HSL Find Electronic Resources

Find Electronic Resources

Search by resource title and/or subject:
Resource Title:
(Optional)

Subject
Material Type

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri. Resources with the Available only from within the Health Sciences Library. icon are only aviable from with the Health Sciences Library.

BELIT – Bioethics Literature DatabaseAnyone can use
Search over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en ethique des sciences de la vie et de la sante, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris). Website supports English and German versions of its interface. [more]


Birds of North AmericaRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Birds of North America is a comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Includes audio, video and extensive references. [more]


BMC ProceedingsAnyone can use

Devoted specifically to conference publications in medicine and biology, BioMed Central aims to provide open access to both abstracts and complete articles presented at conferences. [more]


Business Source PremierRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis. [more]


eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

Bancroft’s Theory and Practice of Histological TechniquesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques


Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 14th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1 & 2. [more]


Basic and Clinical BiostatisticsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Basic and Clinical ImmunologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Immunology


Basic human anatomy : a regional study of human structureAnyone can use

An online adaptation of O’Rahilly’s 2004 textbook, developed at Dartmouth Medical School. [more]


Basic Immunology: Functions and Disorders of the Immune System, 5th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Functions and Disorders of the Immune System


Basic RadiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Before we are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects, 9th edition.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Behavioral Medicine : A Guide for Clinical PracticeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Berne & Levy’s Physiology, 7th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: berne’s physiology


Big Picture : Gross AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture


Big Picture : Medical BiochemistryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Biochemistry – StryerAnyone can use

5th edition. Sometimes referred to as Stryer’s Biochemistry. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1. [more]


Biochemistry DemystifiedRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Biochemistry for DummiesRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Are you baffled by biochemistry? Youíre not the first, and you wonít be the last. Hereís the good news ó you donít have to stay baffled! Biochemistry For Dummies shows you the fun and easy way to get a handle on biochemistry, apply the science, raise your grades, and prepare yourself to ace any standardized test. From water chemistry to protein synthesis Biochemistry For Dummies gives you the vital information, clear explanations, and important insights you need to increase your understanding and improve your performance on any biochemistry test. [more]


Biomedical Devices HandbookAnyone can use


Bioterrorism SourcebookRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Books@OvidAnyone can use

A collection of major medical, nursing and pharmacy reference texts. Titles can be searched individually or as a whole. [more]


Boron & Boulpaep’s Medical PhysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Boron & Boulpaep’s Medical Physiology Boron & Boulpaep


Bradley’s Neurology in Clinical Practice, 6th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Neurology in Clinical Practice


Braunwald’s Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine


Brenner & Rector’s The Kidney, 10th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Brocklehurst’s Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 8th ed.Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology; Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology


Brody’s Human PharmacologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Human Pharmacology


Resources Online

Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST)Anyone can use
Also Known as: BLAST

The Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) compares gene and protein sequences against others in public databases. Specialized BLASTs are also available for human, microbial, malaria, and other genomes, as well as for vector contamination, immunoglobulins, and tentative human consensus sequences. [more]


Best DoctorsAnyone can use

Fee-based online referral service that operates and provides information based on the question of, “Which doctors would other doctors go to if they needed treatment for themselves or a loved one?” [more]


Best Health PlansAnyone can use

Search by state or name for information on commercial, Medicare, and Medicaid plans. Compare plans on metrics like access to care, satisfaction, and preventive services. Includes rankings and an honor roll of top plans. From U.S. News & World Report’ based on data provided by the National Committee for Quality Assurance. [more]


Betts’ Anatomy and PhysiologyAnyone can use
Also Known as: openstax anatomy and physiology ; open access anatomy ; open access physiology

An open access textbook for undergraduate health and nursing students from OpenStax. Freely available for online reading or for downloading in a variety of formats, including epub and pdf. [more]


BING Health MapsAnyone can use

Choose a state, and view statistical map overlays of health indicators by county, including prenatal care, chronic disease, smoking, health behaviors, and more. [more]


BlitterAnyone can use

A tool that scans physician-highlighted content from their blogs or twitter accounts. Citing sources are identified by the respective news feed or twitter username (@username). A project from the people at TRIP (http://www.tripdatabase.com/) [more]


Boone County Health Report CardAnyone can use

Created by the Chamber of Commerce in 1995; to be updated annually. Contains county statistics on various problem health issues such as access to health care, maternal and child health, mental health, and more. [more]


Boone Hospital Center/BJC Physician Referral DatabaseAnyone can use

Search for physicians in the BJC referral network (including Boone Hospital Center) by name, specialty, insurance, location, age or gender. [more]


Bovine Necropsy ModuleAnyone can use

From Cornell University: provides “step-by-step video demonstrating the bovine field necropsy, diagnostic sample collection, packaging, and shipping procedures. The visual reference contains images and text descriptions of normal tissues and gross pathologic lesions. Versatile search parameters support both diagnostic and educational uses.” [more]


Breast Cancer InformationAnyone can use

Breast cancer information from the United States Department of Health and Human Services for patients, families, caregivers and survivors of breast cancer. [more]


Quick Links

Browse Resource Titles

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

Popular Resources


Databases by Subject

Electronic Books by Subject

Subject Guides

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarian Rebecca Graves

Rebecca Graves
(573) 882-0469
GravesR@health.missouri.edu


Subject Specialist for:
Health & Medicine
Health Related Professions
Nursing