Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article.
Mizzou purchases the databases with the
icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri.
Resources with the
icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women’s issues. [more]
A NIH-funded clinical information resource relating genetic testing to the diagnosis,
management, and genetic counseling of individuals and families with specific inherited disorders. From the University of Washington – Seattle. Also available as part of the NCBI Bookshelf. [more]
Genetics home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions
The National Library of Medicine’s web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions [more]
GENE-TOX Genetic Toxicology Data Bank
GENE-TOX provides genetic toxicology (mutagenicity) test data from expert peer review of open scientific literature for more than 3,000 chemicals from the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). GENE-TOX was established to select assay systems for evaluation, review data in the scientific literature, and recommend proper testing protocols and evaluation procedures for these systems. [more]
Google Book Search
Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
Grey Literature Report – New York Academy of Medicine Library
Also Known as: nyam grey literature
Locate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more.
Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]
The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field.
To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Comprehensive survey of 120 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures.
Gale Encyclopedia of Children’s Health
Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, with issues related to physical and cognitive and behavioral development. Covers every major body system, arranged into five main entry types: Diseases & Disorders; Development; Immunizations; Drugs; Procedures. There is a distinct emphasis on health issues affecting children under the age of four. Written in nontechnical language for parents and allied health students.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
Provides understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions, written in language understandable to the adult layperson. Includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders
Provides in-depth coverage of neurological diseases and disorders, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, Tourette Syndrome, Alzheimer’s disease, cerebral palsy, vertigo, amnesia, and epilepsy, targeted to patients, their families and allied health students. Related topics include communication aids, electric personal assistive mobility devices, medications, and the needs of Alzheimer patient caregivers among others.
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 650 articles — 65% of those are entirely new or updated since the last edition.
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery
Written especially for patients and allied healthcare students by experts in the field, the Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery provides in-depth coverage of approximately 450 surgical procedures and related topics, such as anesthetics, medications and postoperative care. Entries for surgical procedures follow a consistent format, covering definition; purpose; demographic information; diagnosis/preparation; aftercare; risks; morbidity and mortality rates; alternatives; and more.
Ganong’s Review of Medical Physiology
Also Known as: Review of Medical Physiology
A concise summary of human physiology. Also includes STAT!-Study,
a self-study section to help students review for Board and other examinations. [more]
Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 2. [more]
Diagnosis, clinical description, management, genetic counseling and information resources on genetic disorders from the University of Washington – Seattle GeneTests
Genes and Disease
Genetics for Surgeons
Goldberger’s Clinical Electrocardiography, 9th ed.
Also Known as: Clinical Electrocardiography
Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 25th edition
Also Known as: Cecil Textbook of Medicine;
Goldman’s Cecil Medicine
Goodman & Gilman’s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th ed.
Also Known as: Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
The complete text, including tables, charts and diagrams, of Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. G&G aims to be a working text on the understanding of how and why drugs work as well as a daily reference to rational clinical use of drugs. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1 and 2. [more]
Google Book Search Textbooks on Reserve at the Health Sciences Library
Also Known as: hsl reserve book collection; google books mylibrary; google books my library
In this Google Books MyLibrary, you can search cover-to-cover many (but not all) of the textbooks on reserve at the J. Otto Lottes Health Sciences Library. Not all or the books there are searchable due to publisher restrictions; come to the Circulation Desk to see
all of the textbooks on reserve. [more]
Grainger and Allison’s Diagnostic Radiology: A Textbook of Medical Imaging.
Also Known as: Diagnostic Radiology: A Textbook of Medical Imaging;
Textbook of Medical Imaging
Gray’s Anatomy for Students
Also Known as: Anatomy for Students
Gray’s Anatomy, 41st ed.
Also Known as: Gray’s
Gray’s Basic Anatomy
Also Known as: Basic Anatomy
Gray’s Clinical Neuroanatomy: The Anatomic Basis for Clinical Neuroscience
Also Known as: Clinical Neuroanatomy;
Anatomic Basis for Clinical Neuroscience
Gray’s Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body
Also Known as: Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body
Green’s Skeletal Trauma in Children, 5th ed.
Also Known as: Skeletal Trauma in Children
Greenspan’s Basic & Clinical Endocrinology, 10th ed.
Also Known as: Basic & Clinical Endocrinology
Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals
Revised in 2010 by the National Research Council’s Institute of Laboratory Animal Resources. [more]
Guide to Culturally Competent Healthcare, Third edition
Guide to Diagnostic Tests 7th ed.
Also Known as: AccessMedicine: DX Tests;
Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 13th ed.
Also Known as: Textbook of Medical Physiology
Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 2. [more]
Global Library of Women’s Medicine
Also Known as: GLOWM;Sciarra;Obstetrics and gynecology
A freely available, peer reviewed textbook of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Most of the chapters are updates of Sciarra’s 2004 6-volume Obstetrics and Gynecology textbook. [more]
GoldMiner Radiology Image Collection
Search over 170,000 diagnostic images from over 225 peer-reviewed radiology journals. Enter a keyword, then filter by imaging modality, patient age and sex. From the American Roentgen Ray Society. [more]
Google Image Search
Search over 800 million web images. You can specify file type (e.g. jpeg, gif), color/black & white, or image size. Many images are copyrighted and cannot be reused. To find images that can be reused, select “labeled for reuse” from the USAGE RIGHTS pull down menu. [more]
Guide to Patient and Visitor Services
Online guide for patients and visitors of University of Missouri Health Care. Includes information about topics such as visiting hours, checking in and checking out and patients rights and responsibilities. [more]