HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

EBM Reviews – ACP Journal ClubRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
EBM Reviews – ACP Journal Club contains the complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ’s Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. [more]


EBM Reviews – Cochrane Controlled Trials RegisterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBM Reviews – Cochrane Controlled Trials Register contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand researches by members of the Cochrane Collaborations. [more]


EBSCOhostRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBSCOhost is an interface that allows users to search over 40 databases across several disciplines at once. Includes full-text access to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. [more]


EconLitRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EconLit provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs. [more]


Education Full TextRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Education Full Text provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index. [more]


Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ECCO

Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. [more]


Encyclopedia of Research DesignRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Sage encyclopedia of research design

An encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed. [more]


Engineering VillageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Compendex

Multidisciplinary applied engineering, mathematical, and physical and materials science databases. Cross searches Compendex (engineering), Knovel (STEM ebooks), and Georef (geology, geography, physical sciences). [more]


Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBIRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Enter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more. [more]


Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Resource PageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine . [more]


ERICRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ERIC provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date. [more]


ETHXWebRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline. [more]


ETS TestLink Test Collection DatabaseAnyone can use

Search over 20,000 psychological and educational tests by either test name or by subject. From the Educational Testing Service. If the “Availability” field mentions Tests in Microfiche, the test can be used for research purposes. Copies of the instruments in Tests in Microfiche are available at Ellis Library. [more]


Evidence AlertsAnyone can use

A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates. [more]


Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step, from the American Journal of NursingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Twelve award winning “how-to” articles on evidence based nursing practice, first published in the American Journal of Nursing. Authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation’s Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice. CE credit is available to readers. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

Ebrary books owned by MU LibrariesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Ebrary – Electronic Books provides access to over 2000 electronic books covering computers (including Photoshop, PowerPoint, Dreamweaver, etc.), engineering, social sciences and other topics available in full-text. The ebrary reader will need to be installed in order to view the texts. [more]


Electronic Orange Book : Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence EvaluationsAnyone can use

Search by active ingredient, proprietary (brand) name, application number and applicant holder. [more]


Emery and Rimoin’s Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics


Encyclopedia of AgingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics. Also provides a topical outline, primary source documents, addresses, and Web sites. 4 volumes. [more]


Encyclopedia of BioethicsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. [more]


Encyclopedia of GerontologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Encyclopedia of Health and BehaviorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology : Health and Illness in the World’s CulturesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Discusses health and disease from a variety of cultural perspectives. The specific needs of homeless, refugee, and indigent populations are discussed, along with over 50 distinct ethnic groups: African Americans, Amish, Argentine Toba, Badaga, Bangladeshis, Baliem Valley Dani, British, Burmese, Cree, Czechs, Datoga, Fore, French, Fulani, Garhwali, Garifuna, Greeks, The Hadza, Haitians, Han, Hausa, Hmong in Laos and the United States, Iroquois, Jamaican Maroons, Japanese, Jat, Lijiang Naxi, Malagasy, Malays, Maori, Matsigenka, Maya of Highland Mexico, Mongolia, The Nahua1, Navajo, Nepal, The Northwest Coast, Ojibwa, Oklahoma Choctaw, Roma of the United States and Europe, Samoa, Saraguros, Shipibo, Sotho, Sudanese, Thai, Tongans, Trobriand, Tuareg, Wape, Yanomamö, Yoruba. [more]


Encyclopedia of NeuroscienceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains numerous entries, including in-depth essays by experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases. Covers the full range of modern neuroscience, from molecular neurobiology to brain architecture and from neurogenetics to neurophilospophy. [more]


Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied HealthRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Written for students and professionals in the field. Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Also discusses the roles of all major health professionals. [more]


Encyclopedia of Public HealthRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Aimed at the nonspecialist reader interested in health and medicinal issues, the Encyclopedia examines a broad range of topics such as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions and biographical entries. [more]


Endocrine PhysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 2. [more]


Endocrinology: An Integrated ApproachRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Endosonography, 3rd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


endotextAnyone can use
Also Known as: endotext.org ; endo text ;

Recommended for PBL Block 7. Free registration required. [more]


Epidemiology, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Epocrates MedToolsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A variety of free add-on programs to accompany ePocrates. Currently includes a tumor staging reference, a bone health assessment tool, dosing calculators, and treatment guides for cholesterol, psychiatry, and hypertension. [more]


Essentials of Clinical GeriatricsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Geriatrics

For nearly three decades, the goal of Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics has remained unchanged: to help clinicians do a better job of caring for their older patients. You will find thorough and authoritative coverage of all the important issues in geriatrics, along with concise, practical guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases and disorders most commonly encountered in an elderly patient. [more]


Essentials of medical biochemistry : with clinical cases, 2nd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Medical biochemistry


Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 3rd ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation


Essentials of RadiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Mettler ; Mettler’s Radiology

Required for School of Medicine IPC Block 5. [more]


Evidence Based Physical Diagnosis, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: mcgee physical diagnosis ; mc gee physical diagnosis ; mcgee’s physical diagnosis ; mc gee’s physical diagnosis ; mcgees physical diagnosis

Recommended for IPC Block 2. [more]


Resources Online

Effective Health Care from AHRQAnyone can use
Also Known as: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Effective Health Care


Electronic ZooAnyone can use

A veterinary medicine directory of web sites maintained at Washington University. [more]


Ellis Fischel Cancer CenterAnyone can use

The homepage of the Center located in Columbia, Missouri. Offers a connection to the American Cancer Society’s new informational and support site with real audio, the Cancer Survivor’s Network. [more]


Emedicine ConsumerAnyone can use

Contains articles written by physicians for patients and consumers. These articles are reviewed by two physicians and a PharmD. [more]


Entrez GeneAnyone can use

Entrez Gene – each Entrez Gene record encapsulates a wide range of information for a given gene and organism. When possible, the information includes results of analyses that have been done on the sequence data. The amount and type of information presented depend on what is available for a particular gene and organism and can include: (1) graphic summary of the genomic context, intron/exon structure, and flanking genes, (2) link to a graphic view of the mRNA sequence, which in turn shows biological features such as CDS, SNPs, etc., (3) links to gene ontology and phenotypic information, (4) links to corresponding protein sequence data and conserved domains, (5) links to related resources, such as mutation databases. [more]


Entrez GenomesAnyone can use

Entrez Genomes – whole genomes of over 1000 organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress. All three main domains of life – bacteria, archaea, and eukaryota – are represented, as well as many viruses, phages, viroids, plasmids, and organelles.. Entrez Genomes provides graphical overviews of complete genomes/chromosomes and the ability to explore regions of interest in progressively greater detail. [more]


Enviro-Health Links: Dietary SupplementsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Links to authoritative information on dietary supplements plus vitamins and minerals, as well as herbs, botanicals and other substances, from the National Library of Medicine’s Specialized Information Services Division. It covers research, use, databases, law and policy, and has links to Spanish-language resources. [more]


Epocrates OnlineAnyone can use

Concise information on diseases and drugs. Drug interaction checker, formularies, and images are available with optional free registration. [more]


eSkeletonsAnyone can use

Display bones from a complete, rotating human skeleton, including information on morphology, insertions, origins, and articulations. Funded by the National Science Foundation. [more]


Evaluation of Genomic Applications in Practice and Prevention (EGAPP)Anyone can use

Applies evidence-based principles to the evaluation of genetic testing with an eye toward analytic validity, clinical validity and clinical utility of genetic testing for disorders such as depression and various forms of cancer. Funded by the Center for Disease Control. [more]


Evidence-Based Veterinary Medical Association (EBVMA)Anyone can use

Information on incorporating priniciples of Evidence-Based Medicine into the veterinary profession. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Caryn Scoville

Caryn Scoville
(573) 882-2844
scovillec@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Child Health