Databases by Subject

Databases by Subject: Genetics

Annual Reviews Online IndexAnyone can use
Search the full-text of Annual Reviews: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]


ClinicalKeyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MDconsult ; md consult ; firstconsult ; first consult ; procedures consult ; clinical key

Contains all the of the content formerly found in MDConsult, plus: Over 1000 additional clinical books; Instructional videos for over 300 procedures, including Lumbar puncture, central line insertion, splinting, and much more; Concise, point-of-care information (formerly known as FirstConsult). [more]


CSH ProtocolsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A searchable, interactive collection of over 700 laboratory protocols, methods, and kits outlining new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. New submissions are welcomed. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories. [more]


DART Developmental and Reproductive ToxicologyAnyone can use

Contains over 37,000 references to literature on agents that may cause birth defects. For references prior to 1989, search ETICBACK. [more]


DbGaP Genotype and PhenotypeAnyone can use

Archives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments. From NCBI. [more]


Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBIRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Enter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more. [more]


GeneTestsAnyone can use

A NIH-funded clinical information resource relating genetic testing to the diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling of individuals and families with specific inherited disorders. From the University of Washington – Seattle. Also available as part of the NCBI Bookshelf. [more]


Genetics home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic ConditionsAnyone can use

The National Library of Medicine’s web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions [more]


GENE-TOX Genetic Toxicology Data BankAnyone can use

GENE-TOX provides genetic toxicology (mutagenicity) test data from expert peer review of open scientific literature for more than 3,000 chemicals from the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). GENE-TOX was established to select assay systems for evaluation, review data in the scientific literature, and recommend proper testing protocols and evaluation procedures for these systems. [more]


MEDLINE (Ovid)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation DatabaseAnyone can use

Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. [more]


NCBI Databases Site MapAnyone can use

A starting point for searching gene sequences and molecular biology information found in GenBank/Entrez, RefSeq, OMIM, LocusLink, and more. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources. [more]


OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in AnimalsAnyone can use

This resource is a catalog of “inherited disorders, other (single-locus) traits, and genes in 244 animal species (other than human human and mouse and rats).” It contains links to PubMed, NCBI, OMIM, and Ensemble. [more]


OrphanetAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Lists information on orphan drugs in Europe, Japan, Australia, or the United States. Also includes descriptions of rare diseases, including current research projects. A diagnostic tool for 2300 dysmorphic syndromes allows searching by clinical findings. Maintained by a consortium of European partners. [more]


PubMedRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


ScopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources , including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. It is a multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Scopus allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing