Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: U

U.S. CodeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
U.S. CodeComplete coverage (1925-1926 Edition – 2006 Current Edition)of The United States Code. The U.S. Code is the official consolidation and codification of all general and permanent laws of the United States that are in force as of a certain date. Exact page-images of the original bound edition are provided. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]



U.S. Congressional Serial SetRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
U.S. Congressional Serial SetThe U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]



U.S. Congressional Serial Set MapsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Serial Set Maps

U.S. Congressional Serial Set MapsReadex’ Digital U.S. Congressional Serial Set Map collection includes high quality images of about 52,000 maps of all kinds, dating from the 1400s to the 1970s. The collection ranges from global maps to maps of building interiors; from interoceanic canals to city sidewalks. It covers an incredibly diverse range of topics. It includes but goes far beyond the typical political and land use maps, maps of military conflicts, trails, roads and waterways. There are maps on almost every conceivable topic in history, including alien labor, underwater tunnels, nightclubs, asteroids, shipwrecks, medical care, women’s rights, nearly every tribe of American Indian, and much more. These maps are part of the full Digital U.S. Congressional Serial Set database, but this special map module was created to facilitate access by geography, subject and date. [more]



U.S. Statutes at LargeRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
U.S. Statutes at LargeU.S. Statutes at Large provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes. [more]



U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. [more]



Ulrich’s Periodicals DirectoryRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Ulrichs Periodicals DirectoryUlrich’s Periodicals Directory provides detailed profiles of over a quarter of a million academic journals, consumer magazines, trade publications, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, and other serials. [more]



UM Digital LibraryAnyone can use
UM Digital LibraryUM Digital Library is a repository of digitized Missouri materials. [more]



UNBISnet(United Nations Bibliographic Information System)Anyone can use
UNBISnet(United Nations Bibliographic Information System)UNBISnet is the catalog for United Nations documents and publications. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis. UNBISnet also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward. [more]



United Nations Official Document System (ODS)Anyone can use
United Nations Official Document System (ODS)The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) provides full-text access to all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. [more]



United States ReportsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
United States Reports [more]



US Patent & Trademark Office Fulltext Patents DatabaseAnyone can use
US Patent & Trademark Office Fulltext Patents DatabaseThe Full-Text Database now offers all US patents issued since 1790, in the form of searchable patent numbers and current US classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent. Searchable in five-year blocks back to 1976, and in one additional block covering the years 1790-1975. [more]



USDA CRIS – Current Research Information SystemAnyone can use
USDA CRIS - Current Research Information SystemSearch for ongoing and recently completed research projects sponsored or conducted primarily within the USDA and State university agricultural research system. The NIH HNRIM (Human Nutrition Research and Information Management) and the ICAR (Inventory of Canadian Agri-Food Research) are also included. [more]



USDA Nutrient Database SR 16-1Anyone can use
USDA Nutrient Database SR 16-1Contains the nutrient data, including vitamin, mineral, and fatty acid content of over 6500 food items. From the U.S. Department of Agriculture. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: ABSEES

American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES) - TrialABSEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. It indexes books, dissertations, journals, select government publications and online resources covering anthropology, culture, economics, education and geography. Trial ends December 15, 2014. [more]



Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: henry stewart talks

Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection Seminar Talks - TrialThis collection provides access to over 1,500 online seminar style talks containing the latest research developments as well as the fundamentals presented by leading world experts, including Nobel Laureates. Trial ends December 31, 2014. [more]



Digital Loeb Classical Library – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Digital Loeb Classical Library - TrialThe Digital Loeb Classical Library is a searchable collection of more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy and oratory and others are included. Trial ends November 14, 2014. [more]



Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance - TrialThe Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance includes bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars. Trial ends October 17, 2014. [more]



Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: RIPM

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) with Online Archive - TrialIndexes over 200 music periodicals, including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press releases and more. The Archive includes full-text for over 118 primary source journals indexed in RIPM. Trial ends June 30, 2015. [more]



Rock’s Backpages – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: Rocks Backpages; Rocks Back Pages; Rock’s Back Pages

Rocks Backpages - TrialRock’s Backpages covers all types of popular music from the 1960s to the present. It includes over 25,000 articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) and over 400 exclusive and previously unpublished audio interviews with major music icons. Trial ends October 4, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources