HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

National Drug Code DirectoryAnyone can use
Trade name, dosage form, National Drug Code, active ingredients, strength and packaging information for all commercially distributed presciption drugs, as well as a few selected OTC products. From the Food and Drug Administration. [more]


National Guideline ClearinghouseAnyone can use

National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. In addition to searching or browsing for guidelines, results can be displayed in tabular format to allow for comparison. [more]


National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (EED)Anyone can use

With over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations, the database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. Published by the Cochrane Collaboration with funding from the British National Health Service. Can be searched as part of EBMR Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. [more]


National Health Service Health Technology Assessment DatabaseAnyone can use

Locate descriptions of systematic reviews, ongoing and completed trials assessing the impact of health technologies. Can be searched as part of EBMR – Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. From the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden in conjunction with the Cochrane Collaboration. [more]


National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation DatabaseAnyone can use

Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. [more]


National Institutes of Health Office of Extramural ResearchAnyone can use

Information about federally funded research. Annual statistics showing amounts of NIH grant money received at higher education institutions, medical schools, and other health professional schools and nonprofits. Includes lists ranked by grant monies received. [more]


Native American EthnobotanyAnyone can use

A guide to plant derivatives used by Native Americans, including plants used for medicinal purposes. Search by plant name, tribe, or pharmacological action. Includes article references and links to the USDA Plants database. [more]


Native Health Research DatabaseAnyone can use

Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]


Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Information in MedlinePlusAnyone can use

Evidence based information on usage, indications, interactions and toxicity for over 100 herbals and supplements. From Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. [more]


NCBI Databases Site MapAnyone can use

A starting point for searching gene sequences and molecular biology information found in GenBank/Entrez, RefSeq, OMIM, LocusLink, and more. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources. [more]


NCBI Images DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: pubmed images database ; pubmed central image database ; pubmed image database ; pubmed central images ; pmc images

The NCBI Images Database has now been folded into PubMed Central. To search for specific images on PubMed Central, go to the Advanced Search Page and search the [Figure/Table Caption] field. [more]


NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ncjrs

Covers over 189,000 criminal justice publications dating back to the 1970s. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drug abuse, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. In addition to journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and unpublished research are also included. From the U.S. Department of Justice. [more]


NetAdvantageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. [more]


Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsAnyone can use
Also Known as: NDLTD

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. [more]


NewsBankRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Newsbank includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America’s Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers. [more]


NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects. [more]


NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)Anyone can use
Also Known as: National Institutes of Health reporter ; crisp ; current review of scientific projects ; Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool

Search federally funded biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMSHA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Policy Research (AHCPR), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Results can be exported to an Excel spreadsheet. View the amount of research funding for a given disease, or the success rates for different types of grants. In addition to project descriptions, NIH RePORTER now includes links to publications and patents arising from NIH funded research, with links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office databases. [more]


NLM GatewayRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Most of the resources formerly available via the NLM Gateway are available on the NLM Homepage. More information is available here. [more]


NORINAAnyone can use

NORINA is an English-language database containing information on over 3,800 audiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching. [more]


Nursing Home CompareAnyone can use

Database to compare nursing homes. Also includes links to Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home and Nursing Home Checklist. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

National Kidney Foundation Primer on Kidney DiseasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Primer on Kidney Diseases; Kidney Diseases


Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 20th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Textbook of Pediatrics


Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 20th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]

Trial access via R2 [more]


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations : Part I, Upper LimbRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations : Part I, the Upper Limb; Medical Illustrations : Part I, Upper Limb; Netter’s Upper Limb;


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: BrainRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Collection of Medical Illustrations: Brain; Medical Illustrations: Brain; Netter’s Brain


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Cardiovascular SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Cardiovascular System; Medical Illustrations: The Cardiovascular System; Netter’s the Cardiovascular System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part I, the Upper Digestive Tract, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part I; Medical Illustrations: Upper Digestive Tract; Digestive System Part I, the Upper Digestive Tract


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part II: Lower Digestive Tract, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part II: Lower Digestive Tract; Lower Digestive Tract


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part III: Liver, Biliary Tract, and PancreasRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Digestive System Part III: Liver, Biliary Tract, and Pancreas; Liver, Biliary Tract, and Pancreas; Digestive System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Endocrine SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Endocrine System; Medical Illustrations: Endocrine System; Netter’s Endocrine System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Integumentary SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Integumentary System; Medical Illustrations: Integumentary System; Netter’s Integumentary System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Reproductive SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Reproductive System; Medical Illustrations: Reproductive System; Netter’s Reproductive System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Respiratory SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Respiratory System; Medical Illustrations: Respiratory System; Netter’s Respiratory System


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory SystemsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems; Netter’s Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Spine and Lower LimbRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Illustrations: Spine and Lower Limb; Netter’s Spine and Lower Limb


Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Urinary SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: The Urinary System; Medical Illustrations: Urinary System; Netter’s Urinary System


Netter PresenterAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

An image library that can be used with PowerPoint. Available only from the computers on the first floor of the library and the medical student PBL labs. [more]


Netter’s Concise Orthopaedic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Concise Orthopaedic Anatomy; Orthopaedic Anatomy; Netter’s Orthopaedic Anatomy Netter’s Concise Orthopedic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Abdominal and Pelvic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy; Netter’s Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy; Abdominal and Pelvic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Cardiothoracic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Cardiothoracic Anatomy; Netter’s Cardiothoracic Anatomy; Cardiothoracic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: NeuroanatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Neuroanatomy; Netter’s Neuroanatomy; Neuroanatomy


Netter’s Atlas of Human EmbryologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Human Embryology; Netter’s Human Embryology


Netter’s Atlas of NeuroscienceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Atlas of Neuroscience; Netter’s Neuroscience


Netter’s CardiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Cardiology


Netter’s Clinical AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Anatomy


Netter’s Concise Radiologic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Concise Radiologic Anatomy; Netter’s Radiologic Anatomy; Radiologic Anatomy


Netter’s Correlative Imaging: Musculoskeletal AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Correlative Imaging: Musculoskeletal Anatomy; Netter’s Musculoskeletal Anatomy; Musculoskeletal Anatomy


Netter’s Essential HistologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Essential Histology; Netter’s Histology


Netter’s Essential Physiology, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Essential Physiology; Netter’s Physiology


Netter’s GastroenterologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Gastroenterology


Netter’s Head and Neck Anatomy for DentistryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry


Netter’s Illustrated Human PathologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Illustrated Human Pathology; Netter’s Human Pathology; Netter’s Pathology


Netter’s Illustrated PharmacologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Illustrated Pharmacology; Netter’s Pharmacology


Netter’s Infectious DiseasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Infectious Diseases


Netter’s Internal MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Internal Medicine


Netter’s Introduction to ImagingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Introduction to Imaging; Netter’s Imaging


Netter’s NeurologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Netter’s Obstetrics and Gynecology, 3rd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Obstetrics and Gynecology


Netter’s PediatricsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pediatrics; Paediatrics


Netter’s Sports Medicine, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Sports Medicine


Netter’s Surgical Anatomy and ApproachesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Surgical Anatomy and Approaches


Netter’s Surgical Anatomy Review P.R.N.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Surgical Anatomy Review P.R.N.


Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Colour Text, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Color Text


Nineteenth Century Microfiche ProjectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers 19th century books from the British Library that were reproduced on microfiche due to deterioriation of wood pulp papers. In addition to the General Collection, topic areas of collection strength include Women Writers, Art and Architecture, Economics, Childrens Literature, British Colonization, Ireland, China, Linguistics, Publishing and Bookselling and Evolution and Creation. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]


Non-Operating Room AnesthesiaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Nuclear Medicine: The RequisitesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Nutrition and Metabolism: Underlying Mechanisms and Clinical ConsequencesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The editor, Christos Mantzoros, is a member of the Harvard Medical School faculty. If the ebrary online copy of the book is in use or unavailable, you can view portions of this title in Google Books. [more]


Resources Online

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)Anyone can use
Also Known as: NCBI

Databases produced by NCBI include Entrez , OMIM , Sagemap , GeneMap and Locus Link. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources. [more]


National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)Anyone can use

The center offers information for both consumers and researchers interested in alternative medicine and consumer health. Resources for researchers include research funding guidance and research policies. [more]


National Center for Health StatisticsAnyone can use

The main portal for delivery of data gathered by the U.S. National Center for Health Statistics, including the Vital & Health Statistics Series, the National Health Care Survey ( NCHS ), the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and more. [more]


National Comprehensive Cancer Network ( NCCN )Anyone can use

The National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) is a not for profit, tax-exempt corporation that is an alliance of the world’s leading cancer centers. The website includes practice guidelines for various types of cancer for health professionals and patients. [more]


National Council Against Health FraudAnyone can use

A non-profit, tax-exempt, voluntary health agency committed to providing information on health fraud, misinformation and quackery. Contains a library of publications on questionable health-related topics. [more]


