TOXMAPAnyone can use

A companion to the TRI Toxic Release Inventory. A geographic information system which provides maps showing the release of toxic chemicals over a geographic area. Search by chemical name, chemical name fragment, and/or location (such as city, state, or zip code). [more]


TRI – Toxic Release InventoryAnyone can use

A system for tracking the release of chemicals into the environment. Search by company, geographic location, or chemical for a given year. [more]


Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)Anyone can use
Also Known as: webwiser ; WISER

Designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents, WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. Contains information on 390 of the substances included in the HSDB Hazardous Substances Databank. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Caryn Scoville

Caryn Scoville
(573) 882-2844
scovillec@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Child Health