Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases not only index scholarly, professional, newspaper, and magazine articles, but they also cover reports, statistics, case studies, patents, standards and e-books. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: T

Tarascon ePharmacopoeiaAnyone can use
Tarascon ePharmacopoeiaDrug database for PDA including dosage and drug interaction information. Search by generic name or brand name. [more]



Tax AnalystsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Tax AnalystsTax Analysts, a non-profit organization, creates daily publications to educate tax professionals regarding state, federal, and international tax law. Includes IRS regulations, rulings, and publications, over 100,000 case decisions, and legislative history regarding federal tax changes back to 1981. Use this resource to read the daily edition of Tax Notes Today. [more]



Teacher Reference CenterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Teacher Reference CenterTeacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. [more]



Teaching Files: Brain and Spine ImagingRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Teaching Files: Brain and Spine Imaging; Brain and Spine Imaging

Teaching Files: Brain and Spine Imaging [more]



Teaching Files: ChestRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Teaching Files: Chest; Chest

Teaching Files: Chest [more]



Teaching Files: GastrointestinalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Teaching Files: Gastrointestinal; Gastrointestinal

Teaching Files: Gastrointestinal [more]



Teaching Files: MusculoskeletalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Teaching Files: Musculoskeletal; Musculoskeletal

Teaching Files: Musculoskeletal [more]



Teaching Files: PediatricsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: The Teaching Files: Pediatrics; Pediatrics

Teaching Files: Pediatrics [more]



Television News ArchiveRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Television News ArchiveTelevision News Archive includes over 835,000 records describing items of news content. [more]



TESS Trademark Electronic Search SystemAnyone can use
TESS Trademark Electronic Search SystemLists over 3 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. [more]



Test Reviews OnlineAnyone can use
Test Reviews OnlineTest Reviews Online provides citations to reviews of educational and psychological tests and measurements that the Buros Institute have included in their indexes. Full-text of the actual instrument are not included. [more]



Textbook of Medical PhysiologyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology

Textbook of Medical PhysiologyRecommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 2. [more]



Textbook of Pediatric CareRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Textbook of Pediatric CareComprehensive pediatric textbook published by the American Academy of Pediatrics. [more]



Textbook of Physical DiagnosisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Textbook of Physical DiagnosisRecommended for School of Medicine IPC Block 5. [more]



Textile Technology IndexRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Textile Technology IndexTextile Technology Index covers the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing. It indexes more than 470 periodical titles. [more]



The Human Brain: An Introduction to Its Functional AnatomyRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Nolte

The Human Brain: An Introduction to Its Functional AnatomyRecommended for PBL Block 3. [more]



The Morgue Mortuary Journals DatabaseAnyone can use
The Morgue Mortuary Journals DatabaseIndexes articles in 11 mortuary science journals – coverage dates vary. Search by subject or author. Journal titles are abbreviated; see guide at the bottom of results pages. From Kansas City Kansas Community College. [more]



Theatre DatabasesAnyone can use
Theatre Databases [more]



Theses CanadaAnyone can use
Theses CanadaThis free site provides indexing of Canadian theses from 1965 to date. Full-text is available from 1998-2002. [more]



Thomas: U.S. Congress on the InternetAnyone can use
Thomas: U.S. Congress on the InternetThomas is a full-text database of legislative information from the U.S. Congress. [more]



Thompson & Thompson Genetics in MedicineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Thompson & Thompson Genetics in Medicine [more]



Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular DiagnosticsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Textbook of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics; Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics

Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics [more]



TOXMAPAnyone can use
TOXMAPA companion to the TRI Toxic Release Inventory. A geographic information system which provides maps showing the release of toxic chemicals over a geographic area. Search by chemical name, chemical name fragment, and/or location (such as city, state, or zip code). [more]



Transportation DatabasesAnyone can use
Transportation Databases [more]



Transportation Research Information Database (TRID)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: TRIS; TRB; TRR; Transportation Research Board; TRID; ITRD

Transportation Research Information Database (TRID)TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRID coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. [more]



Transportation Research RecordRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board

Transportation Research RecordSearches the full-text of a collection of papers from the Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board (TRR Journal) is accessible electronically. TRB’s journal contains technical papers prepared by researchers that are peer-reviewed by TRB committee members. Included are selected papers from the TRB Annual Meetings (1996- ). [more]



TRI – Toxic Release InventoryAnyone can use
TRI - Toxic Release InventoryA system for tracking the release of chemicals into the environment. Search by company, geographic location, or chemical for a given year. [more]



Tribal College JournalRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Tribal College Journal [more]



TRIP DatabaseAnyone can use
TRIP DatabaseSearch evidence based medicial topics from 61 EBM sites around the world, including ACP Journal Club, POEMS, Bandolier, DARE, and others. From the Centre for Research Support in Wales. Register for a free password and choose University of Missouri – Columbia in your settings to view links and ordering options for primary research articles. [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

Engineering Case Studies Online – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Engineering Case Studies Online - TrialEngineering Case Studies Online offers hundreds of hours of video and thousands of pages of text resources providing analysis of key engineering failures. It includes feature-length video documentaries, simulations, case details, primary footage of accidents, audio footage and transcripts, testimonies, accident reports and more. Trial ends August 6, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources