HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

Daniel Boone Regional Library CatalogAnyone can use
Search library materials in the public libraries in Columbia, Fulton, and Ashland. Those with borrowers cards can place holds and renew material online. [more]


DARE – Database of Abstracts of Reviews of EffectivenessRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

DARE provides access to systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions in the areas of diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening and treatment. This database is fully integrated with MEDLINE. Limit MEDLINE results to articles chosen for DARE reviews by checking the box labelled “Article Reviews (DARE)”. File closed as of December 2014 – no plans to add new material. [more]


DART Developmental and Reproductive ToxicologyAnyone can use

Contains over 37,000 references to literature on agents that may cause birth defects. For references prior to 1989, search ETICBACK. [more]


Dartmouth AtlasAnyone can use

The Dartmouth Atlas Project is run by the Center for Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School. It’s goal is to “accurately describe how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States.” Using information compiled by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the data covers hospitalizations of people aged 65 to 99 in the traditional Medicare system who are free to select any participating physician or hospital. Data is available from 1994-2003. [more]


DbGaP Genotype and PhenotypeAnyone can use

Archives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments. From NCBI. [more]


Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseAnyone can use

This database contains information on the ingredients of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements sold in the U.S. and is designed to help not only researchers, but the large audience of supplement consumers as well. [more]


DRUGDEX SystemAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Drug information gathered and reviewed by Micromedex. Information provided includes dosing, pharmacokinetics, clinical applications and comparative drug efficacy. To search, enter the Micromedex system and click on box next to DrugDex System. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

Davidson’s Principles and Practice of MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Principles and Practice of Medicine


DeGowin’s Diagnostic ExaminationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


DeLee and Drez’s Orthopaedic Sports Medicine, 4th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Orthopaedic Sports Medicine


Developing HumanRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Developing Human

Required for School of Medicine PBL Block 1. [more]


DiagnosaurusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with AccessMedicine. [more]


DrugdexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Browse brief, bulleted drug information from Micromedex. [more]


DSM V – Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5th editionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: dsmv ; dsm-v ; dsm5 ; DSM 5 ; DSM-V ; DSM V ; DSMV


DynaMed PlusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides basic information and summarizes current developments on over 2000 diseases. Designed for use at the point of care. Includes ICD9 codes. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. [more]


Resources Online

DailyMedAnyone can use
Aims to include the FDA-approved label/package inserts for all drugs marketed in the U.S. [more]


Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)Anyone can use

Locate and assess the quality of over 2500 systematic and non systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health. From the EPPI-Centre Health Promotion and Public Health Research Registers. [more]


DermAtlas Dermatology Image AtlasAnyone can use

Includes almost 10,000 dermatology images, which can be used for teaching purposes. From physicians at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. [more]


Destination RxAnyone can use
Also Known as: destinationrx;destinationrx.com

Helps patients manage their drug prescriptions. Comparison shop for the lowest price or prescription drug plan; look for lower cost alternatives; read about side effects and drug interactions. [more]


DIPEx: Database of Individual Patient ExperiencesAnyone can use

Patients describe their illness experiences and the impact of disease on their lives through video and audio clips. The following diseases are currently included: breast, prostate, colorectal and testicular cancer, hypertension, epilepsy, congenital heart disease, and abnormal pap smear, with plans to expand to include 100 diseases. A United Kingdom-based nonprofit site. [more]


Directory of America’s HospitalsAnyone can use

From U.S. News and World Report and the American Hospital Association. Search by name, location, specialty services or equipment offered. Includes information on staff size and patient volume. [more]


DIRLINEAnyone can use

This site, created by the National Library of Medicine, is a search engine for organizations. Users can search a specific disease and find organizations that deal with that disease. [more]


Disaster Lit Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public HealthAnyone can use
Also Known as: disasterlit

A database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents freely available online. Includes expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience. [more]


Diseases and Conditions depicted in the Tate Art Gallery Collection, LondonAnyone can use

Look under People…Diseases and Conditions to see artwork depicting various diseases in the Tate Galleries in London [more]


DocuShare Document Management System for MU HealthcareAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Also Known as: hospital protocols

Policies and procedures for MU Healthcare. Logon with your pawprint. [more]


DPDx Identification and Diagnosis of Parasites of Public Health ConcernRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Users can browse through concise reviews of parasites and parasitic diseases, including an image library and a review of recommended procedures for collecting, shipping, processing, and examining biologic specimens. [more]


DREAM – Directory & Repository of Educational Assessment MeasuresAnyone can use
Also Known as: AAMC mededportal assessment measures


Drug DigestAnyone can use
Also Known as: drugdigest

Produced by the ExpressScripts Corporation, this site provides general information about drugs, vitamins, herbal medicines and their side effects, including the percentage of patients that experience different side effects. A special “Drug Interactions” tool lets you check to see if the drugs you are taking are safely taken together. Compare Drugs shows drugs with similar actions for common conditions such as hypertension, depression, and more. Drug information provided by Gold Standard. [more]


Drug Indentifier from Wall’s Medicine and Health CenterAnyone can use

Identify prescription and over the counter pills by color, shape, or markings. From Clinical Pharmacology, courtesy of Wall’s Medicine and Health Center, Grand Forks, ND. [more]


Drug Information – U. S. FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and ResearchAnyone can use

Access to information about prescription and non-prescription drugs evaluated by the Center. [more]


Drug Information Portal from the National Library of MedicineAnyone can use


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing