HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

HAPI – Hispanic American Periodicals IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
HAPI – Hispanic American Periodicals Index indexes articles from over 575 journals on all aspects of life in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States. [more]


Hazardous Substance Data BankAnyone can use

Peer-reviewed information on over 4700 chemicals including information on poisoning, toxicity, environmental fate and exposure, chemical/physical properties, standards and regulations, monitoring and analysis, and safety and handling. A subset of 390 chemicals, WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) is available for downloading to Palm OS PDAs. [more]


Haz-MapAnyone can use

Track occupational exposures by chemical, disorder, or occupation. Learn which occupations have a higher risk for which diseases, as well as the chemicals commonly encountered in different lines of work. From the Specialized Information Services branch of the National Library of Medicine. [more]


HCUPnetAnyone can use

An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]


Highwire PressRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search the full-text of almost 1 million articles hosted by Highwire Press; journals from major scientific societies like PNAS, American Journal of Physiology, Journal of Biological Chemistry are fully searchable back to their inception as early as 1899. [more]


HISTLINEAnyone can use

The HISTLINE history of medicine database is no longer available. Historical journal articles can be searched in PubMed; the books and book chapters formerly found in HISTLINE have been moved to LocatorPlus. All books, book chapters, and journal articles from 1964-1993 formerly found in HISTLINE can also be found in the print resource, Bibliography of the History of Medicine, in the reference collection at the Health Sciences Library. [more]


Historical AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Secondary sources (journal articles, dissertations, some books) on the history of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Africa, with some links to full text. [more]


Household Products DatabaseAnyone can use

Links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), including automotive, personal care, gardening, home care, and craft products. Search by product/ingredient, or browse by product category or manufacturer. Based on the Consumer Product Information Database. Copyright 2001 by DeLima Associates. From the National Library of Medicine. [more]


HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)Anyone can use

HSRProj is a database of description of in progress research funded by federal and private grants and contracts. This database is maintained by the U.S National Library of Medicine. Permits the download of bulk data. [more]


HSRR – Health Service and Sciences Research ResourcesAnyone can use

Contains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]


HSTAT (AHCPR Supported Guidelines)Anyone can use

This resource is a collection of documents relevant to the study of health services and health technology. The contents of this collection include: evidence-based reviews from the AHTQ “Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality”, protocols from the SAMHSA “Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration”, preventive medicine recommendations from the USPSTF, “U.S Preventive Services Task Force”, Consensus Reports, guidance and research on the methods from the AHRQ effective health care program, as well as archived guidelines and reports. This collection was created and is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (US). [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

Handbook of Antimicrobial TherapyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Selected articles from the Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, a recommended resource for PBL. [more]


Handbook of Death and DyingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Reference work covering the field of thanatology, the study of death and related psychological coping mechanisms and behaviors. [more]


Harper’s Illustrated BiochemistryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Harper’s Biochemistry

Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1. [more]


Harriet Lane Handbook, 21st ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Harriet Lane Pediatrics; The Harriet Lane Handbook


Harrison’s Manual of MedicineAnyone can use


Harrison’s Principles of Internal MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Harrison’s Online


Hazzard’s Geriatric Medicine and GerontologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology


Healthcare Standards DirectoryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Health Care Standards Directory


Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice, 7th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Henry’s Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory MethodsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods


Histology & Cell Biology: Examination & Board Review, 5eRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Histology and cell biology: examination and board review

This popular title in the LANGE series is specifically designed to help you make the most of your study time–whether you’re studying histology and cell biology for the first time or reviewing for course exams or the USMLE. With this focused review you will be able to pinpoint your weak areas, and then improve your comprehension with learning aids especially designed to help you understand and retain even the most difficult material. You will find complete easy-to-follow coverage of all the need-to-know material: fundamental concepts, the four basic tissues types, and organs and organ systems–presented in a consistent, time-saving design. At the conclusion of the book, you will find a Diagnostic Final Exam that has been updated with longer, case-related stems that mimic the USMLE Step 1 examination. [more]


Histology and Cell Biology: An Introduction to Pathology, 3rd editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Introduction to Pathology


Holland and Frei’s Cancer MedicineAnyone can use

Search he complete text of the 6th edition of Holland and Frei’s Cancer Medicine. A comprehensive multidisciplinary approach to adult and pediatric oncologic care: surgical, radiation, and medical oncology. Includes information on the cancer cell and molecular mechanisms of cancer. [more]


Human Anatomy: Color Atlas and TextbookRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Anatomy Color Atlas and Textbook


Human Biochemistry and DiseaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Biochemistry and Disease


Human Brain in Photographs and DiagramsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams


Human Brain: An Introduction to Its Functional Anatomy, 7th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Nolte’s Human Brain; The Human Brain

Recommended for PBL Block 3. [more]


Human Embryology and Developmental BiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Embryology and Developmental Biology


Human Histology, Stevens and LoweRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Human Molecular Genetics – NLMAnyone can use

2nd ed, 1999. [more]


Human Nervous SystemRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Human Nervous System


Hunter’s Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious DiseaseRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Disease


Hurst’s The Heart 14th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Hutchison’s Clinical Methods: An Integrated Approach to Clinical PracticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Methods: An Integrated Approach to Clinical Practice


Resources Online

Hand Held MedAnyone can use
Extensive list of medical PDA resources and services. Special offers available to members of the American Medical Student Association. [more]


Hardin MD Meta Directory of Medical and Disease PicturesAnyone can use

Links to medical pictures on the web arranged by disease and medical specialty. [more]


Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health SourcesAnyone can use

A meta listing of Internet subject guides in the health sciences. Guides are grouped by subject and size. [more]


HEAL – Health Education Assets LibraryAnyone can use

A prototype medical education multimedia collection of over 2,000 images, audio clips and video clips covering dermatology, histology, hematology, ObGyn, neuroanatomy, neurology, pathology, biochemistry, and cardiology, Developed with funding from the National Library of Medicine and the National Science Foundation, it is based on digital content contributed by various medical schools, including UCLA, the University of Utah, and the University of Oklahoma. Free registration required. [more]


HealiaAnyone can use

Healia is a search engine in beta format designed to locate consumer health information. This specialized tool offers some unique features including filters to limit by age, gender, heritage, or reading ability. The National Cancer Institute provided funding to develop the search engine technology which attempts to rank results based both on relevancy and quality of content. [more]


Health GradesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search for physicians, dentists, naturopathic physicians, acupuncturists, hospitals, emergency services, birth centers, mammography facilities, assisted living facilities by name, city/state/zip. Includes addresses, brief profile information and driving directions. Also includes “hospital report cards” on various cardiovascular, neurologic, orthopedic, and pulmonary procedures and diagnoses, as well as report cards for nursing homes, hospices, fertility clinics, and home health agencies based on explicitly stated methodologic criteria. [more]


Health Guide A-Z: Medical TestsAnyone can use

Information about medical tests designed for health consumers and patients. Normal lab values are presented along with information about how to prepare for tests and results interpretation. [more]


Health Literacy Missouri DatabaseAnyone can use
Also Known as: HLM inventory;MHLE database;MHLE inventory

A compilation of references to over 6000 journal articles, books, websites and other materials relating to health literacy from major health databases and indexes, the lnternet, and other sources. Although the database is free and open for all to use, the major emphasis of the collection is professional literature aimed at public health and social services professionals, teachers, health literacy professionals and health educators, administrators, and health care professionals. Resources in the database include health literacy studies and review articles; health and health literacy curricula; health materials for low-literacy, English as a Second Language and ethnic minority groups; health information in languages other than English; and educational materials aimed at children, the elderly, women, and other specific demographic groups. Direct links to the resource are included where available; in the case of materials that are not freely available, links to PubMed or WorldCat are provi [more]


Health News ReviewAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

A multidisciplinary team of doctors, journalists and health researchers reviews health reports from major newspapers and television outlets. A star rating is assigned based on 10 criteria from the Health News Review’s standardized ratings system. From the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making. Search by Keyword, date, or media outlet. [more]


Health Professional Shortage AreasAnyone can use

Lists of all areas, population groups, and facilities designated as primary medical care, mental health, and dental health professional shortage areas (HPSAs). Published in the federal register. [more]


Healthcare Blue BookAnyone can use
Also Known as: healthcare blue book; health care bluebook; health care bluebook;

Compare prices for medical procedures, tests, hearing aids, and other health care services. Includes an option to enter your ZIP code to compare prices for nearby doctors & hospitals. [more]


HealthCare.govAnyone can use

Connects health consumers and patients with information on quality, affordable health insurance options in their community. [more]


health-evidence.caAnyone can use
Also Known as: healthevidence ca ; health evidence ca ; health-evidence canada ;healthevidence canada

Search and browse for systematic reviews in public health. Reviews have been assessed and assigned scores for methodological quality, and many have structured abstracts. From McMaster University. [more]


HealthfinderAnyone can use

A gateway consumer health information web site from the United States government that leads to selected online publications, databases, web sites,and support groups, as well as government agencies. [more]


HealthReachAnyone can use
Also Known as: RHIN ; Refugee Health Information Network ; health reach

Health information and services for both refugees and health providers. Information is available in 70 languages. Formerly part of the Refugee Health Information Network website; now hosted by the National Library of Medicine. [more]


Healthy PeopleAnyone can use

Healthy People offers national health objectives and health indicators to measure health. New health objectives and measures are developed and evaluated every 10 years (e.g. Healthy People 2010, Healthy People 2020). [more]


HealthyChildren.orgAnyone can use

Site for parents sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatrics. [more]


HealthypetAnyone can use

A resource for information about pets provided by the American Animal Hospital Association. [more]


Henry J. Kaiser Family FoundationAnyone can use

The Kaiser Family Foundation describes itself as a “non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., with a growing role in global health.” The site contains extensive information about policy research and statistics about state & global health issues. [more]


HerbMedAnyone can use

A page sponsored by the Alternative Medicine Foundation. Best evidence for effectiveness, contraindications, preparations and mechanisms of action is provided for many common herbs. Some links to journal articles in the PubMed database are provided. [more]


History of the Health Sciences Word Wide Web LinksAnyone can use

Links to databases, journals, libraries, and websites on the history of health sciences. Compiled by the Medical Library Association’s History of Health Sciences Section. [more]


History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Health Related Professions (HRP)Anyone can use

A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries [more]


History of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of MedicineAnyone can use

A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries [more]


History of the University of Missouri-Columbia, School of NursingAnyone can use

A Selected List of Sources in MU Libraries [more]


Hitting the Headlines ArchiveAnyone can use

Examines the research evidence behind medical newspaper stories. Commissioned by the National Health Service (UK). Archived material; Hitting the Headlines is no longer a live service provided by the National Library for Health. [more]


HIV InSite–Gateway to AIDS KnowledgeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Includes links to medical information, state by state information with current statistics, recent pertinent news, social issues, and information about prevention and education for both health professionals and consumers. [more]


Hospital Charges and Collections from the Missouri Hospital AssociationAnyone can use
Also Known as: focus on hospitals ; MHA reports ; HIDI

Prevailing charges for the top 60 inpatient medical conditions at 109 acute care hospitals in Missouri. Compiled by the Missouri Hospital Association. [more]


Hospital CompareAnyone can use

Compare how hospitals measure up to one another in their treatment of patients with heart attack, heart failure, or pneumonia based on selected benchmarks. From the Department of Health and Human Services in collaboration with the Hospital Quality Alliance. [more]


How Much Your Doctor Received from MedicareAnyone can use
Also Known as: medicare payments ; doctor payments ; physician medicare income


How to Order National Institutes of Health Publications In Non-English LanguagesAnyone can use

Shows which consumer health publications from NIH are available in translation. Most are in Spanish; a few have Asian language translations available. [more]


HTAi Vortal – Health Technology Assessment InternationalAnyone can use

Search for health technology assessment information on the web. This Google Custom Search target free website. [more]


Human Anatomy OnlineAnyone can use

A site designed for consumers wishing to learn about human anatomy. Each topic contains animations, graphics, and descriptive links. [more]


Human Body Measurements through Wolfram AlphaAnyone can use

Enter age, gender, height and weight to calculate BMI, body surface area, growth percentiles, metabolic rate, and more. [more]


Human Genome Resources GuideAnyone can use

Provides overview and access to available genome resource databases provided by NCBI(National Center for Biotechnology Information). Databases include Entrez, OMIM,Sagemap ,GeneMapand Locus Link. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Taira Meadowcroft

Taira Meadowcroft
(573) 884-3575
MeadowcroftT@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Child Health
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing