Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: W

Water Resources AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Water Resources AbstractsWater Resources Abstracts covers a wide range of water resource topics including water resource economics, conservation, control, hydrology, water planning, water cycle (precipitation), snow, groundwater, lakes, erosion), and water quality (pollution, waste treatment). [more]



Wellesley Index to Victorian PeriodicalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Wellesley Index to Victorian PeriodicalsThis database indexes British and American Periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]



Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideWildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. [more]



Wiley InterscienceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Wiley InterscienceWiley Interscience is a multidisciplinary database offering access to journals, online books, reference works and databases. [more]



WIPO World Intelllectual Property Organization PCT Patents DatabaseAnyone can use
WIPO World Intelllectual Property Organization PCT Patents DatabasePart of the WIPO Intellectual Property Digital Library. Search and retrieve fulltext for WIPO PCT patent applications published as PCT pamphlets since January 1997, and where applicable, republished since April 1998. Bibliographic data, abstracts, drawings and images of PCT pamphlets are provided for all published and republished international applications in the collection. To search the entire collection rather than only the current week, be sure and select ALL weeks To retrieve a patent by number, search the PUBLICATION NUMBER (e.g. WO 2004/019554). search only the number with punctuation and spaces removed (e.g. 2004019954). [more]



Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)Anyone can use
Also Known as: webwiser ; WISER

Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)Designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents, WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. Contains information on 390 of the substances included in the HSDB Hazardous Substances Databank. [more]



Women & Gender Studies DatabasesAnyone can use
Women & Gender Studies Databases [more]



Workforce Skills for 21st Century SuccessRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Workforce Skills for 21st Century SuccessProvides an interactive, self-paced platform with resume building tools, resources to improve workplace skills like business writing and presentation proficiencies, improve computer and internet skills, assistance with preparation for professional licensing and aptitude tests and interview skills. Access provide by MOREnet. [more]



World Development Indicators OnlineAnyone can use
Also Known as: WDI

World Development Indicators OnlineWDI provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers 209 economies with data back to 1965. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 209 economies with data back to 1960. Results can be downloaded into: excel; csv; xml; sdmx formats as well as API format. Free access provided by World Bank. [more]



World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)Anyone can use
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985. [more]



World Newspaper Archive – African NewspapersRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
World Newspaper Archive - African NewspapersThis collection provides access to more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published between 1800 and 1922. It features titles published in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others. [more]



World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineInternational in scope, The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online covers Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1961 and 2008. Publications range from 1961 to 2008. [more]



WorldCatRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: WorldCat OCLC Catalog

WorldCatWorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 95 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide. [more]



WorldCat DissertationsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
WorldCat DissertationsWorldCat Dissertations is a database of all dissertations and theses listed in WorldCat. [more]



WorldCat.orgAnyone can use
Also Known as: WorldCat

WorldCat.org [more]



Worldwide Political Science AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsWorldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in Political Science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance - TrialThe Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance includes bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars. Trial ends October 17, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Rock’s Backpages – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Rocks Backpages; Rocks Back Pages; Rock’s Back Pages

Rocks Backpages - TrialRock’s Backpages covers all types of popular music from the 1960s to the present. It includes over 25,000 articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) and over 400 exclusive and previously unpublished audio interviews with major music icons. Trial ends October 4, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources