Databases

Databases A-Z

 

SEARCH FOR A DATABASE

     

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Results for: S

Safari Tech Books OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Safari Tech Books OnlineProvides full-text access to over 9,000 books online covering technology, digital media and business. [more]



Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research MethodsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: encyclopedia of qualitative research methods

Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research MethodsAn interdisciplinary approach to the field of qualitative research, providing background information on concepts that inform qualitative research practices. [more]



Sage Journals OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Sage Journals OnlineSage Journals Online provides full-text access to over 485 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine from Sage. [more]



SAO/NASA Astrophysical Data SystemAnyone can use
SAO/NASA Astrophysical Data SystemSAO/NASA Astrophysical Data System consists of three bibliographic databases: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and ArXiv e-prints that are maintained by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and funded by NASA. [more]



Science (General) DatabasesAnyone can use
Science (General) Databases [more]



Science AcceleratorAnyone can use
Science AcceleratorThe Science Accelerator searches simultaneously across key Department of Energy resources, including the OSTI full-text DOE Information Bridge (1991), the E-Print Network, the EnergyFiles, and DOE Patents. Provided by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information. [more]



Science Magazine OnlineRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Science Magazine OnlineScience Magazine Online provides searchable full-text articles from Science Magazine from 1995 to present. [more]



Science of SynthesisRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Science of SynthesisScience of Synthesis provides comprehensive information on synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. It includes the complete backfiles of Houben Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry with references dating back to 1835. [more]



Science Reference CenterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Science Reference CenterScience Reference Center contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]



ScienceDirectRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ScienceDirectA search engine for journals published by Elsevier. Select Images to search over 15 million photos, tables, figures, graphs and videos in Elsevier journals. [more]



ScienceDirect Freedom CollectionRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ScienceDirect Freedom CollectionScienceDirect Freedom Collection provides access to all live journals published by Elsevier; online book series and discontinued journals are not included. The publisher specializes in life science, physical science, and engineering. There are over 1,600 journals included in the trial, of which more than 1,100 are new to this campus. More than 200 of these new journals have impact factors equal to or greater than 2. [more]



Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and AbbreviationsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and AbbreviationsScientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations is a searchable, online resource providing over 200,000 entries covering the abbreviations, symbols and acronyms used in science and technology, coveirng such subjects as chemical symbols, scientific associations and societies, units of measure, and professional credentials. [more]



SciFinder Scholar – RegistrationRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
SciFinder Scholar - RegistrationIn order to use SciFinder Scholar, you must first register for an account using your MU email address. [more]



SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 – date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Available via the web which requires registration using your MU e-mail address. [more]



ScirusAnyone can use
ScirusScirus is a free search engine for scientific information on the web that covers journal articles, e-print archives, patents, technical reports and scientific web sites. [more]



SciTech ConnectAnyone can use
Also Known as: Information Bridge; Energy Citations Database

SciTech ConnectDatabase of free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. [more]



SciVerse HubAnyone can use
Also Known as: SciVerse

SciVerse HubSearch engine for over 18 journal publishers including Elsevier, Sage and Springer. Also searches the full-text of both U.S. and international patents, the contents of repositories from around the world and academic and government websites. [more]



ScopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
ScopusScopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]



Scopus PMID Cited Reference SearchRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: PMID pubmed citation index search

Scopus PMID Cited Reference SearchEnter a PMID (PubMed Identifier) number to find times cited information in Scopus. PMIDs can be copied and pasted from UpToDate, AccessMedicine, and other online textbooks. Scopus includes cited references primarily for articles published after 1996. [more]



Scopus: Recent MU Faculty PublicationsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Scopus MU authors

Scopus: Recent MU Faculty PublicationsView the 2000 most recent articles by MU researchers added to the Scopus database. The page may take up to a minute to load. [more]



Search & Find: SummonAnyone can use
Also Known as: Summon ; Summons

Search & Find: SummonSummon is a simple and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Missouri Library collections. It is the place to start your research in scholarly journals, books, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more. From your search results, it’s one step to the full text of articles or you can see if a book is on the shelf. Summon is still growing. Features continue to improve, and more content is being added regularly. [more]



Search & Find: Summon – Book ReviewsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Search & Find: Summon - Book ReviewsSearch for book reviews through Summon@MU. [more]



SearchasaurusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
SearchasaurusDesigned for users in elementary or middle schools. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Searchasaurus offers Lexile limiters (reading level), making it easy for students to read and research only appropriately challenging materials. [more]



Shakespeare Audio PlaysRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Shakespeare Audio Plays [more]



Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based MethodRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method

Smiths Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method [more]



Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Rev. Ed.)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Rev. Ed.)Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Rev. Ed.) comprises 901 tables of common physical and chemical data. The information provided is broad in scope. It is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. [more]



Smoking and Health DatabasesAvailable only from within the Health Sciences Library.
Smoking and Health DatabasesLiterature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control. [more]



Social Services AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Social Services AbstractsCSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. [more]



Social trends & indicators USARestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Social trends & indicators USAProvides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. 2003 edition. [more]



Social Trends and IndicatorsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Social Trends and IndicatorsProvides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. [more]



Social Work AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Social Work AbstractsSocial Work Abstracts contains more than 45,000 records from approximately 300 social work and other related journals, and social work dissertations. [more]



Social Work DatabasesAnyone can use
Social Work Databases [more]



Sociological AbstractsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: sociology

Sociological AbstractsCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]



Sociology DatabasesAnyone can use
Sociology Databases [more]



Soil Science DatabasesAnyone can use
Soil Science Databases [more]



SORA–Searchable Ornithological Research ArchiveAnyone can use
SORA--Searchable Ornithological Research ArchiveSORA,an open access electronic journal archive, is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries and IT department. This archive provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. [more]



Spanish Language and Literature DatabasesAnyone can use
Also Known as: Language and Literature, Spanish

Spanish Language and Literature Databases [more]



SPIN WebRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: AIP Journals; Scitation

SPIN WebSPIN indexes AIP (physics) journals. SPIN database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. [more]



SpringerLink JournalsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
SpringerLink JournalsSpringer provides its electronic book and journal content on its SpringerLink site, which launched in 1996. SpringerLink is operated by MetaPress, a division of Ebsco. [more]



Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantageRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Standard & Poors NetAdvantageNetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. The type of information includes, but is not limited to, financial statistics, commentary, and directory listings, e.g., security dealers. The Industry Surveys is an excellent resource to locate information on 53 industries. The Mutual Funds section provides a quote, name of fund manager, rate of return, and sector allocations. [more]



STAT!-REFRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
STAT!-REFSTAT!-REF is a library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. [more]



Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012Anyone can use
Also Known as: Statistical Abstracts of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Free access provided by the United States Census Bureau ended in 2012; subsequent editions have been issued by Proquest. [more]



Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Stat Abstract; statistical abstracts; statistical abstract of the US

Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. [more]



Statistical Data SetsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ProQuest Statistical Datasets; Pro quest; ProQuest Statistical Data Sets

Statistical Data SetsProvides data visualization for more than 500 datasets from government and private industry, both domestic and international. Emphasis is in 20th century U.S. economic data and includes diverse subjects such as health, politics, demographics, social services and environmental data. Time spans vary by topic. Charting, plotting and mapping options available. Export data into MS Excel, XML, PDF, or into shape files for GIS. [more]



Statistical Ready ReferenceRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Statistical Ready ReferenceBased on the data in Statistical Data Sets, Statistical Ready Reference searches across the massive repository of time-series data. Statistics can be found in broad subject areas including: agriculture, banking and finance, criminal justice, education, government and politics, health, housing, business, labor, military and defense, population, trade and transportation. [more]



Statistics DatabasesAnyone can use
Statistics Databases [more]



Student Research CenterRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Student Research CenterA search interface designed specifically for secondary school students, according to their needs and search abilities. [more]



Subject Compilations of State Laws (Hein Online)Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Subject Compilations of State Laws (Hein Online) [more]



Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based GuideRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Symptom to Diagnosis:  An Evidence-Based Guide [more]



Systematic Musculoskeletal ExaminationsRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Systematic Musculoskeletal ExaminationsA thorough introductory guide to the techniques of the musculoskeletal examination Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations is a clear, step-by-step learning text and atlas designed to teach essential and foundational skills of musculoskeletal physical assessment. Utilizing concise, easy-to-follow text and hundreds of outstanding photographs, this is an important resource for students, residents in training, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and practicing physicians seeking an organized approach to performing practical, problem-focused musculoskeletal physical examinations.Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations presents a 3-part learning system: 1. Screening Musculoskeletal Examination (SMSE): rapid assessment of structure and function 2. General Musculoskeletal Examination (GMSE): comprehensive assessment of joint inflammation and arthritis 3. Regional Musculoskeletal Examination (RMSE): focused assessments of structure and function combined with special testing of the shoul [more]



Databases by Subject


 

DATABASES BY SUBJECT


Databases by Type


Try First: Resources for Research

 

TRY FIRST: RESOURCES FOR RESEARCH

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research. They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.

ebsco
Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals

 

logo_scopusRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video
 
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

 

jstorRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

 

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri Icon_External_Link_Video

 

 

  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

 

Google Scholar
 
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

 

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


 

1230510Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Current and Controversial Issues

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics

Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies

  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues

 

News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources

Trial Databases


 

TRIAL DATABASES

The MU Libraries are participating in trials of these resources in order to evaluate for possible future subscription.

ACLS Humanities E-Book – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Also Known as: HEB

ACLS Humanities E-Book - TrialThe HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities. Titles include monographs, critical studies, primary sources, reference works and volumes of essays. Trial ends April 30, 2014. [more]



Communication Source – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Communication Source - TrialDeveloped from a merger of EBSCO’s Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts, this resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Content includes full-text from over 800 titles and indexing for more than 1000 titles, including academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. Trial ends May 27, 2014. [more]



Gannett Newsstand – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Gannett Newsstand - TrialGannett Newsstand offers exclusive access to over 85 local and regional U.S. newspapers from Gannett including the Detroit Free Press, The Indianapolis Star and The Tennessean. The Gannett newspapers are available in full text and include all articles of substance written by staff writers, death notices, birth notices, editorials, reviews, letters to the editor, and selected online content. Trial ends April 25, 2014. [more]



Lecture Notes in Mathematics – TrialRestricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri[please give feedback here]
Lecture Notes in Mathematics - TrialThis series reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications. Date coverage is 2005-2014. Trial ends May 6, 2014. [more]



 

 

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST

  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration

You MUST NOT

  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources