HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

MasterFile PremierRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
MasterFile Premier provides searchable full-text for nearly 1,750 general interest, business, health, and multi-cultural magazines and journals. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]


Materials Research Database with METADEXRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Materials Science

Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]


Materials Safety Data SheetsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Product identification, manufacturer, emergency and safety information for over 180,000 products manufactured in the U.S. and Canada. Search by product name, company, CAS registry number, or NSN. [more]


MAUDE – Manufacturer and User Facility Device Experience DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

MAUDE data represents reports of adverse events involving medical devices. The data consists of all voluntary reports since June, 1993, user facility reports since 1991, distributor reports since 1993, and manufacturer reports since August, 1996. From the FDA Center for Devices & Radiological Health. [more]


MDConsultRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MD Consult ; md-consult

MDConsult has been replaced by a new product called ClinicalKey. ClinicalKey contains all of the MDConsult content plus much more: over 1,000 additional clinical e-books and over 20,000 videos. In addition, FirstConsult and Vitals, point-of-care information for medicine and surgery, are included. [more]


MDR Medical Device Reporting DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This database allows you to search the CDRH’s database information on medical devices which may have malfunctioned or caused a death or serious injury during the years 1992 through 1996. From the FDA Center for Devices & Radiological Health. [more]


MEDLINE (Ovid)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]


MEDLINE Top 5 SearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A google-like search box to pull only the 5 most relevant results from MEDLINE, plus background information on diseases and drugs from DynaMed. [more]


MedlinePlusAnyone can use

The premier consumer health gateway from the National Library Medicine. Contents include a medical encyclopedia, drug information and links to evaluated health information. [more]


Mental Measurements YearbookRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Mental Measurements Yearbook series, produced since 1938 by the Buros Institute, provides critical evaluations for over 2,000 commercial tests within a wide variety of areas that include education, psychology, business, aptitude, achievement, and intelligence. [more]


MERLINAnyone can use
Also Known as: Library Catalog

Locate books, journals, magazines, newspapers, sound recordings, videos, etc. owned by the MU Libraries [more]


MICROMEDEXRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A variety of databases covering topics such as medicine, drugs, alternative and complementary medicine, patient education and occupational health. Search multiple Micromedex databases via the Integrated Index (http://micromedex.umh.edu ) feature or search individual databases. Brought to you by University of Missouri Health Care. [more]


MOBIUS – Missouri Bibliographic Information User SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search the collections of over 70 college and university libraries throughout Missouri. Books can be ordered at no cost using your employee or student ID, and can picked up at a nearby MOBIUS library of your choice. [more]


Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent DatabaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Information on structure, synthesis and uses of in vivo molecular agents developed for positron emission tomography (PET), single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound (US), computed tomography (CT), optical imaging, and planar radiography, gamma imaging and other methods. Includes links to MEDLINE and other NIH and NCBI resources. [more]


MOspace: Institutional RepositoryAnyone can use
Also Known as: mo space; mu digital institutional repository

MOspace is the digital institutional repository of the University of Missouri System, and is a joint initiative of the University Libraries, the Office of Library Systems, and the Division of Information Technology. It is a permanent digital storehouse of research and knowledge, focusing on works created by those connected with the University of Missouri. MOspace is place where faculty, staff and students can store their intellectual output, and depend upon a permanent URL. Authors can submit works directly to mospace@missouri.edu; most electronic formats are accepted for submission. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

MacMillan Encyclopedia of Death and DyingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Covering all aspects of death and dying — biological, medical, social, sociological, psychological, religious, and philosophical — the 2-vol. Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying also provides a deep historical and cross-cultural perspective through the ages. [more]


Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett’s Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, updated 8th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases; Infectious Diseases


Manson’s Tropical DiseasesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Tropical Diseases


Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests ( Fischbach )Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Martindale: The Complete Drug ReferenceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Martindale is included in MICROMEDEX. International drug information from the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain. Also covers investigational and herbal drugs. [more]


Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry, 2nd editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


McKee’s Pathology of the SkinRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


McMinn and Abrahams’ Clinical Atlas of Human AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy


