HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

IEEE XploreRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Full-text access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. [more]


InCites Benchmarking & AnalyticsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

InCites Benchmarking & Analytics provides a dataset consisting of profiles of institutions, journals, books, proceedings, in the form of graphs and tables, containing data and metrics compiled from three sources: a reputation survey conducted by TR; demographic and financial information from the institutions; journal and publication and citation information from the Web of Science. You must create an InCites account using your MU email address. [more]


Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean RegionAnyone can use

The MEDLINE for medical journals published in the Eastern Mediterranean Region, including the countries of Afghanistan, Bahrain, Cyprus, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, The Occupied Territories, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, U.A.E., and Yemen Arab Republic. Indexed with MeSH Medical Subject Headings in English and Arabic. From the World Health Organization. [more]


Index to Chiropractic Literature ChiroindexAnyone can use

Search for articles in chiropractic journals. From the Chiropractic Library Consortium with funding from the Association of Chiropractic Colleges. [more]


Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General’s OfficeAnyone can use

Includes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General’s Office was the precursor to today’s National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well. [more]


IndMEDAnyone can use

Search 75 prominent Indian medical journals, most of which are not included in MEDLINE. All articles are indexed with MeSH headings. Maintained by the Indian Medlars Centre. [more]


IngentaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Ingenta provides access to the full-text of over 600 journals. [more]


International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)Anyone can use
Also Known as: IBIDS ; ODS dietary supplements

Formerly available as a freestanding database called IBIDS International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements, this has now been folded into PubMed. On the PubMed Limits page, choose Dietary Supplements under Subsets. [more]


International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER) DatabaseAnyone can use

A product of the Cincinnati based Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment, ITER presents human health risk values for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide, including the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, Health Canada, the Dutch National Institute of Public Health and the Environment, the International Agency for Research on Cancer, as well as independent parties whose risk values have undergone peer review. [more]


International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS)Anyone can use

Provides access to electronic books, veterinary meeting proceedings, continuing education, international calendar of veterinary events, and image collections. Free registration required. [more]


iPOLLRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The iPOLL database provides access to nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics. [more]


IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System)Anyone can use

Contains health risk information on over 530 chemicals. From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The reference dose and carcinogenicity assessments on IRIS can serve as guides in evaluating potential health hazards and selecting a response to alleviate a potential risk to human health. To search, select IRIS from the drop down search menu. [more]


Isis Current Bibliography of the History of ScienceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Published as a Supplement volume of Isis. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

Illustrated Orthopedic Physical Assessment, 3rd editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Orthopedic Physical Assessment


Immunobiology : the immune system in health and disease, 5th ed. (Janeway)Anyone can use

Although you cannot browse the table of contents, you can search for words anywhere in the text. [more]


Improvised medicine: providing care in extreme environmentsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Improvised Medicine is written for healthcare providers treating patients during a crisis situation or in a primitive environment, for diseases and disorders they have little or no hands-on experience with. The book begins with situational analysis and basic needs in a crisis, then moves on to cover specific triage, diagnosis, and stabilization efforts. It then provides medical interventions for surgical and non-surgical problems. [more]


Index-Catalogue of Medical and Veterinary ZoologyAnyone can use
Also Known as: ICMVZ

The Index-Catalogue of Medical and Veterinary Zoology (ICMVZ) is an historic compendium of parasitological literature and a key resource for researchers in emerging diseases and global animal health. It comprises more than 100 publications with about 20,000 pages of references. With funding from the National Library of Medicine, Oklahoma State University and Texas A & M digitized the Index-Catalogue and made it freely available online and electronically searchable. [more]


Infectious Diseases, 3rd editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Integrative Medicine, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Intensive Care : A Concise TextbookRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Intensive care unit manualRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Lanken


Resources Online

ICD9 SearchAnyone can use


Images from the History of MedicineAnyone can use

An index of nearly 60,000 prints and photographs from the history of medicine collection. [more]


Institute for Laboratory Animal ResearchAnyone can use
Also Known as: ILAR

Using the principles of refinement, reduction, and replacement (3Rs) as a foundation, ILAR focuses on the humane care and use of animals and the implementation of alternatives. Produces guidelines and technical reports. [more]


Institute for Safe Medication PracticesAnyone can use

A nonprofit organization that works closely with healthcare practitioners and institutions, regulatory agencies, professional organizations and the pharmaceutical industry to provide education about adverse drug events and their prevention. The Institute provides an independent review of medication errors that have been voluntarily submitted by practitioners to a national Medication Errors Reporting Program (MERP) operated by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) in the USA. Includes a “Textbook Errata” section to correct serious dosing errors which have been misprinted in published literature. [more]


Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences (Author Instructions)Anyone can use
Also Known as: authors instructions; instructions to authors

Offers links to Web sites which provide instructions to prospective authors for journals in the health sciences. Links are to sites of publishers or organizations having editorial responsibilities for particular titles. Also includes impact factor information. [more]


Integrated Health Interview Series – IHISAnyone can use
Also Known as: National Health Interview Survey ; NHIS

Harmonized data from the National Health Interview Survey which allows trend comparisons of over 12,000 health related variables, from health conditions to health care use and access. Extracted from the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) public use data from the National Center for Health Statistics. [more]


Intelihealth- Merriam Webster Medical DictionaryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Intelihealth-Drug Resource CenterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search for drug information produced by Johns Hopkins and the USPDI Advice for the Patient. [more]


Introduction to Chest RadiologyAnyone can use
Also Known as: chest xray ; chest x-ray

Tutorials and quizzes to help medical students and residents learn to interpret chest x-rays. From the University of Virginia Health Sciences Center Department of Radiology. [more]


Invasive Species Compendium (ISC)Anyone can use

From CABI, the Invasive Species Compendium includes information on taxonomy and nomenclature, distribution, habitat, identification, biology and ecology, species associations, pathways for introduction, impacts, and management of a wide range of invasive species (plants, animals, bacteria, etc.). Also includes maps and images. [more]


Isabel Symptom CheckerAnyone can use

A differential diagnosis tool containing symptoms for over 6000 diseases. [more]


ivillagehealth.comRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains articles, information, and numerous message board on a variety of health-related topics. You may read message boards freely, but you must register to post to message boards. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Caryn Scoville

Caryn Scoville
(573) 882-2844
scovillec@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Child Health