National Council of State Boards of NursingAnyone can use

Contains information on the exam Missouri uses for licensing registered nurses: the National Council Licensure Examination for RN’s (NCLEX-RN). . Format and content distribution guides are available for the last several years in pdf format. [more]


National Database of Autism ResearchAnyone can use
Also Known as: NDAR

The National Database for Autism Research (NDAR) is an NIH-funded research data repository that aims to accelerate progress in autism spectrum disorders (ASD) research through data sharing, data harmonization, and the reporting of research results. NDAR also serves as a scientific community platform and portal to multiple other research repositories, allowing for aggregation and secondary analysis of data. For access to detailed human subjects data, you must be sponsored by an NIH recognized institution with a Federal Wide Assurance and have a research related need to access NDAR data. NDAR federated repositories have their own access requirements. You do not need approved access to look at summary information. [more]


National Health Information CenterAnyone can use

The National Health Information Center has an extensive list of health organizations and support groups. A description, contact information, publications, and links to Web sites are included. Some groups offer online support. [more]


National Injury Surveilliance SystemAnyone can use
Also Known as: National electronic injury surveillance System ; NEISS ; cpsc ; consumer products safety commission injury database

National estimates of emergency room visits due to injuries associated with consumer products. Patient information is collected from each NEISS hospital for every emergency visit involving toys, vehicles, appliances, etc. From this sample, the total number of product-related injuries treated in hospital emergency rooms nationwide can be estimated. Search by product, body part affected, location of the accident, and more. [more]


National Library of MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

As one of the largest subject collections of any kind in the world, the National Library of Medicine provides leadership in indexing, cataloging and providing medical literature for health professionals and health consumers through such services as MEDLINE/Pubmed, MedlinePlus, LocatorPlus, clinicaltrials.gov, and many others. Part of the National Institutes of Health. [more]


National Library of Medicine History of Medicine Division Finding AidAnyone can use
Also Known as: NLM HMD EAD collection

Browse and search the archives of the History of Medicine Division at the National Library of Medicine. [more]


National Library of Medicine Online Images in the History of MedicineAnyone can use

A searchable database of nearly 60,000 prints and photographs from the history of medicine collection. [more]


National Resident Matching Program ( NRMP )Anyone can use

This site includes instructions and forms, schedules of deadline dates and a listing of all participating programs and hospitals. The NRMP site also includes a link to ECFMG, the Education Commission of Foreign Medical Graduates. [more]


National Technical Reports Library – Public VersionAnyone can use
Also Known as: public ntrl ; ntis

Search and view digitized technical reports from the National Technical Information Service, NTIS. Free registration required. [more]


NationMasterAnyone can use

Search, compare, and graph statistics for a country or region of the world. Includes many health statistics compiled from the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF, OECD, and more. [more]


Natural Health Encyclopedia (via Personal Health Zone)Anyone can use

The TNP Natural Health Encyclopedia contains extensive science-based information on health conditions, their natural remedies, and drug interactions. [more]


NCSU Libraries Citation BuilderRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Complete a form with the basic citation information for a journal article, book, website, or personal communication, and the citation builder will format the reference according to APA, MLA or CBE style guidelines. [more]


NetwellnessRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Produced as a cooperative effort of the University of Cincinnati, Ohio State and Case Western Reserve, this site is the premier non-profit health question and answer site on the web. [more]


Neuroscience Information FramewokAnyone can use
Also Known as: NIF

An initiative of the NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research, Neuroscience Information Framework (NIF) includes a variety of free web-based neuroscience data, resources and tools. Literature results include citations from PubMed and Textpresso, a system that searches the full text of over 100,000 articles from the main neuroscience journals and indicates which sentences in an article contain your search terms. NIF also includes NeuroLex (Neuroscience Lexicon), a neurosciences vocabulary wiki. [more]


New Cochrane ReviewsAnyone can use

New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. [more]


NSW Multicultural Health Information ServiceAnyone can use

Patient and health information handouts in about 60 languages, including Arabic, Maori, Tongan, Urdu, and many more. From New South Wales, Australia. [more]


Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB)Anyone can use

Ceritifies nuclear medicine technologists. [more]


NursingWorldRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The site offers a variety of nursing resources including online journals, computer related media, business services and career opportunities. Also provided are opportunities for online CHAT and Virtual Conferencing on a regular basis. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Taira Meadowcroft

Taira Meadowcroft
(573) 884-3575
MeadowcroftT@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Child Health
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing