Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article.
Mizzou purchases the databases with the
icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri.
Resources with the
icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.
LactMed Drugs and Lactation Database
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider. [more]
Also Known as: Learning Express Library
LearningExpress Library contains online test preparation materials including the ACT, ASVAB, Civil Service, Cosmetology, EMS, Firefighter, GED, GMAT, GRE, Law Enforcement, Paramedic, PPST, Real Estate, SAT, United States Citizenship and more. You will need to register a username and password at the site. [more]
Lexi-Comp Drug Information in UpToDate
Search a drug in UpToDate to view the Lexi-Comp information on drug dosage, uses, interactions, side effects, and more. An interactions tool is also available from a link on the upper right section of the main UpToDate page. [more]
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals. [more]
Library of Congress Catalog
Lists English language books 1968+, books in all languages 1980+, and microforms 1984+ in the Library of Congress collection. [more]
The Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it’s possible to search using English keywords. [more]
Literature Arts and Medicine Database
An database of prose, poetry, film and art works dealing with health and medicine. Searchable by medium, author/creator, title, era, and subject. [more]
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology. [more]
Search the library collection of the National Library of Medicine. [more]
The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field.
To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog
2nd edition of The Laboratory Rat, edited by Mark A. Suckow, Steven H. Weisbroth, and Craig L. Franklin. A premier source of information on the laboratory rat, topics include: rat genetics and genomics, both spontaneous and induced disease; state-of-the-art technology for housing and husbandry; occupational health, and experimental models. [more]
Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures
Also Known as: Tests and Diagnostic Procedures
Lange Case Files
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology
In addition to the Lange Case Files in AccessMedicine, some additional/newer Lange Case Files are located here. [more]
LANGE Educational Library
Search 11 books covering all areas of basic sciences except anatomy. Includes such respected texts as Harper’s Biochemistry, Ganong’s Medical Physiology, and more. Part of AccessMedicine. [more]
LANGE Self Assessment Tool
Click on LANGE Self Assessment tool and complete the free registration form to access 3000 USLME Step 1 and Step 2 sample board exam questions. From USMLEasy.com. [more]
Larsen’s Human Embryology, 5th ed.
Also Known as: larsens embryology; larsons embryology
Learning Radiology: Recognizing the Basics (Herring), 3rd ed.
Also Known as: learning radiology the basics ; herring ; learning radiology ; herring
Recommended for IPC Block 5.
Lichtman’s Atlas of Hematology
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice
The complete text of the current edition of Nettina’s Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice. [more]
Lab Tests Online
Produced by laboratory professional societies, this site provides descriptions of laboratory tests including interpretation information. The site also includes a list of conditions and diseases along with the tests that are typically used in the diagnosis and treatment of these conditions and diseases. [more]
Images of laparoscopic procedures are
Life Choices: Understanding the importance of planning now for your needs at the end of life
Missouri Attorney General’s Office and the Missouri End of Life Coalition partnered to create this 36-page booklet providing information for Missouri consumers about health care decisions and issues regarding the end of life. [more]
Listing of Inherited Disorders in Animals
Also Known as: LIDA
Provides information on the prevalence of inherited disorders in cats and dogs. Browse by breed or organ system. Produced by the University of Sydney. [more]
Also Known as: liver tox
Provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.
Also includes a case registry that will enable scientific analysis and better characterization of the clinical patterns of liver injury. Registered users can also submit case reports to the registry.
Loyola University Medical Education Network (LUMEN)
Contains course materials in histology, gross anatomy, neuroanatomy, rheumatology, and immunology which are designed to “improve the integration of basic and clinical science curricular content”. [more]