McMinn’s Color Atlas of Foot and Ankle AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Color Atlas of Foot and Ankle Anatomy; Foot and Ankle Anatomy


McMinn’s Color Atlas of Head and Neck AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy; Head and Neck Anatomy


MD Anderson Manual of Medical OncologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Mechanical Ventiliation: Clinical Applications and PathophysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


MedCalc 3000Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Medical BiochemistryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Medical Epidemiology, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Greenberg’s Medical Epidemiology


Medical Imaging of Normal and Pathologic AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Normal and Pathologic Anatomy


Medical InterviewRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Medical Interview


Medical Letter on Drugs and TherapeuticsAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Also Known as: medical letter ; medical letter treatment guidelines

Offers unbiased critical evaluations of drugs, with special emphasis on new drugs, to physicians and other members of the health professions. The Medical Letter is an independent, peer-reviewed, nonprofit publication that accepts no advertising, grants or donations. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1. [more]


Medical MicrobiologyAnyone can use

Browse and search the 4th edition of Samuel Baron’s textbook, published by the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston. [more]


Medical MicrobiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Microbiology (Greenwood) Greenwood’s Medical Microbiology


Medical MicrobiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Microbiology (Murray) Murray’s Medical Microbiology


Medical Pharmacology and TherapeuticsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Pharmacology and Therapeutics


Medical Sciences, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Medicine: A Competency-Based CompanionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


mediLexicon Medical Abbreviations DirectionaryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search over 200,000 medical abbreviations and their definitions. [more]


Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases, ProceduresAnyone can use
Also Known as: emedicine

Clinical knowledge base of more than 7,000 diseases and disorders, formerly known as emedicine. Free registration required. An iPhone download version is available. [more]


Merck Manual of Diagnosis and TherapyAnyone can use

The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine. [more]


Merck Manual of GeriatricsAnyone can use

Browse and search the complete text of the 3rd edition, 2000. [more]


Merck Veterinary ManualAnyone can use

This site by Merck provides animal care information, including over 12,000 indexed topics and over 1200 illustrations.At this comprehensive site, you can search by topic, species, specialty, disease, and keyword using advanced search features. [more]


Middleton’s Allergy: Principles and PracticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Allergy: Principles and Practice


Miller’s Anesthesia, 8th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Anesthesia


Mims’ Medical MicrobiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical Microbiology


Molecular Basis of CancerRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Molecular Basis of Cancer


Molecular BiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Molecular Biology (Clark) Clark’s Molecular Biology


Molecular Biology of the CellAnyone can use

The 4th edition can be searched, but not browsed online. The 5th edition and accompanying DVD are on reserve at the Health Sciences Library Circulation Desk. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1. [more]


Molecular Biology TechniquesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Molecular Diagnostics and Treatment of Pancreatic CancerRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Molecular MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Morgan and Mikhail’s clinical anesthesiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical anesthesiology

Current, concise, and engagingly written, Morgan & Mikhail’s Clinical Anesthesiology, Fifth Edition is a true essential for all anesthesia students and practitioners. This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field’s must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. Indispensable for coursework, exam review, and as a clinical refresher, this trusted text has been extensively updated to reflect the latest research and developments. [more]


Most Common Inpatient Problems in Internal MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Most Common Inpatient Problems in Internal Medicine; Inpatient Problems in Internal Medicine


Multimodal Cardiovascular Imaging: Principles and Clinical ApplicationsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Munro Kerr’s Operative Obstetrics, 12th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Operative Obstetrics; Kerr’s Operative Obstetrics


Murray and Nadel’s Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 6th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Textbook of Respiratory Medicine


Muscle: Fundamental Biology and Mechanisms of DiseaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Resources Online

Macmillan Cancer SupportAnyone can use
Self described as, “Europe’s leading cancer information service, with over 4,500 pages of up-to-date cancer information…” This charitable UK organization founded by physician and cancer patient, Dr. Vicky Clement-Jones, has been providing cancer information to cancer patients and their families since 1985. Search for information by cancer type, therapy, or over 1000 Frequently Asked Questions about cancer. All text is reviewed regularly and approved by CancerBACUP’s medical editor, a medical oncologist. [more]


Mayo Clinic.comRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A health information portal for health consumers. Information includes first aid guide, drug information, conditions A-Z and health decision guides. [more]


mdcalcAnyone can use
Also Known as: md+calc ; md calc

Clinical calculators for a variety of medical specialties. Created and maintained by a resident in New York City. [more]


Med/Nursing CalculationsAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Medical and nursing calculations collected for University of Missouri Health Care. [more]


MedEdPORTALAnyone can use

Hundreds of faculty-developed, peer reviewed resources to support medical education. From the Association of American Medical Colleges. Free registration required. [more]


MedHistAnyone can use

“MedHist is a free catalogue of evaluated, high quality Internet resources and websites relating to the history of medicine and allied sciences, covering all aspects of the history of health and development of medical knowledge.” [more]


Medical Algorithms ProjectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains 1,000 formulas and algorithms spanning major medical domains, organized into 43 chapters. To ensure the widest possible audience, the algorithms have been implemented in an Excel workbook which Windows or Macintosh computer. You will need MS Excel, and should be familiar with running spreadsheets. [more]


Medical Breakthroughs reported by IvanhoeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

19 channels of medical news, updated daily. News stories from the last week are free; a fee-based alerting service is available as is fee-based access to the 50,000 stories archived since 1995. [more]


Medical MnemonicsAnyone can use

A free, non-profit, searchable database of over 1000 memory aids to help students memorize anatomical, biochemical and clinical concepts. Palm and AvantGo PDA versions also available. [more]


Medical Register for the United KingdomAnyone can use
Also Known as: London Medical Register; UK Medical Register; Great Britain Medical Register


Medicare Nursing HomesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A free database of Medicaid and Medicare nursing homes. [more]


Medicare Participating Physician DirectoryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A free database of physicians that accept Medicare patients. [more]


Medications and Mothers’ MilkAnyone can use
Also Known as: breastmilk meds

Enter a drug name to identify any potential risks associated with breastfeeding. Available to MU Health Care employees on MyApps; click on Breastmilk Meds. [more]


MEDLINE Evidence Based Search FiltersAnyone can use

Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]


MedlinePlus alerts and news headlinesAnyone can use

Subscribe to daily or weekly alerts listing breaking medical news &/or newly added websites. You can specify topics of interest, such as women’s health, diabetes, mental health or other areas. [more]


MedlinePlus OrganizationsAnyone can use

This site, created by the National Library of Medicine, includes links to a large variety of organizations that give information and support on specific diseases. [more]


MedMasterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Based on ASHP’s Medication Teaching Manual: The Guide to Patient Drug Information. [more]


MedpixAnyone can use

Search and display over 30,000 diagnostic images. [more]


MedtermsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Definitions of medical terms written in lay language from the physicians who wrote Webster’s New World Medical Dictionary. [more]


MICA (Missouri Information for Community Assessment)Anyone can use

Use this site to create tailored statistical reports on births, deaths, hospital discharges and other topics. The site also includes a variety of health related fact sheets and reports, and community health initiatives. [more]


Missouri Board of NursingAnyone can use

Contains contact information, a licensee directory, latest news affecting nurses in practice. Also available is information on requirements for state licensure, including LPN and RN licensure applications, information about license renewal, and transferring licensure to another state. [more]


Missouri Department of Health & Senior ServicesAnyone can use

Includes statistical information about such subjects as cause of death, communicable diseases, hospitalization, and maternal child health at both the state and county levels. Use MICA (Missouri Information for Community Assessment) on this site to create tailored statistical reports on births, deaths, hospital discharges and other topics. The site also includes a variety of health related fact sheets and reports, and community health initiatives. [more]


Missouri Healthcare-Associated Infection ReportingAnyone can use

View and compare nosocomial infection rates for Missouri hospitals. Information on central line-associated bloodstream (CLAB) infections is available now for hospital inpatients; ambulatory surgicall centers will be added later, along with rates of surgical site infections. From the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services. [more]


Missouri Hospital AssociationAnyone can use
Also Known as: MHA

Established in 1922, the Missouri Hospital Association is a not-for-profit organization of 150 member hospitals. Includes news, workforce reports, and information on continuing education. The Focus on Hospitals web site reports on community benefit and economic impact of Missouri hospitals. [more]


Missouri Monthly Vital Statistics IndexAnyone can use

Indexes the statistical data from the “Focus” articles which appear in each issue of the Missouri Monthly Vital Statistics from volume 29 (9) 1995-present. [more]


Missouri Patient Care Review FoundationAnyone can use

A health care quality improvement and peer review organization. Conducts quality improvement collaboration projects with Missouri providers and offers consultation services. [more]


Missouri Veterinary Medical AssociationAnyone can use


MLA Top Health WebsitesAnyone can use

This list of 100 health websites have been reviewed for quality by members of the Consumer and Patient Health Information Section of the Medical Library Association. [more]


MoRx Price CompareAnyone can use
Also Known as: missouri rx price compare ; mo drug prices compare ;

Type in up to six drugs at a time, choose a Missouri county or ZIP code, and compare prices at nearby pharmacies. The prices, derived from retail prices reported by the pharmacies and from Medicaid claims, reflect what an uninsured customer with no discount or supplementary insurance would normally pay. [more]


Mosby’s SkillsAnyone can use
Also Known as: Mosby’s Nursing Skills ; Mosbys Skills ; Mosby’s Procedures ; Mosbys’ Nursing Procedures ; mosby procedure manual ; mosby’s nursing procedure manual

Includes over 1200 nursing procedures drawn from several premier nursing books including Perry & Potter’s Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques; Proehl’s Emergency Nursing Procedures; AACN Procedure Manual for Critical Care; AACN Procedure Manual for Pediatric Acute and Critical Care; and Wong’s Nursing Care of Infants and Children. Includes brief and detailed instructions, supply and checklists, videos, and online exams. Available from MU Healthcare computers. [more]


Mrs. Grieve’s A Modern HerbalAnyone can use

Approximately 800 plants with medical uses are described. This volume was first published in 1931,but it still has value today. [more]


MU and Columbia news sourcesAnyone can use

Links to University of Missouri and Columbia, Missouri news sources including newspapers, television stations and radio stations. [more]


MU Authors in PubMedAnyone can use
Also Known as: university of missouri authors ; medline MU authors

Provides citations to articles by University of Missouri-Columbia affiliates in PubMed. Institutional affiliations are typically only available in PubMed for the corresponding author, and not for all coauthors. [more]


MU Broader Impact Info for National Science Foundation Grant ProposalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Since 1997, NSF proposals have been evaluated by two criteria: intellectual merit and broader impact. This webpage was designed to assist MU investigators in writing their “broader impact” statements. Contains information, web links, and contact information to ongoing programs at MU that a faculty member might wish to tie into to enhance outreach, educational components (e.g., undergraduate research , K-12; teacher training, graduate student development, Professional development such as training in responsible conduct of research), and diversity as part of their proposed program to a sponsor, particularly NSF. [more]


MU Healthcare Performance MeasuresAnyone can use
Also Known as: Mu health quality of care ; muhealth quality ; mu health care quality

See how MU Health Care compares to other hospitals in Missouri and nationwide on quality metrics in cardiovascular, pneumonia, surgical, emergency, and preventive care; hospital acquired infections, and use of imaging technologies. From the MU Health Care Quality of Care website. [more]


MU Informatics InstituteAnyone can use
Also Known as: MUII

Building on a tradition of outstanding informatics education and research at Missouri, the MU Informatics Institute is a joint research and education program supported by various departments of the School of Medicine, College of Engineering, and the Bond Life Sciences Center. The Institute offers concentrations in bioinformatics and health informatics. Each concentration stresses the skill sets and research appropriate for the subfield within the broad area of informatics. [more]


Multilingual GlossaryAnyone can use

Technical and popular medical terms in nine European languages. [more]


MycotoxAnyone can use

The Mycotox data file contains a list of fungi and the mycotoxins they have been found to produce. Includes references for the mycotoxin findings. Produced by the Canadian National Committee for CODATA. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Caryn Scoville

Caryn Scoville
(573) 882-2844
scovillec@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Child Health